We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable but could have been better...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Medellin
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel has all the potential to be great but just has not taken the steps to get their yet. The hotel is located in a very nice area of the city (Poblado) high on a hill with beautiful views of the city in the valley below. It is also fairly close (5 minute taxi ride) to the Park Lleras are which is full of dining and entertainment options to choose from. All this is good, now let's talk about the downside, it is not cheap, it is a bit worn and dated in some areas. I had a Jr. Suite which I had been upgraded to due to my Ambassador Status. In this spacious room the carpet was a bit worn and spotted, the internet did not work at all the first night their and I was continuously told it would be in 30 minute, 6 hours later it was working. In the bathroom there were small annoyances, the toilet seat was broken and if used you slid around on it.... the shower would scald you if not careful because the control did not work properly nd was very loose and the electronic scale did now work. Not the end of the world but not the way it should be in a proclaimed 5 star hotel.

I was asked by the manager as I checked out what I thought and I told him there is room for improvement, the first thing you notice when you check in is that the "time zone clocks" on the back wall of the registration area.... they do not work, the first sign that the hotel is not being kept up well. The next thing, the Club level lounge had been relocated to a lobby floor meeting room with no windows and no atmosphere at all, hardly used by anyone which in itself is strange but I am guessing it was inconvenient for most to leave the club level floors for a few rolls and coffee, no hot anything was available.

Now if asked, as I was, if I would return the answer would be YES.... the reason? The staff and location, the staff was always pleasant and very accommodating, in general very nice and always polite. The location was also relaxing even if the hotel and its general layout is a bit dated.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the city in the valley, otherwise you will have a parking lot view wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkTravel456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear MarkTravel456

Thank you so much for your recent comments. I'm trying to understand what situations took place that left you feeling disappointed with our hotel. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and are happy doing so. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel and assure you the comments you filled out will be reviewed and most certainly replied to. We take very seriously the confidence our guests place in us and we work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 674 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at the hotel during a business trip to Medellin and was a bit disappointed by the overall feel of the property. It was a outdated and seriously in need of a complete remodel. The rooms were quite average. The staff; however, were very gracious and hospitable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Samuel A

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best InterContinental Hotel. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The InterContinental is supposed to be one of the premier properties in Medellin. It may have been so 20 years ago, however, it is in great need of an exterior facelift and complete remodel of the rooms. The staff are very friendly, especially at the front desk. The lobby is nice and modern. The breakfast and pool areas are clean and the staff friendly. However the exterior and the rooms are very dated. The carpet in my room was stained. The shower handle was broken and never fixed during my stay. While the hotel carries the InterContinental name, it doesn't live up to its reputation.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a view of the Medellin valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gone2TheBeachPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012
Google Translation

Dear Gone2TheBeachPhoenix

Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para comentar sobre nuestro hotel. Estamos desilucionados saber que su experiencia en el hotel en su reciente estadia no fue la mejor. El hotel se enorgullese de su nivel de servicio, limpieza y la calidad de sus productos. Nos encantaria recuperar su lealtad con el Hotel InterContinental Medellin. Queremos ofrecerle nuestras mas sinceras excusas y comprendemos que su estadia no fue 100% satisfactoria, esperamos que usted nos brinde otra oportunidad para hacer de su estadia lo mejor que pueda ser.

Sinceramente,

Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I continue to be amazed at the poor service of some businesses, in this case the Intercontinental Medellin. I stopped by this hotel to see about booking a room. The front desk was busy taking a long time to check in, or out, a couple of guests. Other staff were standing around and ignored me. After waiting a while I asked for room information and was told to wait some more. I looked around the lobby which was fairly dreary. Little things stood out like misspelled words on their shiny brass information signs ( e.g. Dinners Club). Also there were several identical clocks on the wall to show the times in different world cities, but the clock for Bogota was off by 1 1/2 hours! Finally someone was available to help me, although she had zero enthusiasm and a bored expression. My question about room types and rates seemed to bore her more. She could not give basic information without it becoming time-consuming and complicated. I finally asked if the information was available on their website...apparently yes...and left. That small episode was enough for me to decide to avoid the place completely. When you factor in some of the other critical reviews here on TripAdvisor, and the rote management responses they prompt, you get the picture of a poorly managed, substandard and no doubt overpriced hotel. "Intercontinental" sounds impressive, but not in Medellin.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
4  Thank debonair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear debonair1,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Really good Hotel.. nice restaurant and swimming pool. A little cold but is ok. Gym very well equipped. Good breakfast. Clean room a very comfortable beds. Security is ok. Have a taxi line right on the door assisted by hotel personal. Become expensive when something happens on the city like all other hotels in Medellin.

Room Tip: View to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012
Google Translation

Apreciado Algy f

En el hotel InterContinental Medellin nos esforzamos para ofrcer un gran y soprprendente servicio a todos nuestros huespedes, realmente nos complace leer sus comentarios y saber que excedimos sus expectativas. Esperamos recibirlo nuevamente en nuestro Hotel. Una vez mas, gracias por esas amables palabras de elogio.


Sinceramente,
Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

the hotel is in serious need of updates/remodelling. Restaurants and rooms are tired and outdate, as is general image of the hotel. Staff means well but doesn't seem to have the level of service and sophisticacion of other IC properties. Its an OK place for a business stay, but I've seen much nicer ICs..

Room Tip: get a room facing the back of the hotel. the front is a bit noisy due to major street that runs in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olsensusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear olsensusan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. I want to assure you that your comments about the rooms have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Check in is average to say the least. There is no recognition for Platinum, no upgrade.
The hotel needs a refit, it looks & feel very tired.
Breakfast was ok at best. Checked out the restaurant, decided to eat out, good call.
Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtwmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear jtwmusic,

Thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club Member and taking the time to leave our property a review. I am glad that you found our location nice enough for your needs. I apologize if your stay was negatively affected by the experience at check in. I will follow up with the front desk staff to ensure similar incidents could be avoided in the future.

We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
1.0 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#16 of 111 in Medellin
427 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#58 of 111 in Medellin
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
1.2 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#2 of 111 in Medellin
764 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Medellin

Address: Calle 16 No. 28 - 51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin 050026, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#4 Spa Hotel in Medellin
#13 Family Hotel in Medellin
#18 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: $106 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Medellin is a resort-like setting just minutes from the bustle of downtown. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you won t want to miss the Museum of Antioquia, The Medellin Interactive Museum and the Medellin Botanical Garden. El Parque de los Deseos and El Tesoro Shopping Mall both offer a range of entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Medellin Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing