We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All you need”
Review of In House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
In House
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All you need”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is not a Traveller's Hostel. This is not a freaky, trendy spot to share stories about coming or past adventures. In House is a most welcoming Place for those who seek best Service, clean and clear rooms with all the ammenities you need, a glorious rooftop-terrace and a a very calm Athmosphere. This is not Ritz-Carlton, sure, this is better. Because it's personal and normal. And it's good value for the money, too.

Room Tip: To the back it's more quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnaby_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your opinion, we work to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    74
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
97
39
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location in Poblado was a good choice, with many restaurants nearby. The breakfast was quite good and the staff pleasant and helpful in calling a taxi. The hotel has 14 rooms, 5 floors, and is well-designed with all the appropriate safety features including a locked front door and 24 hour staff presence. Free WiFi. The Metro station was down the hill, about a 30 minute walk. After staying in Hotel Casa Deco in Bogota, however, we were a little disappointed that there was a hefty telephone charge, even for local calls, and that the on-site staff didn't seem well-informed about accessing local activities (e.g. paragliding and various tourist opportunities). It would have been helpful if they had standard connections with local providers, and/or literature available on activity options (such as the microbrewery tour, the Escobar Tour, various excursion possibilities), or would make a call on behalf of guests. We had done extensive research so were able to overcome this obstacle, but it would be especially helpful for guests who spoke no Spanish. (On-site staff could not communicate in English). In all, however, it was an excellent boutique hotel and we would recommend it. We stayed, a party of four, in November, 2012.

Room Tip: There are two ground-floor rooms if anyone has a problem with stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jxschode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
thank you very much for your opinion, we will take all these suggestions and put them into practice, we hope to have you at the hotel on your next visit to Medellin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made in NZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Sylvia and her staff all worked hard to ensure all our traveller needs were catered for. Great in-house (pun intended) breakfast: fresh fruit, and hot-cooked arepas, and sausages and eggs each day- yum! Location is not central, but in upscale area with trains to central city. Close to plenty of nice cafes including some of Medellin's 'finest' dining and also a good vegetarian one, I think called Verde, one that served "platos typicos" and a cool bar called the Social.
Also a small supermarket just one or two blocks down (small blocks).
Tesoro shopping centre is worth a cab trip (looong walk up the hill) and has a good selection of food-hall eating options if you want a change of scene - great night views!
Avoid the booze barns on the lower blocks of the hill below the hotel on the way to train station, stick with the more local neighbourhood options nearer the hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony :) - remember to stock up so you can have a drink outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoseyAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We hope to have you again as our guest, Thanks for you opinon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curaçao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice small hotel. We really felt at home and would have loved to stay longer.
It is at walking distance (1 minute) from the main street (Calle 10) and has all
commodities you need to enjoy a nice vacation.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otmar_Conradus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for visiting our Hotel.
We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque, new mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I do a fair amount of travelling in Latin America. I am a single retired man and look for places to stay that are well located to interesting things to see and do, economical, clean, safe, quiet, and
efficiently run. I never rent a car and either walk or use the local transit system. This hotel is one of the best I have stayed in in my travels and the staff, all of the staff, were friendly and helpful. I don't speak much Spanish but was able to get my questions answered. I was always met with a Hola when I came through the front door. The front desk is manned twenty four seven . The breakfast is simple but prepared on site. The room was clean, had tv and wi fi and a hot shower when you needed it. The little refrigerator was stocked with snacks and drinks and you had a good view of the Poblado area. I walked down the hill to the La Poblana Avenue where there were shops galore and plenty of sights to see. In total, I agree with the other reviewers and will stay here the next time I come to Medellin. You could have a great vacation just hanging ut in this area of town for a week, On the upper floor they have a terrace which is a good place to enjoy the weather and the sights of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newmexicoscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion, is very gratifying for us to be part of your journey through life
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a very small, quaint, comfortable boutique hotel in the heart of the Zona Rosa, the nightlife district, in Medellin. The owners and staff take every chance to do everything right for you. From the check in to the breakfast, the quality of the food, free wi-fi, linens, decor, price and convenience. You can't get a better place in Medellin for this price and with these EXCELLENT amenities!

I highy recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Medellin.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion, we will continue working to improve and always fulfill your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This small hotel is located in Poblado near Parque Lleras - a hotspot for foreigners and a thriving bar area.
But it is on a quiet street in walking distance from Parque Lleras so there are no noise problems.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and as always knowing Spanish to a certain degree helps smooth the way when there's a problem or you're trying to get directions to somewhere.
It is good value for money and hopefully the rates stay the same (around USD $60 when I was there).
The breakfast is basic and served in portions but it is well prepared.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel have unobstructed view over the neighbouring houses and I particu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonefish_Willis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion, hope to attend you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.1 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
3.6 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#7 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#5 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#45 of 104 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In House

Property: In House
Address: Carrera #34 7-109 | Provenza, Medellin 050016, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — In House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at one of the most prestigious neighborhoods of Medellin (Provenza). Easy to reach from any airport, few minutes away from the financial sector and one of the majors malls of the city near Lleras Park and one of the most elegant and exquisite restaurants. We count on 13 Zen-type rooms, inspired on Nature's harmony, all of them are specially designed to provide the comfort and tranquility you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your In House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing