We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Peaceful Garden in Medellin”

Jardin Botanico de Medellin
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Medellín by Metro: Botero Plaza, Botanical Gardens and Santo Domingo Savio...
Ranked #7 of 177 things to do in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Peaceful Garden in Medellin”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Jardin Botanico in Medellin is worth a visit. This place is free and it is amazing. Beautiful trees, flowers, bamboo, trails, lake. Go early in the morning when is cool outside. This is one of the best places to visit in Medellin

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DecoWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    958
    548
    262
    43
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Butterfly house is a must”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a beautiful trip to the gardens which must also look amazing at night when the Christmas lights are on. It's very well laid out and so relaxing. It's free to enter and the butterfly house was just incredible - being so close to the creatures and seeing all the their stages on display, very helpful and friendly staff. Saw iguanas, humming birds and plenty of other animals and birds. Well worth a visit. I would come back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marybeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Good Day at the Gardens”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I finally took the time to check this out on my 6th Trip to Medellin, I was not dissapointed..
I started with a walk around and through the Entire place, taking my time, Photos.. It was fun
The Day I visited their was also a Specialty Coffee Show in Center of the Park..Great Coffees and Jazz Music FREE.. Check when you are in Town for Events..
Also the Butterfly Garden was cool, letting you understand the LifeCycle of the Butterfly..
This is a MUST stop in Medellin..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoeWilmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely & a wonderful community experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

So many things about Medellin impressed me, but the botanical garden was a special experience. It's easily accessible from the Metro (which is the best way to get around) and is staffed by the nicest, most helpful people you could ever hope to meet. A friend and I wandered into the Science Center, wondering if it was open to visitors. We entered one of the labs, and instantly thought we had trespassed. But instead of being asked to leave, we were given a 20-minute personal tour of the archives of leaves and seeds gathered by the botanists that study and catalog Colombia's native flora. Back outside, we enjoyed the lovely butterfly house, the turtle pond and a wonderful exhibit about Colombia's major watersheds. AND all this is free! Whatever brings you to Medellin, go to Jardin Botanico.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place to study and relax”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Always lots of people around. Reasonably well maintained grounds. Worth checking out if you are looking for something to do. Is also located centrally near all of the Universities and the Planetarium....

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Espos_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin Botanico de Medellin also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Santa Elena, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to Jardin Botanico de Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing