We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic setting, fine cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante In Situ

Restaurante In Situ
Ranked #10 of 1,088 Restaurants in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: South American, Colombian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting, fine cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Medellín's Botanical Garden is a lovely space to escape from the noise and bustle of the city. In Situ blends right in with the natural surroundings. Colleagues and I have had lunch here on four occassions, and we'll probably continue dining there when we have conference meetings in the adjacent building.

The restaurant has two open walls, looking out to a pleasant patio or the park's woods. Furnishings blend well with the natural surroundings, and small details like leaf-shaped placemats further connect inside and out. It's not a large place, so we've learned to make reservations. The dining room manager has been very accommodating for our groups of six to eight guests, and we've found the servers to be professional and helpful with special requests.

The varied menu provides something for nearly every taste, and there more than several meatless options. One can order a salad or appetizer, or a large, multi-course meal. I've had fish, pasta, and beef, all of which have been delicious. There are traditional, Colombian dishes, along with more neutral international ones that should satisfy both adventurous and timid diners.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    124
    30
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is probably one of the restaurants in the city with the best scenic view. Also you can eat very good food. Is a place that you have to visit when you are in Medellin.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jdhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
198 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, offhand service, rather pretentious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

The restaurant is lovely, an open plan space in the middle of the botanical gardens in Medillin, Colombia.
Book a table as it is busy. Menu had lots of great choices, no english menu or wnglish speaking staff for that matter.
Chicken salad good but too much dressing and not enough chicken. The meat dishes my friends had looked good, well presented and tasty. Bread was offered as we sat down with water, be careful as you are actually charged for this . We questioned this and were told its common in colombia , actually it isnt. The service was rather offhand and the waiter was rather aloof and cool in tone. Food good, a bit fussy and pretentious, service could be improved.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little place in nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This restaurant is located inside Jardín Botánico that gives it an incredible athmosphere.

The food is a delicious mix of very different things of the country regions.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank VickyLarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fresh, creative food and wonderful ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We ate here for lunch during our visit to the Botanical Gardens. I had a soup and salad and my husband had a hamburger. We both had fresh juice. The ingredients were fresh and local and well put together. It was my favorite meal in Medellin. It's also open air and incredibly pleasant--a great place to have a leisurely meal.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bakujess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante In Situ also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to Restaurante In Situ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing