We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience of excellence in service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Medellin
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family of 4 (wife and two sons) visited Medellin and stayed at the Intercontinental Medellin. The physical state of the hotel is very good, very clean, great free wifi coverage, excellent restaurants, bars, coffee bar where they can make an awesome cappuccino, and a beautiful pool and spa service. It is a safe city and the excellent security on site made me feel that much better. The staff spoke English and was always welcoming when I tried my limited Spanish on them, which I really appreciated! The General Manager, Mr. Klaus Peter, was ever-present and watchful and always wanted to make sure we were well-taken care of. My family really appreciated his attention and his team really stood out as far as efficiency and the willingness to go the extra mile to make sure our visit was top grade. I highly recommend this hotel to North American travellers who want to visit Medellin and the wonderful citizens there. The hotel is in a convenient and safe location, El Poblado (which is in an affluent neighbourhood) and the amenities of the spa, modern exercise room, and awesome pool made our trip a wonderful experience for the whole family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilson k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Case Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Wilson K

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel in town, it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise..

Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Case Manager
InterContinental Medellin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Medellin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 656 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Service at the Intercontinental is very good - since the moment you come in the staff is super friendly and they all want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast is very good with both healthy and local options. Location is good for business purposes; close enough to business areas and in a beautiful neighborhod surrounded by lots of trees, which makes you feel in a green city (only one restaurant at walking distance). The gym is good enough and the pool invites for a swim....HOWEVER the hotel loses a lot (and I mean A LOT) of points with its super old decor (late 1980s). If the hotel wants to keep a classic style, that is fine with me, but these rooms don't look classic, they look old and I'm pretty sure they're losing business because of this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatisSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear NatisSD,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It is our pleasure to accommodate our guests needs the best way we can and we are so pleased you were satisfied with the service you received as well as the breakfast and our convenient location. We apologize for the disappointment you had with the decor. Rest assured that we will take your comments under consideration so they will help us become the best hotel we can be.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Considering we were from the states, this was the perfect hotel for non Spanish speakers. Menu in English and Spanish. Super friendly staff. The outside is a bit dated, but the room and inside areas were very nice and clean. Food in the main restaurant was pretty good. Buffet was average...need to work on the eggs. Great wi-fi connection! You are at the top of a little hill on a main street. Carulla grocery store (nice chain) is 1/2 block down....restaurants about 10 min tax ride to Zona Rosa area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Case Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Kick3

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay.

Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Case Manager
InterContinental Medellin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very nice public areas: lobby, especially the pool area with the close-by restaurant, excellent free wifi connection all over the hotel including pool area.

The rooms are ok, a bit dated, bathroom clean. Breakfast buffet very varied, great variety of fruits.

Staff competent, helped me with some problem with my reservation, very service oriented without exageration.

As a female business traveller I felt very comfortable.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank Katarina2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Case Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Katarina2311

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Case Manger
InterContinental Medellin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Introduction:

Medellin's Intercontinental is considered one of, if not the best hotel's in the city, and likely one of the biggest also.

Was definitely excited about my all to brief stay, but there are a few things I found that are definitely need of a change here.

Location:

Although not in the City Centre or that close to the Zona Rosa, it is a very easy and short taxi drive from dining and shopping areas.

Taxis are plentiful to and from the hotel, and are very cheap.

After my arrival from Medellin's Jose Cordova Airport, about 35km away I was greeted by the Bellboy, and check in proved smooth and easy, with the bellboy escorting me and my bags to the room.

Check out was also a breeze, as they had delivered my bill to the room overnight, I believe this is part of their quick check out service. offered to IHG Priority Club members.

Room:

The room itself was functional enough, more than adequate for a two night stay.

Definitely dated, the interior and fixtures looked like something from the 1980's - definitely in need of a re-fresh here.

Amenties were good enough, including soaps, shower gels and the like, and a well stocked mini bar is also present in the room, with prices quite reasonable for a four star standard property.

The bed itself is comfortable, not too firm or too soft.

What frustrated me mostly about the room was the light switches - no side panel next to the bed which operates all the lights, everything here had to be switched off separately.

The view itself was lovely, some vistas over the mountains and the pool. Nice to wake up too that's for sure.

Connectivity:

Definitely the best during my stay in Colombia was here. Free wifi is fast and powerful throughout the hotel, and a small but functional Business Center is available on Level 7, with computers, printers and a photocopy machine.

Relax:

As you expect from a hotel of this standard, there was a gym, spa, pool, tennis court and even some billiard tables also.

I opted for a massage on my second last day here, priced similar to what you would expect in Australia as well. It was as the name of the massage suggested, highly relaxing.

Dining:

I opted for lunch at the main restaurant Fogon de Piedra on the first day, and sitting next to the pool on a sunny yet pleasant day proved a good choice.

I opted for an oriental dish, and was quite delighted when it came out, with the fresh beef anf chicken to be cooked by myself on a hot stone that comes on the platter, along with a tasty baked potato, asian style cooked vegetables and a range of sauces for the meat.

Breakfast the next morning was a buffet style affair, and to be frank was nothing short of awful.

Almost inedible eggs, pancakes that were very dry and tasteless. I know buffet's can be a hit and miss affair, but for a four star property much improvement is needed on the breakfast front.

Summary:

A four star property definitely in need of a good refurbishment would be the best way to describe things here.

Some of the quality is definitely here, the service cannot be faulted, the rooms are definitely functional, but it is really lacking a premium feel that you would expect from the Intercontinental brand.

That being said my experience was pleasant enough, and I would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Anything with a mountain view if you can get it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shooter25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Shooter25,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. However, I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience your breakfast experience may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed for one night last week durin a business trip to colombia. The hoteal is located about 15 minutes from downtown. It's an old hotel that needs some new carpets and some new machines in the gym. They have a good internet connection, nice pool and a reasonable breakfast.

Room Tip: try to ask for a room with a pool view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Training & Development at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013
Google Translation

Repetado Martin2581

Gracias por sus recientes comentarios. Lamentamos saber que su experiencia no fue 100% placentera en nuestro hotel. Por favor reciba nuestras más sinceras excusas por los inconvenientes experimentados. En el Hotel InterContinental Medellín nos esforzamos por suministrar servicios y productos de primera categoría.

Garcias por sus comentarios positivos sobre algunas areas de nuestro hotel

Permítanos nuevamente tener la oportunidad de recibirlo en nuestro hotel y demostrarle lo grandiosa que su experiencia puede ser.

Atentamente,

Lucas Muñoz
Case Manager
Hotel InterContinental Medellín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent if you go on a bussiness trip or for pleasure. Good rooms, nice restaurants, sauna, tennis courts....
Nothing walking distance but close by taxi to The Poblado and taxis are cheap.
The staff is very helpful.
I think it is the hotel to choose if you go to Medellin.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Training & Development at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013
Google Translation

Respetado Carlos N

Garcias por tomarse en tiempo para dejarnos sus comentarios. Todos los puntos de vista de nuestros huespedes son tenidos en cuenta. En el Hotel InterContinental Medellín nos esforzamos por suministrar servicios y productos de primera categoría.

Gracias por su eleccion y esperamos darle a Bienvenida nuevamente en nuestro hotel

Atentamente,

Lucas Muñoz
Case Manager
Hotel InterContinental Medellín

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.9 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#15 of 110 in Medellin
397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin
3.7 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#56 of 110 in Medellin
196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 110 in Medellin
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Medellin

Address: Calle 16 No. 28 - 51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#5 Spa Hotel in Medellin
#13 Family Hotel in Medellin
#18 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: $97 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Medellin is a resort-like setting just minutes from the bustle of downtown. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you won t want to miss the Museum of Antioquia, The Medellin Interactive Museum and the Medellin Botanical Garden. El Parque de los Deseos and El Tesoro Shopping Mall both offer a range of entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Medellin Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing