We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”
Review of In House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
In House
Ranked #18 of 107 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

3 of us stayed at the In House for 2 nights recently and absolutely loved it! The room was spotlessly clean and cute! We also loved the private patio attached to our room. The staff was super nice and helpful and the breakfast was great too! The location was convenient to restaurants and about a 15min walk to the metro. I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganSTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Google Translation
Muchas Gracias por su opinion!!
Seguiremos trabajando para mejorar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    75
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
99
40
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at In House. The location was perfect, the beds were comfortable and the staff were incredibly nice. However, a few things were a little weird:

1. The first day we came home from our work event and found that our patio door had been left completely open (not by us), but the room hadn't yet been cleaned or otherwise touched. We aren't really sure why that happened, but it did mean we had some bugs to get rid of.

2. Our room was in the basement. I probably should have asked for another room, but was tired. There is enough natural lighting because of the patio, but we couldn't see anything except walls and barbed wire from our room, a shame given how beautiful the sights are in Medellin!

3. The shower was basically impossible to get at a normal temperature. It was either freezing hot or freezing cold. We have a finicky shower in Bogota but this was much, much worse!

4. When we checked out we left our suitcases for a few hours. However, we were also given a form to fill out with a review of the place. I didn't feel all that comfortable writing a real review knowing that they were going to keep my belongings for a few hours! I think it would be better to offer online reviews, or to make them anonymous (this one asked for all my contact information, etc.).

5. There is a policy for bringing a guest back to the room for more than 1 hour (it'll cost you $25, or 50,000 COP). Considering all the sex tourism in Medellin, I thought this was pretty gross! Most other places I have stayed that have a sex tourism problem do not allow extra guests for any length of time in order to avoid this, and I thought it was weird that there was a policy allowing it (I mean, they weren't explicit about the kind of guest, but it's not rocket science).

Overall, it was a pretty average stay. We normally have better experiences when we pick the #1 on Trip Advisor. The price was right, we'd probably stay there again (but ask for a room on a higher floor), but it didn't exactly meet my expectations.

Room Tip: Try to stay out of the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 0410jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to give your opinion.
I am sorry that your experience has been found not 100% satisfactory.

I want to explain several points so you can be more tranquil to your belongings:
When guests leave the hotel, one supervisor gets in room and collects bottles, papers etc, open the windows and check that everything is in place, these is reported to the maids so they can get all the things they need to do all the work to leave evering working and clean.

About your belongings at check out time, and in case you want to leave your baggage we provided a format for your tranquility and of the Hotel
.
We ask to fill us one poll is to correct our mistakes, the details of your contact will only be asked to fill a form, no way we would do any damage to your personal items no matter what are your answers.

Our objective is and always will be give good service to your guests.

We hope that on your next visit to Medellin you can have more confidence in this city and its people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at In House a total of 3 nights and I have to say that the location is perfect being right in Pablado, a couple blocks from hip bars, restaurants and Parque Lleras.
The hotel was always clean and rooms were relaxing. Perfect place to rest your head after being out all day/night. Seemed like most of the workers spoke English and were always attentive to our needs.
Would definitely stay again!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChillingAmbitiously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write your comment. It is a happiness to work to offer a service and that guests like you value. Thank you again and we hope to hope to have you again as our guests at In House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The best part of this hotel is the location! The rooms are a great size, with nice amenities. My only complaint was the lighting- the lobby is very dark and the lights are a bit fluorescent. With that said, we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was my first visit to Medellin and decided to stay in El Poblado area, near Parque Lleras, since it was what the majority of the posts I found in Google recommended.

After deciding on "the area" it was time to make the choice of "the hotel". In House was the #1 rated hotel in Medellin. This doesn't mean it's a 5 star luxury establishment. This is based on reviews and ratings submitted by the Tripadvisor community.

I started reading the reviews and I decided to go there without hesitation. Well, I am very happy to say that this was one of the best hotel experiences of my life.

This small boutique hotel is located in a very nice street, with at least 7 restaurants within a 3 minute walk. You have BBC (Bogota Beer Company), 3 Tipicos, Mu (which is a ribs place right next door) & Toscano (a delightful trattoria) to name a few.

Now to the hotel experience. We were greeted by 2 very friendly and helpful ladies in the reception that made our check-in stress free. Then they proceeded to give us a map and show us where to go and where not to go around Medellin while taking the Metro. Very helpful indeed!

The room was very nice sized, with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, mini fridge and a great balcony. Everything was clean and felt cozy. The bathroom is on the larger side and was very modern. My only complaint would be that the shower water flow was a bit slow, but you get used to that. Let's say it's eco-friendly.

We went to Parque Lleras (about 10 minute walk) every single day of our 7 day trip, at various times, even late at night, and it never felt solitary or unsafe.

I will definitely go back to Medellin and In House hotel will be my home away from home. The attention was TOP NOTCH. What a delight!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment we will continue working to improve day after day. We hope to have you again at In House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This boutique hotel is welcoming from the minute you step through the front door. While most of the staff speak a little English (they all try), Silvia is perfect. She goes out of her way to make sure you have a wonderful time in Medellin...from walks to restaurants to tours. The best thing is that she follows up with you to know what you liked and what did not work out. We were there 8 days and had several recommendations from her that were not on our "to do list" and turned out to be wonderful. Do not miss the Botanical Gardens and In Situ Restaurant.

The rooms are clean and very modern. The large showers were a real bonus. Our first room was on the front of the hotel and when my husband mentioned that it was a bit noisy, we were moved to a room at the back with a large patio. It was perfect for a longer stay.

One of the other reviews mentioned having In House arrange transportation to/from the airport. This was a great idea. We had the hotel book a car for us 4 different times and each time the car was exactly on time, comfortable and the drivers all extremely polite. The cost is about the same as a taxi and the experiences cannot be compared. Just send the reception an e-mail and you can be assured you will be met when you exit the airport.

The only downside is that the internet can be a bit spotty but I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Medellin.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have nice balconies but can be noisy with the traffic but the street view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAKath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write your comment. It is a happiness to work to offer a service and that guests like you value. Thank you again and we hope to receive you again at In House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. We are two USA couples. Helpful English speaking manager Silvia added to our city discoveries. Room and facilities super clean. Nice city view from rooms on back. All employees nice, friendly and helpful. Room was very quiet. Enjoyed top floor covered patio. Good tasty breakfast included.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Schmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment we will continue working to improve day after day. We hope to have you again at In House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#8 of 107 in Medellin
1,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 107 in Medellin
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#7 of 107 in Medellin
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 107 in Medellin
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#47 of 107 in Medellin
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In House

Property: In House
Address: Carrera #34 7-109 | Provenza, Medellin 050016, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 107 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — In House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at one of the most prestigious neighborhoods of Medellin (Provenza). Easy to reach from any airport, few minutes away from the financial sector and one of the majors malls of the city near Lleras Park and one of the most elegant and exquisite restaurants. We count on 13 Zen-type rooms, inspired on Nature's harmony, all of them are specially designed to provide the comfort and tranquility you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your In House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing