We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It´s much more than a hostel...it´s a precious friend's house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
Ranked #37 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It´s much more than a hostel...it´s a precious friend's house”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Spacious and modern rooms, great prices, excelent location, and a FIRST class service!
Definitely the best place where we stayed on our trip around the world!

!Me encanta Colombia!
!Me encanta Medellín!
!Me encanta Urban Buddha HOSTEL!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    31
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
37
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Super friendly staff, very quite and safe residential neighborhood. 15 minutes walk to the subway station and 15 minutes taxi ride to el poblado. The kitchen is huge, free coffee 24/7. Nice public areas to chill. Great place. I totally recommend it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Igorbravo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Martin and his team took great care of us. The doorms were very quiet and clean with private bathrooms. the private rooms looked fantastic.

they have a good kitchen and dining area aswell as a nice outdoor garden to relax in.

Martin offered suggestions for each day and sent us to an amazing part of the city to party one night.

They are a 15 min walk to the metro then a further 5-10 mins on the metro to the centro area.

There is a great supermarket at the end of the road too.

For a place to relax and check out the city this is a great option.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

What you hope to find in a hostel: friendly and helpful staff and guests, clean rooms, good furnishing and pleasant location. The owner Martin and his wife are a fount of information about Medellin the Cafe triangle and Colombia generally.

The courtyard is very pleasant ...there are places to socialise and quiet places to read and write as well.

Minor quibbles would be that some of the rooms are not as soundproof from internal noises they could be .....maybe something for a future upgrade. We found the kitchen reasonably clean.

A place where we felt welcomed, respected and the staff were pleased to see us and have us stay there

Room Tip: Maybe not above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parwan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in Urban Buddha Hostel for 3 nights last month and can really recommend it. Before we arrived to Buddha we had stayed in two other hostels in Medellín and Buddha was by far the best one. The hostel is located in Laureles, a nice and quiet area but still close enough to everything you might need. The rooms are beautiful with very nice artwork and the beds and mattresses are the best ones that we have experienced during our stay in Colombia. The hostel also has a big kitchen and a small courtyard. The Wi-Fi connection worked in our room, which was a big plus. Staff was friendly, helpful and laid-back. The area and hostel felt very safe as well.

We also heard from the owner Martín that they are planning on starting some new activities and classes, such as Flamenco and Sevillanas, with dance teachers from Andalusia, Spain. Don´t miss out!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This boutique hostel is a treat for the backpacker who wants a break. Beautiful artwork and furnishings. The courtyard is really nice! It was really quiet when we were there.
The one thing was the kitchen felt quite dirty. It's a beautiful room but needs a bit of TLC.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustykd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I would highly recommend to anyone who is planning to come to Medellin to stay at this Hostel. The Urban Buddha has great people, beautiful artwork and located in the beautiful Laureles area. I came to Medellin to live for approximately 6 months and knowing only very little Spanish, the staff did their utmost to help me find an apartment. I can't thank them enough!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
2.8 mi away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
3.1 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#1 of 202 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Hill Hostel
Green Hill Hostel
#20 of 202 in Medellin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Flaca Hostel
La Flaca Hostel
#33 of 202 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pitstop Guest House
Pitstop Guest House
#43 of 202 in Medellin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arcadia Hostel
Arcadia Hostel
#25 of 202 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin

Property: Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
Address: Circular 73A, No 38-55, Laureles, Medellin 05001000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BREAKFAST INCLUDED Buddha Hostels, inspiring & innovating. From the success of the Secret Buddha we are pleased to give birth to our new space, the Buddha Hostel Medellin.We have tailored our hostels as unique expressions, to reflect the essence of the green city of eternal spring.The Buddha is a hostel that fuses retro-Asian design with the original Art Deco architecture of a home built in 1953 located in Laureles, the most prestigious residential sector in the heart of Medellin. Located only 5 minutes from downtown, the Stadium, and the Zona Rosa (tourist party area), in front of the Bolivariana University and within walking distance from 70th st & 33rd ave (more traditional party streets), you can walk safely day & night in the realm of a serene green environment.The Buddha Hostel proposes a new concept which unites culture, art, adventure and foremost a place to unwind and relax, paving a natural platform of exchange between visitors and locals. Our 600m home splits in two levels, housing bright and airy dorms and private rooms, a spacious balcony, and a large patio area and garden with koi pond to complete the space.The Buddha Hostel will soon become a cultural home where art exhibitions, independent film and music can be enjoyed by each individual traveller regardless of nationality or age.An original refurbished 1950s massive kitchen is fully stocked with all the toys for all to use. Since food plays a major role for anyone travelling whether it is for need or for love, Buddha Hostels is a shrine to exotic flavours, which you are invited to feast on with our home cooked meals.We also have a front deck to chill as well as giant puffs facing a 42 HD LCD flatscreen with Direct TV 24hr, Playstation 3 and a DVD player with an extensive video library. For our adventure seeking friends if you wish to see Medellin from the sky you can do so in the most natural way there is to fly ; paragliding. Feel like having your feet closer to the Earth but wish to have a bit of a rush, then climb the second largest rock on the planet, horseback ride in la burroteca(horse disco) through the forest hillside of Medellin or Pub Crawl with us. Backpacking is a lifestyle, a journey, an opportunity for self-expression; it is not just about where you go but who you know along the way. Let Buddha Hostels deliver this with Love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing