We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like ribs then go here, if you don't, don't!”
Review of Mu

Mu
Ranked #130 of 1,159 Restaurants in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like ribs then go here, if you don't, don't!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Mu is your local no-nonsense rib joint which offers two choices on the menu: Large or small portion of ribs with chips (french fries). Can't understand negative reviews about lack of choice on the menu, the place specialises in ribs, never claims to be anything else.

I've never really been a fan of ribs as usually there is little meat on the bone but Mu uses beef ones which will leave you stuffed. Order a large portion to share between two people.

It might be pricey but you are in El Poblado so it's not much different from going to any other restaurant in Parque Lleras for example.

Mu is open Thursday, Friday and Saturday for dinner only and does not take reservations. Definitely get there early otherwise you will have to queue outside.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank British-In-Colombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    32
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chocowinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
236 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“So consistent and the best ribs imaginable.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Two visits so far on this two month trip. What is there not to like? Never had better ribs anywhere. The price is fair, the service is good, Elizabeth is charming (poor Simon is stuck in the kitchen), the hands are clean using the traditional, clear Colombian gloves. Don't miss Mu if you like ribs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ec328888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Busy, good reasonably priced food”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

The menu is short. Ribs, in different size of portions and drinks. We chose the smaller size and shared six ribs between the two of us. A selection of sauces are provided and the 'chunky' chips.Very pleasant.
I was less convinced by the mojitos - may just be me but I detected some chemical or plastic taste; my guess there's some 'mix' that wasn't quite right.
We were seated at the front near the door. Upstairs on the balcony seemed a much better choice. There were plenty of wait staff, but you needed to grab their attention if you needed something.
Opening hours seemed limited - which I couldn't see on their website so you may want to check. Booking are only taken for large groups, and there seemed to be plenty of those.
There's no door security person instead there's a buzzer that you press by an iron gate. That leaves some guests waiting on the other side of the gate. It's also a little bit of a hassle as the door controller seems to be at the back of the restaurant so sometimes people would be waiting to be let out. Not a big deal, but it doesn't seem entirely thought out.
No sign of the owners on the evening we were there.
All in all a good dining experience and we'll be back. There are plenty of good places to eat in this area with new ones seeming to open every week. One key tip - get there before 8. Arriving at 7:30 there were several tables available - after 8 - a long queue.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFoggontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So much meat, so delicious.”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I went to Mu after reading some good reviews and we were so glad that the place does hold up to it's reputation - they only serve ribs…two portions of either 6 or 9 ribs. We ordered 6 and couldn't even finish one rib! The meat was very juicy and fell off the bone. We were very satisfied with the quality and portion. We ordered wine by the glass and bottles of beer, so we didn't try the famous mojitos, but I believe they would be good according to the standards the restaurant seems to uphold. The actually space is much nicer looking in person - the photos on trip advisor make it look like a bit of a dump, and while it is pleasantly casual, there is nice ambient lighting for a "romantic" dining experience, and good music. We have another 5 days in Medellin and will be back - one of the better meals we've had here!

Note: We tried to make a reservation via email, but got no response. I also tried to call the restaurant from a local phone but the number was not in service. We took our chances on a Saturday night for an early dinner around 7:30pm and lucked out - not sure if making reservations is possible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best ribs in the world!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We discovered Mu, 3 or 4 years ago (when it was called F...Good Ribs) and have not stopped going at least once a month ever since, I mean, the ribs are out of this world, but the Mojitos and the nachos are also great! Whenever we have anyone visiting from another city in Colombia, or a friend from another country we make sure to take them to Mu, its soo good! Just remember, they only open Thu, Fri and Sat, so plan your visit in advance!

Helpful?
1 Thank YCasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mu also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to Mu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing