We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect those traveling alone or small groups” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saman Hostel Medellin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saman Hostel Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Californiaish
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect those traveling alone or small groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Come with a postive attitude and an expectation of good times. This hostel is one of the cleaner ones around where you can feel like you have a home to come back to and friends that you will get to know like family.

Best of luck and enjoy!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    48
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
73
134
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Small hostel with share house feel. Owner was really helpful with lots of great recommendations and tips. Rooms and shared facilities are all really clean and well kept. Byo breakfast and food. Lots of fun.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great and clean hostel with perfect location in Zona Rosa! (1 min walk to Parco Lleras!) The staff is great and the owner does his best to accomodate you in the best way possible.
The hostel is not very big, a quiet and relax feel over it. You have a nice common area with a plasma tv with many channels to watch, the kitchen is by far the cleanest kitchen ive come across in my hostel experience and the WIFI is fast and great too.

There are not many minus of Saman hostel, but If I have to look for some, well the beds are a bit too hard (I usually enjoy hard beds, but this is like sleeping on a brick! ;) and there is one toilet that is a bit smelly. But the staff are trying to keep this hostel as clean as possible and they are really doing a good job cause the standard is very high!

I recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet small hostel with great location and clean. If you are looking for a hostel were to meet lots of new people you should go for the bigger hostels in the area. Enjoy your stay at Saman, I had a blast!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibzberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

There is an advertisement about Colombia that says that the only risk in Colombia is that you stay here forever.

None of the places I've been incorporates better this feeling as this hostel. A very friendly and spotless clean hostel in the center of the action in Calle 10. From here you can go anywhere in the city. The staff just makes you feel part of the family. And the ambience just atracts great people.

You know that a place is great when you stay a lot more then you expected... Hope you will have the chance to (over)stay here. You won't regret it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stran69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was very happy to spend twice one week in this hostel!
The place very clean, they have a full HD sceen to watch movies, news and football games in the big hall.
The hostel is very well-located in the Poblado, at 2-minutes' walk of the Zona Rosa (Parque Lleras).
The people at the hostel were a mix of international travellers and Colombians visiting the city.
The hostel can help you for the visit of the Peñol of Guatape as well as Santa Fe de Antioquia.
I would recommend the place to anyone who wants to party and to visit Medellin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanluc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hostel is perfectly located in the Zona Rosa of Medellin, in a safe area, with an active nightlife, The Hostel is well decorated and is very clean, the atmosphere is very familiar, the service is very good, especially the treatment of its receptionist Sandra Perez, who is better known as Cantalicia!!!! When you will be here ask for her!! She is so funny, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdgarOcampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Saman hostel is one of the best hostels we have ever stayed at. The staff is sooo friendly and helpfull, the hostel is charmingly decorated and spotlessly clean and the location is perfect. If we ever come back to Medellin we will definitely stay at saman hostel again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maipenlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.1 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#10 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#5 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
0.2 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#4 of 193 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saman Hostel Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saman Hostel Medellin

Property: Saman Hostel Medellin
Address: Calle 10d # 36-24 | El Poblado, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samán Hostel has a great location in Medellín in the heart of the most popular touristic district in Medellín: El Poblado. A clean, laid-back hostel that is just blocks away from the best shopping, restaurants and nightlife that Medellín has to offer. Two blocks far from "El Parque Lleras" where you will find tons of bars, restaurants, clubs and more! The friendly staff at Saman Hostel is always willing to share useful information and tips about enjoying the natural beauty and culture of Medellín and Colombia. We are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Saman Hostel Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing