We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you feel special!”
Review of In House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
In House
Ranked #20 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Makes you feel special!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed in this small hotel for three nights and even though there were some small issues i really felt warm and welcome everybody tried their very best to be of assistance! If you are looking for small hotel without thrills this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchie2262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank You very much for your coments; we hope to have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    74
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
97
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PALMA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I espent two nights there. The hotel is all right, small with about sixteen rooms. The personal was generally speaking very kind. One thing that I did not like was that I had to pay the same moment I arrived to the hotel, instead of paying at checking out.
The cleanliness was so-so, I saw a long black hair in the shower wich was really disgusting.
As a recommendation I would suggest to ask for the upper rooms, they have got better views. The breakfast is correct.
They charged me two different prices per night. If you stay there in weekends is cheaper than in weekdays. The reason is that they are supposed to be an hotel for executives and they have more demand on weekdays.

Room Tip: I would suggest to ask for the upper rooms, they have got better views. Try to be there in weekend i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOTRAVELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por su opinión, con respecto a su cuestionamiento de la limpieza y aunque aquí se tiene personal para revisar este tipo de detalles, estaremos más atentos para que esto no suceda nunca.
Muchas gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked In House Hotel as it was number one on TripAdvisor, but I believe the reviews here are misleading on a key point: this isn't really a boutique hotel. Rather it's a cross between a nice hostel and a motel. I've stayed in plenty of boutique hotels in Colombia, and In House is utilitarian, basic and sports features like fluorescent lights in the room and giant plastic no-smoking sign above the TV, and big signs about not soliciting prostitutes. When we arrived after dark, it felt grim, dark and forbidding, though actually it was fine. At the end they inspected our room before we could check out.

Our bed was hard, but we slept well. Free wifi with in-room modem was the best we found in any Colombia hotel. Everything was extremely clean. Other than the first morning, the water was hot. The breakfast was quite pleasant. And the staff were very friendly and helpful (not all of them speak English).

Three main issues: 1. It was widely known that there were to be planned protests/ riots downtown on one particular day, but we hadn't seen the news and nobody at the hotel warned us of this, so we ignorantly headed out and strangers in the street ended up telling us to get out of there asap. The hotel should have warned its guests of this. 2. Like all hotels in the excellent Poblado area, it's a good 25 minute walk to the Poblado metro to get downtown - downhill on the way, uphill on the return. We took the little green buses uphill (but one one occasion were pickpocketed). 3. There are two doors from the room to the patio and they slide past each other in a violent way. When my partner went to open them, they chopped off the top of her finger! Use extreme caution!! But generally, decent value for money and perfectly comfortable, in a good area.

Useful note: there are lovely streets of bars and restaurants 1-5 mins from the hotel (on 34th between 7th and 10th). Streets 33, 35 and 37 on the same blocks as the hotel are all great and worth exploring.

Room Tip: The lower ground floor rooms seem to have patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion, all recommendations are valid, this is a HOTEL not a motel, you must've noticed by people that like you choose to stay with us.
We hope you had a safe journey back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed at In House while in Medellin and found it to be a nice option in the Poblado area. The staff was very nice and helpful. They try their best to communicate with english speakers with a translate tablet. They have two computers for free of use in the cafe area and their breakfast was one of the better ones I've had provided by the lodging. In House is about a 15-20 minute walk to the nearest metro station (downhill on the way there, uphill on the way back). It is located in one of the quainter areas of Medellin which is nice.. cute shops, nice restaurants. pleasant.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank simply126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank You very much for your opinion, We hope to have you again as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is located in a safe, pretty part of town within walking distance of shops, restaurants, supermarkets, and malls. Traffic from town into this part of the city is very congested, so take that into account for travelling time. The metro is 30mins away from the hotel on foot and downhill all the way there. The best part of the hotel is its helpful, friendly, caring staff. Front-door security is good. The room itself is comfortable enough. There is enough furniture, the bed is comfortable, the air-con is decent, the bathroom is basic with toiletries, there is a lock-up safe. The rooms are touted as “zen”, but a few bamboo sticks in a corner does NOT make it zen in my opinion, so I wouldnt pay much attention to this advertising gimmick. The room we booked had a decent size outdoor terrace, but smoking outside on the terrace was not allowed, so it was pretty useless as far as I am concerned. The hotel charges a ridiculously high fee for visitors to your room and they have to register, so discreet encounters are out of the question. The breakfast was a little above the average for Colombian fare, but I found a hair in my yoghurt, so I am not entirely convinced of hygiene standards in the kitchen. Overall, nothing special at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasparus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your opinion, we are always looking to improve and meet the expectations of our customers, with high standards of hygiene & quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked our Medellin stay several months ahead because of the impending Festival de Las Flores. The previous reviewers' rankings were definitely well deserved. Location had all the services that a tourist would require. Great value for money, but we were asked to pay for our complete stay upon arrival…they still took a copy of our CC for incidentals.

Room was comfortable and clean, and had all the amenities of a classy boutique hotel. Spacious shower always had hot water, though its filtration down the doors needs serious attention.

Front desk staff were always helpful with info. and calling for taxis. Medellin transport system is so good (and cheap) that you really only needed taxis for trips to local restaurants and services. We used the Metro to travel to most uptown tourist destinations, apart from Pueblito Paisa. Some staff do speak English, so it depends on who is on duty when you need info…perhaps guests should do some research before their trip.

Breakfast always had hot and cold (fruit and cereal) options, and coffee and juice. My wife was very pleased that they had lactose free milk available for her morning caffeine fix (aka coffee!!!).

If you're looking for quality and value for money, look no further!!!

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, request a room on the lower floors…there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hschanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are very attentive to your comments, we hope to receive you again at In House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent hotel with excellent location. Here is peace and quiet and a lovely big bed. Good breakfast with a very tasty coffee. The area where the hotel is situated is charming and has many nice cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion, is for reviews like yours that we work every day.
We hope to hace you again at In House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.4 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#7 of 105 in Medellin
1,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#6 of 105 in Medellin
266 reviews
3.6 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 105 in Medellin
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.6 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 105 in Medellin
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In House

Property: In House
Address: Carrera #34 7-109 | Provenza, Medellin 050016, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — In House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at one of the most prestigious neighborhoods of Medellin (Provenza). Easy to reach from any airport, few minutes away from the financial sector and one of the majors malls of the city near Lleras Park and one of the most elegant and exquisite restaurants. We count on 13 Zen-type rooms, inspired on Nature's harmony, all of them are specially designed to provide the comfort and tranquility you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your In House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing