We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and simple”
Review of Tryp Medellin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp Medellin
Ranked #57 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Spend two nights there, the hotel is located across the street from the soccer stadium, all the hotel staff is very helpful and polite. Breakfast is good with many choices.
The best part of the hotel was the terrace, nice turkish bath, and two very romantic jacuzzies, the view of the city from there is stunning.... A little bit cold but worthed..
The GYM is modern, well equipped and with a professional instructors.
Location does't feel very safe, but is is....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPmedellin, General Manager at Tryp Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you very much Enrique! We've cheered on Monday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

It was horrible. They knock at my door at 5 am and it was scary! Of course I didn't open. There was a bunch of kids when I arrive like a school excursion and they were loud. Making my stay very uncomfortable for a business trip.
Plus, the breakfast was bad.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa_BlancaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPmedellin, General Manager at Tryp Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

All the reviews we receive are invaluable to us and I want to inform you that all comments are taken into account and scaled to our departments of Guest Experience and Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

You have lots to choose from in Medellin so keep looking. Trust me. Rooms are okay, food is okay, very limited wine and beer to choose from (one brand of each), no WIFI in the rooms so you have to go in the lobby and try to work. Try. It's noisy, like a ballroom, bad acoustics.

The carpet in the hallway of our floor reeked of diesel fumes and oil the first two days and indeed, it looked like someone had been changing their oil. It was never cleaned up. It looked ratty, what you'd see in a cheap motel (we paid $178 per night, 3 in my party). It's not a bad area safety wise but nothing going on either. Stay in Poblado.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleenfasanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPmedellin, General Manager at Tryp Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

We are sorry that your perception has been so negative and would like trasmitirte we work every day to maintain a spirit of teamwork and a friendly treatment for our passionate travelers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Rooms are ok; food may be ok too. The problem is the disorganization and human resources.
They are rude and they don't try to help when you have a problem. They've organized airport transport for us, but it didn't came to pick us up. I had to call several times (roaming) to get the transport 1 hour later. The WiFi didn't work, even on rooms where they say it should work. On the way back to the airport, the driver said we must pay both trips (inbound-outbound) at that time and he didn't give us a receipt for the transport. The hotel didn't confirm us any rate we should pay in cash to the driver on the trip to the airport.
Parties on the roof on Friday and Saturday night don't get you access to wet services but more important, don't let you sleep well if your room is near it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller54371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Dinner was barely average, breakfast was ok.
They have no wifi in the rooms. When you need to go online they have some guy from the front desk rush with a cable. This works for a laptop, but not for an ipad or similar. This is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller123066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Gym is not open and Jacuzzi only has lukewarm water. Rooms are nice and staff is attentive. Breakfast also pretty good. You can prob find a similar place for less money. For the most part staff was helpful. Hotel seemed empty most of week.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Wonderful food, best personal service by executive chef Sebastian Medina, si special!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPmedellin, General Manager at Tryp Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Thank You for your comments, but this is the TRYP Medellin Hotel profile in trip advisor.com ,
I think you made a mistake, if you need further assistants please contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
3.7 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#11 of 111 in Medellin
676 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
#32 of 111 in Medellin
379 reviews
3.6 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#54 of 111 in Medellin
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
#28 of 111 in Medellin
97 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel bh El Poblado
Hotel bh El Poblado
#29 of 111 in Medellin
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Medellin

Address: Colombia 70 - 124, Medellin 050034, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: $57 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Medellin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tryp Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing