We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Arcadia Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arcadia Hostel
Ranked #29 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I really have nothing bad to say about this hostel. Its clean, nice quiet neighbourhood within walking distance to the Zona Rosa and Poblado Metro.
The staff is super nice and I especially enjoyed the free Salsa lesson. Shame we couldnt be there for the Sunday BBQ because that looked very tempting! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JuliaS123187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 221 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed one week in arcadia hostel, i chose this hostel because it's one of the cheapest one in medellin and i didn´t regret my choice. First of all the location is perfect, situated near the zona rosa wich is the place where you can find all the good restaurants, bars and disco. It is a 15 minutes walk to go to the metro station (and do go up hill you can grab a complete ticket wich provide you the possibility to take a bus), from where you can rich every places in medellin. Then the hostel is very nice, the room and the common area are always clean, the dorms an the beds are very good. It´s a very cool place to chill out on the big balconie or in front of a good movie on the huge screen. They provide really good pancakes for breakfast, ans free coffee all day long. On the week end they propose activities as free salsa classes, karaoke and to finish the week, Spyros the owner prepare an amazing greek barbecue !! The people who work there are all very nice and always avalable if you need some help for whatever, what creat a pleasant atmosphere .If you want to stay in medellin, this is definitly the place you have to go. I recommend it.

Room Tip: The 12 beds dorm is a bit tiny, you should choose olympus which is the best dorm i have ever been i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virgulenight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Well worth staying in this hostel. The dorm room has everything I look for in a dorm room and more; decent lockers, two plug sockets for each bed, a shelf to put your things on and even a reading light, as well the beds are made from solid wood so there's no noise in the night. Bathrooms in each dorm room AND more bathrooms so I didn't have to wait once. Nice social area with a TV room and patio outdoor (and a guitar to use if that floats your boat). Really close to El Poblado high street but feels like it's not as it's by a stream and loads of trees so very relaxing and great for sleeping. Be there for the weekend to see El Poblado nightlife and also the Greek BBQ that Spyros provides!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed en Arcadia around 3 weeks, and i had such a nice stay. I would reccomend it as the best hostel in Medellín, because it is so close to the center, poblado, all the nice shops, but still it is in a calm área :) the thing i like most about arcadia is that there is space for every kind Of traveller. The one who likes party, the one who likes to read a book, the one who just need a place to sleep, the one who wants to talk with other travellers about experiences in Colombia , and the one who needs a place to stay a little longer and want to get new friends as me. The hostel is good at creating events from time to time, and the people who works in Arcadia are always willing to help with a big smile:) i look forward to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia1993Naty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hello, I would like to recommend everybody who is visiting Medellin, the city of eternal spring, to stay at Arcadia hostel. A great place with a warm atmosphere where its host Spyros will ensure that you enjoy the perfect and well-cooked Greek BBQ every Sunday. He has worked very hard to build an organised and friendly hostel where you will feel fine and relaxed. See you all soon at Arcadia Hostel Medellin, where you can come to enjoy free Salsa lessons and learn to dance a little bit better. Also you can come and sing your favourite songs at the fun Karaoke nights. The hostel holds many events every week for you to meet some locals and get tips for enjoying the great city of Medellin, which welcomes tourists and makes them feel at home. The 3 days I stayed here were some of the happiest in my trip. Beleza… David.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

“All you can have” pancakes' breakfast, little shelf and personal light right next to my bed, two spots to plug in electric devices as well (very practical, I reckon), good location (very close to Lleras park), super nice staff, owner who is always ready and willing to help his guests any way possible to enjoy their time to the hostel and the city to the maximum, excellent common areas, generally an awesome place to meet people, AND with plenty of events organized every second day, attracting even local residents. Last, but not least, very competitive prices (by Medellin and especially Poblado standards).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My partner and I just had a three night stay at Hostel Arcadia in a private room. We found that the hostel had a pleasant and friendly atmosphere, great and helpful staff and good communal areas. The kitchen was functional and clean and had good free amenities like available butter, big fridge and basically open 24 hours. Above all, the cleaning staff were good at keeping it clean, even though it was really busy on the days we stayed there. The free pancakes and coffee each morning were also a definite plus. It was just gorgeous to sit on the balcony and enjoy listening to the flowing stream in a field across the road each morning while we ate.
The cleaning service in the room was good, the room was aired and swept every day and they changed the sheets on the third night which we didn’t really expect of a hostel, but a pleasant surprise none the less! We were using the communal bathroom (there were two) and they were kept clean also. On Friday night we took part in the free salsa lessons which was good fun and a nice way to meet people! As for the location, the hostel was only a 5 min walk to the zona rosa where there are lots of restaurants, bar and discotecas, and it was a pleasant walk.
Getting to the hostel isn’t too difficult, but we found that it certainly pays to have the exact directions (we got a little bit lost the first time). We would recommend printing out some directions, or abit of a map to save you some time and hassle! The easiest way to get to the hostel using public transportation is a combination of metro and bus. All we had to do (as recommended by hostel world website) was buy an integrado poblado ticket for 2300 COP which allows you to go straight up Calle 10, the main street of Poblado. These integrado buses are small green buses that are located behind the stairs as soon as you leave the metro station.
• Stay on the bus until Carretera 36 (there is a Dominos on the corner, hard to miss!)
• Turn left at Carretera 36 and the hostel lies at the end of this road. BEWARE though, the road includes a slight dog-leg that will bring you past a flowing stream and slight foresty area.
• Make sure that you veer right, cross the intersection and the hostel is on the left side of the road, opposite a small, fenced park.
We both agree that we would return here when we come back to Medellin! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.0 mi away
Chillin District Hostel
Chillin District Hostel
#32 of 239 in Medellin
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#1 of 239 in Medellin
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geo Hostel
Geo Hostel
#16 of 239 in Medellin
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Purple Monkey Hostel
Purple Monkey Hostel
#20 of 239 in Medellin
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galeria Hostel
Galeria Hostel
#34 of 239 in Medellin
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caminante Hostel
Caminante Hostel
#14 of 239 in Medellin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hostel

Address: Calle 10a 11a No. 31A-188 | Poblado, 5 min walk from zona rosa, parque Lleras, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range: $15 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia hostel is a new hostel in Medellin Colombia the city of eternal spring located just 5min walk of the most exclusive and safe area of Medellin parque Lleras Poblado! The idea is to have really good times in a very nice relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Arcadia Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing