We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really impressed!”
Review of The Charlee Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Charlee Hotels
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Medellin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really impressed!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I booked an Acqua Suite (with the jacuzzi on the balcony) for my wedding anniversary having had a drink on the incredible rooftop terrace the last time I was in Medellin.

I was initially very sad to see that our special trip coincided with the remodelling of said terrace. But the hotel management was so apologetic that they offered us a free night when the terrace opens to compensate for our disappointment. It really is an original hotel. It oozes style and class, with a funky three-floor gym to boot!

HIGHLY recommend this hotel and look forward to coming back to enjoy it in its entirety.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    92
    42
    21
    35
See reviews for
25
112
41
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I arrived to Medellin this week and decided to stay at The Charlee based on online reviews. The hotel had a unique facade and lots of artwork. The room was adequate and the service very good. At the top of the hotel they have a pool and a bar/club called "Envy". I found it very enjoyable to grab a drink here and look out over the city. This place should be given a try when visiting this lovely city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaPeach85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
326 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very good hotel if you are the fashion kind of traveller. Rooms are good, and pool on rooftop is great. Some models might be around... so check it out. Front desk does it's best but it s not a five star level. By the way iti is not a fove star hotel. More the trendy kind of "place to be". Check out for promo rates on Internet!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtiennE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I travel often and have stayed in many high end hotels. My stay at Charlee was nearly flawless. At check-in I was greeted in a friendly manner and despite my lack of Spanish the front desk personel handled me in a graceful way, offering me drinks as well. Almost everyone at the front is fluent in English so can only praise them were others on here have had some criticism. I stayed in 501 which is envy suite with the hot tub. It's pretty much a regular room with a larger balcony and hot tub, but the tub works amazingly well and was worth it to me. Bed-comfortable, hot water always, great Internet connection in this room. The gym is insanely nice. Anyone who works out at all would dream of having a gym this well equipped and stylish. I've seen gyms like this only in giant Vegas hotels, and would still consider this nicer. The bar/pool on the roof is a cool place to hang in the evening. It is pricey but you are paying for atmosphere. I loved the Italian restaurant in the lobby. Friendly staff, some speaking English, and the steak there is amazing. Again expensive in comparison but I enjoyed it. I have to put one negative so you know this is a real review and that would be the noise at night. All the clubs and bars near it blast music till 4am. Earplugs a must! If you are a light sleeper without earplugs you will be unhappy. I slept with my ipod buds playing music everynight. Overall I give the hotel a high rating. I put a premium on staying In a safe place and this hotel is in a park which I felt safe at all hours walking around nearby. It is close to bars and restaurants and short cab rides to shopping and other places to go out. I liked riosur for clubbing best. there is a grocery right around the corner as well as a place to change money. Thanks again to the staff at the front and in the restaurant for making me feel welcome. You deserve praise. Will be back to stay again for certain

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Charlee H, Gerente at The Charlee Hotels, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good morning Dear David C
On behalf of all the staff please allow me to thank you for entering our web advisor and take the time to comment on your experience and opinion on this page to share with all visitors.
Thanks also for making us see that you enjoyed the service and experience offered by our hotel; we really hope to be your host on your next visit to our city.
We hope soon.
Juan Carlos Rodriguez C.
General Manager of The Charlee Medellin hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Charlee in February 2013. The rooms are normal, but the balconys were great. I was really impressed. At night, the upper floor has a roof top swimming pool that converts to a lounge are with live entertainment. This area also offers an amazing view of the city at night. The complimentary breakfast was fairly basic, but good nonetheless. The only complaint we had was the service at the front desk is less than stellar to say the least. We arrived slightly before a 3pm check in time...the front desk offered no solutions other than saying the rooms were not ready. So, we got to carry our luggage around the street for an hour before we could check in. This was truly ridiculous. The front desk staff acted as if we were not guests at all, almost as if they did not appreciate our business at all. Management needs to address this immediately with these employees. Other than that, the Charlee is a nice place to stay. However, it is far from being a 5 Star Hotel (according to US Standards). The prices are a bit overpriced for what you get and the hospitality is non-existent. You cannot aspire or represent yourself as a 5 Star Hotel when your customer service area sucks...Tighten up Charlee...travelers do have other choices in Medellin to stay..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hot-n-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Charlee H, Gerente at The Charlee Hotels, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good afternoon dear Hot-n-Miami
Mainly thank you for sharing your comments and your experience in this case not comfortable with all the tripadvisor community.
reading your message we understand that some things went not very well during your stay with us, and it is such a shame that you had to go through frustrating moments or that we could not fulfill your expectations. Actually we seek to improve aspects or circumstances that may impair our quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I agree 100% with all the comments below about the appalling front desk service at this hotel, by far the worst of any comparatively priced hotel I've ever been. No concierge left us dragging our own luggage up the steps to the entrance. The young girl at reception briefly looked over at us struggling and then went back to her computer as if we were invisible. No greeting whatsoever. Inside, we were treated like the poorest dirty backpackers and felt like we were imposing on the staff to simply check in (we did notice that the staff were much friendlier to Spanish speaking guests). The room is nice, but the pool on the roof has no place to get any sun; it is simply a party pool next to a bar. We asked for a recommendation of a good place for brunch - the front desk staff recommended a horrific diner around the corner that served hot dogs and scrambled eggs. Later we discovered many trendy, funky upscale boutique restaurants around the other corner of the hotel, and we were seriously dumbfounded how or why such a hotel would recommend their guests to a fast food dump. Breakfast onsite is basic: coffee is terrible and standard is not 5-star in any way. Note to GM: You seriously need to train your staff if you want to charge $250+ per night for a room! Guest relations are a key component of customer experience. My advice: Best to avoid!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Charlee H, Gerente at The Charlee Hotels, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good morning dear Jennifer T
Greetings from The Charlee Hotel, mainly thanks for taking the time to write this comment and share it with the community of TripAdvisor.
we will have your suggestions in mind and we feel so sorry that the staff and services could not fill out your expectations
We will communicate this situations with the the whole staff to make an improvement. plan..
We hope that some day in the future you can consider us again in order to meet your expectations.
BEST REGARDS
Juan Carlos Rodriguez C.
Gerente General The Charlee Medellín Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin
Level Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

To be clear, we did not (have not) stay at the hotel so the review is not based on actual occupancy; we were going to use it as an option for a group of 15 to 20 people we have coming to Medellin for an event, so we went to check prices, availability etc.

The lady at the front desk was reasonable with her outline of facilities the hotel offered, however when we asked for a room price she would not provide it and instead insisted we took a card with an events individual (may have been another title) and call her. We asked if we could ring from there to find the information however this was not an option. I have little patience for that type of thing, the price should be available at the front desk, so we left and will use the Park 10 hotel (the front desk lady did not know that we had a large group and for all she knew we could have been wanting to stay there that night - so it was a little weird).

On a positive note -

the gym which I have been to there is excellent - they did a fantastic job on it and the facilities are excellent.

the roof top bar / disco / pool. Fantastic city views and they hold some excellent events.

decor - really well done in both the lobby etc.

location - can't get better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicks_medellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Charlee H, Gerente at The Charlee Hotels, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Good afternoon dear Bicks_medellin
Greetings from The Charlee Hotel, mainly thanks for taking the time to write this comment and share it with the community of TripAdvisor.
we will have your suggestions in mind and we feel so sorry that the staff and services could not fill out your expectations
We will communicate this situations with the the whole staff to make an improvement. plan.
Thank you so much for writing us and we hope to you give us a next opportunity.
BEST REGARDS
Juan Carlos Rodriguez C.
Gerente General The Charlee Medellín Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.2 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#44 of 104 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#6 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.3 mi away
Park 10 Hotel
Park 10 Hotel
#17 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#13 of 104 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlee Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlee Hotels

Property: The Charlee Hotels
Address: Calle 9a 37 16, Medellin, Colombia (Formerly The Charlee)
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Charlee Hotels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the classic hotel concept, The Charlee seeks to recreate the lifestyle of its guests and visitors, offering a high standard in each of its services, flooded areas of design and a staff that strives to make you feel unique. At The Charlee, art is the protagonist of all spaces. Works by local artists exhibited in the rooms and public spaces, photographs, paintings and sculptures that integrate with the original design and modern atmosphere of the hotel, are part of this sexy and elegant proposal. We are different and have put our own style, which is why we offer a service that goes beyond the expectations of our guests, because we think beyond their needs. It is also why we have since 2015 a personalized concierge service 7 days a week at your disposal. Our visitors are usually young and adults with particular tastes in art, music, lifestyle, sports, entertainment, and culture. We are located in the middle of the most visited area of EL Poblado neighborhood (Parque Lleras) full of social and nightlife, bars, restaurants, boutiques, attractions and meeting. The Charlee Hotels. live. stay. be. unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Charlee Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charlee Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing