We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most welcoming place”
Review of Su Casa Colombia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Medellin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Su Casa Colombia
Ranked #21 of 139 Medellin B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A most welcoming place”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Marcella and Noah started this venture fairly recently and they have made a great job in every respect. They are there to assist you in every possible way, ready with suggestions , maps and printouts first thing in the morning before your daily program.
The location is excellent in a safe residential area, a pleasant walk to the state-of-the-art metro system.
My room was nicely furnished with the finest bedlinen you can think of.
There are plenty of common areas within the house to make your stay as comfortable as possible

I told Marcella and Noah that I will remember Medellin as much for the amazing breakfasts that they prepared for me evey morning, as the sights and the great atmosphere of this city.
They are both such nice and knowledgable people who can connect with visitors in an instant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
55
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

For Latin America, Medellin is about as close as you can get to an urban paradise. The hosts Marcella & Noah at Su Casa are the most welcoming and genuinely warm & helpful you'll ever find. The rooms are excellent, the breakfast delicious and the location perfect. I can't recommend this place highly enough, the fact that I'm writing this review is proof of the quality as I never get round to it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank everybodyreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

As a young woman traveling alone, I was a little nervous about my trip to a new city. Noah and Marcela made it the best experience I could possibly have had. I felt safe and comfortable in their lovely, perfectly appointed home. What a great experience in an amazing city!

Thanks to Su Casa Colombia, I was able to have the best of a hostel (small number of guests, other solo travelers willing to do things together and share day trips) with all the conveniences of a lovely boutique b&b (GREAT breakfast, nice shared living spaces, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful owners) and all the amenities of a hotel (laundry on-site, room tidied, toiletries, uber-comfortable bed with a down comforter).

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Leave your worries at home, when you travel to Medellin. This safe, charming city is home to warm and generous people. Use it for a base to stay 5 days and learn about the area with Andres, owner of Land Venture Travel (see separate review), or for a quick turnaround while exploring Columbia. This is where Noah and Marcela come in. They have made it their priority to show their guests not only the ultimate in hospitality but, also, to provide any and all support necessary for their guests to feel safe and comfortable in a country just beginning to develop its tourism business.

As a single female traveler with no Spanish language skills, I was delighted to accompany Noah to the neighborhood market for breakfast items on my first day. This gave me a basic knowledge of the neighborhood, which is located near 2 Metro stops less than 10 minutes walk from Su Casa. I walked to cafes for lunch each day in different directions, always feeling safe. After Noah accompanied me to the ATM machine, I bought Metro tickets, which cost about $1.00 each. Buy several to avoid standing in line at the ticket window each time. I loved riding the Metro; such a clean and efficient way to travel around the city and up the cable cars to an astounding view. All this for $1.00!

Move Medellin up several places on your "travel list" and spend time with Noah and Marcela. You will have a great time; eat delicious, healthful food inexpensively and return home already anticipating your next visit to Su Casa Columbia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuCasaColombia, Owner at Su Casa Colombia, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review! We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful visit. We are always pleased to share Medellin with our guests and enthusiastic, warm, and friendly guests like yourself just make our job easy!

Thank you for choosing Su Casa Colombia and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

In the months before my trip to Medellin, Noah exchanged multiple emails and phone calls with me to provide me with information to make me feel comfortable. And from the time I arrived at the airport, the exerience was amazing! Noah and Marcela's home (Su Casa Colombia) is gorgeous and filled with beautiful memorabilia from generations past.
They walked me around the neighborhood, cooked me an amazing breakfast every morning, took me and other guests to the world-famous Medellin flower parade, to the most beautiful restaurant I have ever dined in, and to see live tango music at a circa 1930's venue that was something out of a classic movie. They treated me with such warmth and made me feel so special.
This was one of the most amazing weeks of my life, and the experience was so positive that I am making plans to make Medellin a second home. Thank you Noah and Marcela for making Su Casa Colombia my home away from home last week and for giving me such a beautiful memory. Big hugs to both of you !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We unhesitatingly recommend staying at Su Casa. My girlfriend and I stayed at Su Casa back in June and had a wonderful time. Su Casa lives up to its name because we were really made to feel at home (and the home is lovely and comfortable). While we did not have the chance to meet Noah and Marcela, Vanessa (who looked after the place) took great care of us and was very accommodating and friendly. Noah was extremely helpful with planning our trip to Medellin, and wrote lengthy detailed emails about what to do, what to see and where to eat. The included breakfast was very good and they accommodated my girlfriend's dietary restrictions. Su Casa is located in a nice residential neighborhood only a couple metro stops from the city center - we got a better feel of the city by staying away off the beaten path away from where the rest of the tourists and business travelers stay. The neighborhood was safe, and the quick walk to the metro went through the grounds of the soccer stadium and sports facilities, so it was well lit and always buzzing with activity. We would love to return...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuCasaColombia, Owner at Su Casa Colombia, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Vanessa took great care of you. She really has been a wonderful addition to the Su Casa team.

We appreciate you choosing Su Casa Colombia and when you return, we hope to be your hosts again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you are traveling to Medellin, and you want a truly authentic experience going tu "Su Casa" is a no brainer. Noah and Marcela are AMAZING hosts, and they make you feel like royalty. They care so much about making your experience so enjoyable. My partner and I have stayed at many, many "gay-friendly" establishments around the world, and we'd easily rank this as #1 hands down. If you go to Medellin (which by the way is a beautiful/safe/incredible city), you must go to their Family Finca as well. My one regret of the trip was not booking an extra night there --- a bunch of other reviews say the same thing.... now I understand!
I have never felt so sad to leave a B&B!
Noah & Marcela (and Birdle) --- you guys are simply the best, and we will definitely return to Su Casa. Thank you so much for your hospitality, patience, kindness, and warmth. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuCasaColombia, Owner at Su Casa Colombia, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
You said you have never felt so sad to leave a B&B and we can easily say the same about seeing you two depart. Birdle even shed some tears!

It was an absolute pleasure having you here and we're very happy that we could make your trip such a special one.

Thank you so much for your kind words. Su Casa and the Finca both await your return and you know we would love to have you here again! Hasta pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#13 of 105 in Medellin
627 reviews
2.6 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 105 in Medellin
263 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#7 of 105 in Medellin
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 105 in Medellin
687 reviews
2.6 mi away
Patio del Mundo
Patio del Mundo
#2 of 139 in Medellin
36 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#57 of 105 in Medellin
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Su Casa Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Su Casa Colombia

Property: Su Casa Colombia
Address: Calle 49c # 76A-64 | Barrio: Estadio, Medellin 050014, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Su Casa Colombia is a family run Bed & Breakfast located in a quiet, residential neighborhood of Medellin, Colombia. We offer our guests a friendly, comfortable, and authentic vacation experience and are always happy to help in any way possible. We have only 4 bedrooms and promote a warm, friendly, social (but not party) environment. We've hosted hundreds of guests from all over the world and have really enjoyed sharing our Medellin experience with them. Come stay with us and let us show you the best way to see and enjoy Medellin, Colombia! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing