We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good but wouldn't stay again”
Review of Hostel Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Casa Blanca
Ranked #88 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Location good but wouldn't stay again”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I ended up at this hostel because Black Sheep Hostel and Casa Kiwi were full. The private room had a mattress that was so bowed and lumpy it not longer fit in the frame. Two of the beds in the 5 bed dorm (the fifth being a mattress on the floor next to the bunks) had dirty sheets on them. They had clearly been slept in before and not changed. This was confirmed by the guy who had been in the room for a couple of days. The other girl in the room figured if she got drunk enough she wouldn't notice. The mattresses were incredibly uncomfortable. There are only 2 bathrooms for the entire hostel. The staff was fairly apathetic and uninterested. They advertised breakfast but there wasn't any the day I was there. There is a pool table, nice TV area and other cool common areas so it has the potential to be a decent place if someone were interested enough to put the effort into it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel B, Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We do change the sheets every time a guest leave. the hostel has 9 bathrooms and we do have the option of changing matreses if the guest requair it. We are not a party hostel unlike the other hostels that he mention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    7
    7
    14
See reviews for
7
25
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a room without en suite facilities. We wanted our own bathroom but since we turned up on spec & this was the only room (& the Black Sheep hostel in the same street was full) we took it. Our stay was enjoyable & there appeared to be sufficient shower facilities etc. for the number of guests. We're in our '50s but most of the clientele were youngish backpackers from all over the place (e.g. USA, UK, Israel). The free wifi worked well & there are also computers for use (no charge) by guests.
This isn't a party hostel but we found it good for chatting to people in the communal areas & getting advice & info on where to go next from other travellers. There are also hammocks, table tennis, chess etc for use by guests. The atmosphere was friendly & the staff helpful. I'd stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scousepeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with our two kids for a couple of nights. It's really close to the metro and a big grocery store. It's definatley a backpacker place, but it was quiet. Not a party hostel and it gets quiet for a good nights sleep. Its safe and we felt good about having our children there. The staff were really nice and helpful.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 20now40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed here in late December for 5 nights. Casa Blancas location is perfect for enjoying nearby Park Lleras but we didn't enjoy our stay here. We stayed in a private room,which was never cleaned and when I asked that they at least empty the bins, they were puzzled. The kitchen wasn't great, but this was more to do with the other guests, who didn't clean up after themselves. We moved to 'The Black Sheep' hostel, also on Patio Bonito and found it to be a much better option.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeynutloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostel B, Manager at Hostel Casa Blanca, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
although we are not a hotel, we fix the rooms every time a client need it. if possible send us the name of the employee who did not want to do so. to : bettercasablanca@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Medellin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
La Presidenta Hostel
La Presidenta Hostel
#87 of 214 in Medellin
44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Poblado Park
Hostal Poblado Park
#23 of 214 in Medellin
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panela Hostel
Panela Hostel
#111 of 214 in Medellin
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pitstop Guest House
Pitstop Guest House
#37 of 214 in Medellin
217 reviews
2.8 mi away
Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
#45 of 214 in Medellin
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arcadia Hostel
Arcadia Hostel
#26 of 214 in Medellin
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Blanca

Property: Hostel Casa Blanca
Address: Transversal 5a #45 256, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Blanca is one of the better and bigest hostels in Medellin, ideal for executives, couples, family groups, solo back packers, athetics and people looking for a nice and quiet place to relax. Located in the best area of el poblado Patio Bonito, offers our visitors a quiet ambiance in a safe and beautiful neigborhood. the hostel has a big private parking area and lot of extras: Pro Billar Table, Ping pong table, Dards, Basket ball court, Spanish classes, lockers, Garage, a full equipped kitchen, microwave, big patio with fruit trees and tanning deck and Bar-BQ, Plasma TV with 300 international channels, DVD, onward booking for all hostels in Colombia and much more..... Come and enjoy your time in Medellin, we are located close to the Zona Rosa of Medellin where the best night clubs, casinos and restaurants are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing