We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experiences”
Review of Al Rojo

Al Rojo
Ranked #245 of 1,172 Restaurants in Medellin
Cuisines: Colombian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed experiences”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have eaten at Al Rojo on several occaisions. The first few times the food was good, pricey but good and the service at least adequate. The last couple of times the food was fairly good and the service bad. On one of the "good" visits they could not take my credit card because their "machine was broken" and the waiter does not tell me this until he brings the bill. That would have been good information to have before we started ordering. So, give it a try. It may be a good night there or maybe not.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Franklin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    71
    46
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“really bad food and service”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Went twice. wont go back. they dont add salt to the water when they cook their pasta. My mom knows to do that. I bet yours does too. They dont finish the pasta in sauce. That's pretty basic. I dont believe the pasta is even cooked to order. My last visit i ordered bruschetta. none of us ate it. the cheese was sour and it was more like a bad pizza a 5 year old would make in Home EC class. We didnt eat it. I ordered a mango juice. It was more sugar than mango. even the colombians that like sweet things thought it was REALLY sweet. I asked for another. the next one was exactly the same. to make it even worse, after 50 minutes of waiting, i asked where my pasta dinner was. They forgot to enter it in the 'system'. The service is like most restaurants in colombia, terrible. At that point we got up and left. There are lots of better italian places to go, like il Forno.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank neilelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great pizzas”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Try to have lunch in Al Rojo on Sundays at happy hour at Parque Lleras or El Tesoro shopping mall

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mau151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place to go for a wonderful steak with a side of pasta”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Had the Solomito Cerdeña with a side of pasta. I asked them to use the same sauce they use on the steak for the pasta. They were happy to accommodate a special request and prepared it wonderfully. Portion size was plenty. This is not typical Italian. This is Colombian interpretation Italian. Still very good. Restaurant sits on a corner in Parque Lleras with complete open views of the park. Pizzas are very good as well. Wait staff is on the ball. Natural juices are plenty and a better alternative with a meal than moist of us Americans are used to. They will even add your sweetener of choice if you prefer. 30% off your meal from 12noon-7pm! Please call if to confirm if this offer is still valid when you go. Lunch for two was about $30US. Great value.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Solid food and great ambiance for a casual meal”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This Italian restaurant, located across the street from Parque Lleras in the El Poblado neighborhood, was a great find during our stay in Medellin. We tried the pastas and the pizzas and liked it so much we went back a few times. It had great food, and an impressive wine list.

You can either sit inside or outside on the street-level covered terrace. It's large enough that it would suit larger sized groups for special occasions. They had some TV's which were handy to keep track of how our European football teams were doing. The staff was attentive enough, but not overbearing.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 007CatherineD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Rojo also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to Al Rojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing