We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious but not clean”
Review of Hostel Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Casa Blanca
Ranked #121 of 265 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I came because it was rated high.

It is a very nice house in a very calm place and it gives you a grate price for the El poblado. Service was nice also.

Unfortunatly it was not clean enough and the bed was not confort so I hade to change the next day,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don_Yoav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

A dirty, dark, miniscule rooms, dreadlocked animals who play godawful guitar songs until 4 am every morning and dont stop if you ask them, filthy bathrooms, rock hard beds, almost perpetually out of toilet paper, ramshackle hell hole. The local staff are nice, the three foreigners are smug and pay no heed at all to their guests need to sleep. A living hell. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghostkamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel B, Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

This guy was upsed because other clients where playing reege music and since they did not like it they with there friends wrote this bads rewiews. one more time this is a hostel not a HOTEL..funny the do not complain about the price they paid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in a not-so-great private room. The small room only has a window (can't be opened) to the passage, and is located right opposite reception. There is a mini-ventilation shaft which is meant for some fresh air circulation to the room, but the mini-ventilator was more noisy than effective. On a positive note, temperature for sleeping was relatively moderate, as the room is "inside" the building. Can't recommend this/these rooms. The cleanliness of the bathrooms could have been better, although it should be said that this was during the very busy Feria de Cali time, and the hostel was at max. capacity.
There is a nice small patio to sit outside, and meet fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Private Room upstairs is (probably) the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolandinho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

This place compare to others is cheaper, cleaner and nicer, definitely!
Staff is wonderful and you feel there like at home.
The kitchen is small but clean and with all the things you need.
Rooms clean and comfortable.

We'll go again!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ialvarez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I ended up at this hostel because Black Sheep Hostel and Casa Kiwi were full. The private room had a mattress that was so bowed and lumpy it not longer fit in the frame. Two of the beds in the 5 bed dorm (the fifth being a mattress on the floor next to the bunks) had dirty sheets on them. They had clearly been slept in before and not changed. This was confirmed by the guy who had been in the room for a couple of days. The other girl in the room figured if she got drunk enough she wouldn't notice. The mattresses were incredibly uncomfortable. There are only 2 bathrooms for the entire hostel. The staff was fairly apathetic and uninterested. They advertised breakfast but there wasn't any the day I was there. There is a pool table, nice TV area and other cool common areas so it has the potential to be a decent place if someone were interested enough to put the effort into it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel B, Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

We do change the sheets every time a guest leave. the hostel has 9 bathrooms and we do have the option of changing matreses if the guest requair it. We are not a party hostel unlike the other hostels that he mention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a room without en suite facilities. We wanted our own bathroom but since we turned up on spec & this was the only room (& the Black Sheep hostel in the same street was full) we took it. Our stay was enjoyable & there appeared to be sufficient shower facilities etc. for the number of guests. We're in our '50s but most of the clientele were youngish backpackers from all over the place (e.g. USA, UK, Israel). The free wifi worked well & there are also computers for use (no charge) by guests.
This isn't a party hostel but we found it good for chatting to people in the communal areas & getting advice & info on where to go next from other travellers. There are also hammocks, table tennis, chess etc for use by guests. The atmosphere was friendly & the staff helpful. I'd stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here with our two kids for a couple of nights. It's really close to the metro and a big grocery store. It's definatley a backpacker place, but it was quiet. Not a party hostel and it gets quiet for a good nights sleep. Its safe and we felt good about having our children there. The staff were really nice and helpful.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank 20now40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
2.9 mi away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
3 mi away
Pitstop Guest House
Pitstop Guest House
#48 of 265 in Medellin
221 reviews
2.1 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#6 of 112 in Medellin
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#14 of 112 in Medellin
690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#55 of 112 in Medellin
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
#28 of 112 in Medellin
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Blanca

Address: Transversal 5a 45 256, Medellin 050022, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 265 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range: $10 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Blanca is one of the better and bigest hostels in Medellin, ideal for executives, couples, family groups, solo back packers, athetics and people looking for a nice and quiet place to relax. Located in the best area of el poblado Patio Bonito, offers our visitors a quiet ambiance in a safe and beautiful neigborhood. the hostel has a big private parking area and lot of extras: Pro Billar Table, Ping pong table, Dards, Basket ball court, Spanish classes, lockers, Garage, a full equipped kitchen, microwave, big patio with fruit trees and tanning deck and Bar-BQ, Plasma TV with 300 international channels, DVD, onward booking for all hostels in Colombia and much more..... Come and enjoy your time in Medellin, we are located close to the Zona Rosa of Medellin where the best night clubs, casinos and restaurants are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hostel Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing