We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly outdated and An a Minor Issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Medellin
Ranked #15 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Slightly outdated and An a Minor Issue”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I have been going here off and on over the last few months. I have had a few times where I rented conference rooms too. The Internet is slow in conference rooms. The staff is friendly in the conference room and great. Additionally in the dining areas they are too. No complaints there. Our only problem was that the room cleaning staff accidentally (I hope) took my sons stuffed animal when removing the bedding. We went down to front desk and they said they would check and call us back. They never did. My wife asked them 5 times and said they didn't have. I went there to talk to them and they said they didn't have. My relocation manager went there after she heard my son crying to talk to them because she felt so bad and then miraculously two minutes later it was found. I am sorry but you can take my stuff if you want but to take the stuffed animal from a kid and ignore it is just not right. It is pathetic that my relocation manager had to drop the where he works card and what they do for community here to get the animal back. It may seem minor to most but uncalled for.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlutoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear BlutoDave

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused. I would very much appreciate you send us your email address with the details of your concerns so we can plan to avoid future dissatisfaction in the future and to meet your expectations next time you visit us. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for taking the time to write to us as we believe we can only improve and improve our services through our guest feedback.

We are looking forward to receiving further details in regards to your recent and stay as well as welcoming you back at the InterContinental Medellin

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    216
    117
    41
    32
See reviews for
61
87
38
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Excellent ammenities, restaurants in hotel. Excellent value considering location, view and neighborhood. Friendly staff.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Google Translation
Apreciado Federico F

Muchas gracias por sus recientes comentarios. Somo profesionales de la hospitalidad quienes nos esforzamos por entregar un servicio de clase mundial, que realmente haga a nuestros huepedes felices y asi poder superar sus expectativas, esperamos recibirlo nuevamente en nuestro Hotel, una vez mas, gracias por esas palabaras maravillosas y de elogio. Para nosotros sera siempre un placer atenderlo.

Sinceramente,
Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

I came to Medellin on business but had heard such great things about the city that I decided to stay an extra day to see some of it. The Intercontinental is located in a suburban area off a main road. There is nothing but residential apartment buildings and gated developments around it. Seriously, I went for a walk and found one restaurant. No drug stores, coffee shops, news stands - nothing. There was no tourist info in my room so I asked at the main desk. No maps, no brochures, and they suggested going to a shopping mall. When I suggested the Cathedral, the park with the Botero statues, or the botanical gardens they had to go get another staff member to give me instructions.

As for being a business hotel - they charge you to use the business center. I've stayed in more professionally oriented youth hostels.

The room was fine and the beds were comfortable. I paid full price and had an ugly view of the roof. Nice pool, tennis courts, and a big gym. But I might has well have been in the USA.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mingknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear mingknit,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Great business-leisure experience. Lots of fun and entertaining as well. I attended to a conference and staying there for 3 nights. The conference was not the best but the Hotel was a nice choice.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Geopato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Geopato

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best InterContinental Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our whole family was staying here to attend an event. The staff were most gracious. The rooms seemed well equipped and maintained. I didn't really see the age in the hotel as mentioned by previous reviewers except maybe in the hallways. The building is not remarkable but for a 5star hotel it has all the amenities one would expect. The pool looked great too.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors 6 or 7 with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank habari12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Hotel Staff at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear habari12

Thank you for your comment, we strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful words

Sincerely,
Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Very old rooms nothing works and no answers to you complaints

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CEBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear CEBV,

I am most disappointed and concerned to read your comments. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel could be anywhere in the world. It is completely without charm and is a large concrete conference centre locked in the 1980s. The rooms are large and very clean but old fashioned and the carpets are stained. The staff are delightful and helpful. The main restaurant is a huge cafeteria serving very mediocre tasteless food and the bar is only open intermittently which I found strange for a hotel this size. Conference facilities are excellent and really that is what this hotel is for.The pool is big and clean with plenty of sunloungers and lifeguard. The hairdressers is the only charming bit. Its old fashioned-think Pink Ladies in Grease- but I had excellent attention for hair and manicure and one of the best pedicures ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear alison186394,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry the design and decor of our hotel fell below your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.9 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#12 of 105 in Medellin
354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin
1.4 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 105 in Medellin
678 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#6 of 105 in Medellin
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Medellin

Property: InterContinental Medellin
Address: Calle 16 No. 28 - 51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#7 Spa Hotel in Medellin
#13 Family Hotel in Medellin
#18 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Medellin is a resort-like setting just minutes from the bustle of downtown. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you won t want to miss the Museum of Antioquia, The Medellin Interactive Museum and the Medellin Botanical Garden. El Parque de los Deseos and El Tesoro Shopping Mall both offer a range of entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Medellin Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing