We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Medellin
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Du Parc Royal(Medellin)
$116
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$99
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In House(Medellin)(Great Value!)
$45
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$106
$59
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sites 45(Medellin)
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveler rating
264
247
125
43
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
247
125
43
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtslarge swimming poolexecutive floorbit datedpoolside restaurantgreat poolbreakfast buffetbusiness tripvery nice hotelroom service isel pobladojunior suitefogonconferencegymcitytaxi
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 714 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very bad service, very bad breakfast, very bad rooms. The bathroom had oxidations on the floor. I don't understand how is it possible for such a 5 star category. Maybe because I took the ''cheapest'' room. As they were explaining they were renovating upper floors rooms.

The only positive point is the swimming pool. So if you have time to stay in the pool then maybe it can be worth, but in all the other cases, I don't suggest as a good hotel.

But don't be attracted by the price. They give sometimes interesting promotions but it's not worth if you compare with other hotels in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013
Google Translation

Apreciado ffbrussels

Gracias por tomarse un tiempo para hacer su comentarios, lamentamos que su estancia no haya sido placentera, entiendo que ha tenido problemas con algunos de nuestros servicios, en el Hotel InterContinental Medellin, nos esforzamos por entregar un servicio y producto de calidad, quisieramos que nos diera nuevamente la oportunidad de atenderlo de la forma como usted se merece, nuevamente lamentamos que su estancia no haya sido 100% placentera, esperamos contar con su presencia en nuestro hotel.

Sinceramente,

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were eating lunch today and my kids were saying how much they wished they could go back to their favorite hotel- the one in Medellin....Intercontinental. We stayed in October - November 2009 for 2 weeks.
I came to write a review and was very surprised by the outdated comments. Intercontinental was Anything BUT outdated.
It is an amazing hotel- with an amazing staff.
My son remembers his favorite doorman still.
This hotel made an impression on our kids who were 10,6 and 5 ...three years ago.
The hotel breakfast is Out of this world.
They had a world renown chef one evening.
The firestone meals are a memory maker and delicious.
We just cannot say enough about this hotel.
It was excellent accomdations for our large family of 8 at the time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobrewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013
Google Translation

Apreciado CobreDw

Muchas gracias por tan sinceros comentarios, en el Hotel InterContinental Medellin, nos esforzamos por ofrecer instalaciones y servicios de primera categoria, nos complace saber que disfruto de su estancia con nosotros, esperamos nuevamente darle la bienvenida a usted y su hijo, sera un gusto atenderlos, nuevamente gracias por esas plabaras de cariño y llenas de expresividad.

Atentamente,
Hotel Staff
Hotel InterContinental Medellin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The InterContinental is probably the nicest commercial hotel in Medellin. There's not TOO much within walking distance, but the bell hops are always willing to recommend places to go and call a cab over. The cabs are pretty cheap compared to American prices, so getting around is not an issue.

The staff was wonderful. Dayana checked us in and has an extremely contagious laugh and friendly personality. Sebastian and the other bell hops were more than accommodating and friendly, willing to recommend local places, etc.

If you're staying with friends and don't want to share a bed, pay extra for a suite, the non-suites are extremely tight.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Junior Suite or above!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbachert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear jimbachert

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel has all the potential to be great but just has not taken the steps to get their yet. The hotel is located in a very nice area of the city (Poblado) high on a hill with beautiful views of the city in the valley below. It is also fairly close (5 minute taxi ride) to the Park Lleras are which is full of dining and entertainment options to choose from. All this is good, now let's talk about the downside, it is not cheap, it is a bit worn and dated in some areas. I had a Jr. Suite which I had been upgraded to due to my Ambassador Status. In this spacious room the carpet was a bit worn and spotted, the internet did not work at all the first night their and I was continuously told it would be in 30 minute, 6 hours later it was working. In the bathroom there were small annoyances, the toilet seat was broken and if used you slid around on it.... the shower would scald you if not careful because the control did not work properly nd was very loose and the electronic scale did now work. Not the end of the world but not the way it should be in a proclaimed 5 star hotel.

I was asked by the manager as I checked out what I thought and I told him there is room for improvement, the first thing you notice when you check in is that the "time zone clocks" on the back wall of the registration area.... they do not work, the first sign that the hotel is not being kept up well. The next thing, the Club level lounge had been relocated to a lobby floor meeting room with no windows and no atmosphere at all, hardly used by anyone which in itself is strange but I am guessing it was inconvenient for most to leave the club level floors for a few rolls and coffee, no hot anything was available.

Now if asked, as I was, if I would return the answer would be YES.... the reason? The staff and location, the staff was always pleasant and very accommodating, in general very nice and always polite. The location was also relaxing even if the hotel and its general layout is a bit dated.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the city in the valley, otherwise you will have a parking lot view with a bunch of noisy taxis lined up.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTravel456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear MarkTravel456

Thank you so much for your recent comments. I'm trying to understand what situations took place that left you feeling disappointed with our hotel. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel and assure you the comments you filled out will be reviewed and most certainly replied to. We take very seriously the confidence our guests place in us and we work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the hotel during a business trip to Medellin and was a bit disappointed by the overall feel of the property. It was a outdated and seriously in need of a complete remodel. The rooms were quite average. The staff; however, were very gracious and hospitable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Samuel A

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best InterContinental Hotel. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews