We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel for business travelers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Medellin
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I had a day of meetings in Medellin and my host recommended I stay at the InterContinental Hotel. I spent two nights here; the hotel is very nice, the staff was friendly and welcoming, and I would recommend it.

My room was a normal sized room with two twin beds, good shower/bath room, mini-bar and free Internet (wired and wifi); the Internet did not work with my company VPN. The TV had a good collection of international content including the Olympics and english speaking CNN. My bed was nice, but a little firm for my taste. I had a view of the fountain courtyard entry way and the highway.

The hotel had a gift shop where I bought snacks and water. The Brasserie on the low level served a fantasic breakfast. My hosts were proud to tell me that my hotel once hosted the King of Spain during a visit within the last year.

This hotel is very nice and on the expensive side. I normally would have stayed at a less posh destination. Having said that, this last week, Medellin was hosting Fashion Week, Colombiamoda XXIII, and my arrival was the first day of the Flower Festival / Feria de Las Flores. So hotel rooms were hard to find and I was happy that I ended up staying at the InterContinental Hotel.

Just so you know... the Feria de Las Flores was everywhere. The Santa Fe Mall on El Poblado Avenue near my host's offices was beautfully decorated... lots of community pride!

The hotel is in the El Poblado area just off the Via Las Palmas highway. This is a major road that you follow to get to the airport. Just a short ways South on Via Las Palmas, there is a beautiful lookout point where you can see Medellin. My host took me here at night and it was breathtaking! It was a popular spot with lots of other people enjoying the view, too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear jkozik

Thank you so much for your recent comments. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations.We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior. The Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We hope to have the honor of serving you again. Thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 683 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I have been going here off and on over the last few months. I have had a few times where I rented conference rooms too. The Internet is slow in conference rooms. The staff is friendly in the conference room and great. Additionally in the dining areas they are too. No complaints there. Our only problem was that the room cleaning staff accidentally (I hope) took my sons stuffed animal when removing the bedding. We went down to front desk and they said they would check and call us back. They never did. My wife asked them 5 times and said they didn't have. I went there to talk to them and they said they didn't have. My relocation manager went there after she heard my son crying to talk to them because she felt so bad and then miraculously two minutes later it was found. I am sorry but you can take my stuff if you want but to take the stuffed animal from a kid and ignore it is just not right. It is pathetic that my relocation manager had to drop the where he works card and what they do for community here to get the animal back. It may seem minor to most but uncalled for.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlutoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear BlutoDave

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused. I would very much appreciate you send us your email address with the details of your concerns so we can plan to avoid future dissatisfaction in the future and to meet your expectations next time you visit us. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for taking the time to write to us as we believe we can only improve and improve our services through our guest feedback.

We are looking forward to receiving further details in regards to your recent and stay as well as welcoming you back at the InterContinental Medellin

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Excellent ammenities, restaurants in hotel. Excellent value considering location, view and neighborhood. Friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Federico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012
Google Translation

Apreciado Federico F

Muchas gracias por sus recientes comentarios. Somo profesionales de la hospitalidad quienes nos esforzamos por entregar un servicio de clase mundial, que realmente haga a nuestros huepedes felices y asi poder superar sus expectativas, esperamos recibirlo nuevamente en nuestro Hotel, una vez mas, gracias por esas palabaras maravillosas y de elogio. Para nosotros sera siempre un placer atenderlo.

Sinceramente,
Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

I came to Medellin on business but had heard such great things about the city that I decided to stay an extra day to see some of it. The Intercontinental is located in a suburban area off a main road. There is nothing but residential apartment buildings and gated developments around it. Seriously, I went for a walk and found one restaurant. No drug stores, coffee shops, news stands - nothing. There was no tourist info in my room so I asked at the main desk. No maps, no brochures, and they suggested going to a shopping mall. When I suggested the Cathedral, the park with the Botero statues, or the botanical gardens they had to go get another staff member to give me instructions.

As for being a business hotel - they charge you to use the business center. I've stayed in more professionally oriented youth hostels.

The room was fine and the beds were comfortable. I paid full price and had an ugly view of the roof. Nice pool, tennis courts, and a big gym. But I might has well have been in the USA.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mingknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear mingknit,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Great business-leisure experience. Lots of fun and entertaining as well. I attended to a conference and staying there for 3 nights. The conference was not the best but the Hotel was a nice choice.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
Thank Geopato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Geopato

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best InterContinental Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our whole family was staying here to attend an event. The staff were most gracious. The rooms seemed well equipped and maintained. I didn't really see the age in the hotel as mentioned by previous reviewers except maybe in the hallways. The building is not remarkable but for a 5star hotel it has all the amenities one would expect. The pool looked great too.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors 6 or 7 with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank habari12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear habari12

Thank you for your comment, we strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful words

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Very old rooms nothing works and no answers to you complaints

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CEBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear CEBV,

I am most disappointed and concerned to read your comments. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
#31 of 111 in Medellin
383 reviews
1 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#16 of 111 in Medellin
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#58 of 111 in Medellin
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin
0.6 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Medellin

Address: Calle 16 No. 28 - 51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin 050026, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#4 Spa Hotel in Medellin
#18 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: $115 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Medellin is a resort-like setting just minutes from the bustle of downtown. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you won t want to miss the Museum of Antioquia, The Medellin Interactive Museum and the Medellin Botanical Garden. El Parque de los Deseos and El Tesoro Shopping Mall both offer a range of entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your InterContinental Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Medellin Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing