We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”

Parque Zoologico Santa Fe
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
211 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Usually zoos in Central & South America tend to be on the sadder side of things in terms of animal conditions, layout, etc, but I was pleasantly surprised by this zoo. Admission and food prices inside were extremely reasonable. Some of the exhibits aren't set up the best for viewing, but overall it's really a nice layout. If you go during the week, there is hardly anyone there which made it extra nice. Peacocks roam the grounds freely and are NOT shy about getting close to people, which makes it fun. Really a good place to visit for families.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Dad1Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    75
    49
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sad but interesting”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Like the other reviewers I found the zoo a little sad and sorrowful for the animals that live there. On the positive side however I got to see a number of interesting animals that I would never have had the chance to see in the wild. And as such I don't need to book a journey to the jungle and contribute to the distruction thereof.

There are alot of positives and negatives for keeping animals on public display and I'm not here to judge. I got something useful out the experience and I hope in some small way my entrance fee helps towards maintaining better environments for the animals. If more people visit then this is only a good thing for the animals.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lahlahlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An oasis in the city”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Nice size, not too large or small. The rhinos were on loan to another zoo.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank reccexrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lack of care”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is the second most neglected zoos I have visited (the first one is located in Pereira). The Parque Zoologico Santa Fe has many animals, but they are in small and old cages. The chimpanzees do not have enough toys or elements to play with, so it seems that they are dying of boredom. This zoo has many native Andean bears (Oso de Anteojos), but they do not have a right environment. They are separated by cages. It is sad to look at them. In addition the jaguar is overweight. Its cage is too small, and it seems that he does not have a right routine of exercise. Some other animals have some kind of sponsorship and their cages look nicer, which contrast with the ones that lack of it.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
Thank Eleomorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Zoologico Santa Fe also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to Parque Zoologico Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing