We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay and play in Colombia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Estudio Su Casa Colombia
Ranked #6 of 160 Medellin B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I, along with a couple of friends, stayed at Su Casa. We chose to stay one night at the B & B and a couple of nights at the Finca. The experience was an absolute scene out of a movie. We canoed, hiked, rode horses, hung out in hammocks and had our own personal chef. Noah and Marcela were the perfect hosts and attended to our every need. Su Casa is so unique in its authentic atmosphere yet has all the comforts of home. I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone who wants a truly special and memorable experience in the beautiful country of Colombia.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 113 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

Su Casa in Medellin is a very good place to stay.
Noah and Marcela are very hospitable.
They can tell you everything about Medellin and places around, Noah does guide tours so he can show you a lot of places.
They are very friendly to children. We travelled with two small boys and although Su Casa is a B&B, they prepared some meals, really convenient for us!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenRozenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I just left Medellin after 2 nights and 3 days at Su Casa. I was referred there by a friend of mine who stayed last year and said I must come through and he was absolutely right.

I landed at the airport with my girlfriend where the driver they helped me to arrange was waiting with a sign with our name on it. Nicest guy. He drove us to the B&B. I got there and was immediately greeted by Noah and Marcella. They showed me my room (which was very stylish and cool and had the most comfortable bed I slept in on my trip which included the Fairmont Mayakoba and a 4 * hotel in Cartagena!). They gave me the tour of the whole place which was bigger than I expected. There was a pool room, an outdoor patio (two actually), a couch/tv room, space everywhere.

Noah and Marcella couldn't be nicer. They are more than just hosts, they actively engage you and make it their personal interest to ensure you have the best experience possible in Medellin. Noah actually spent the day showing us around (couldn't have done it without him) and pointed people in the right direction in whatever they wanted to do if he didn't go himself (eg. 2 people wanted to check out the bars all night and he gave them specific instructions as to where to go and how to get home).

The place is fine for all. There were people my age (late twenties) as well as people in there thirties with kids there, along with people in their 50's. All had a great time and got along great with one another aside from being from different countries.

All in all, I strongly recommend it to anyone going through. The entire experience was phenomenal!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuCasaColombia, Owner at Casa Estudio Su Casa Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay here! It was a pleasure having you and Dani spend time with us in Medellin. What you said about this being a place for everyone of all ages and nationalities is so true; we really try to cultivate a warm, friendly, familial atmosphere at Su Casa and we're very glad that you felt that. Thanks again for staying with us and we sincerely hope that you return...and soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We came to Su Casa for a 8-day vacation, not knowing on forehand what we could expact or really wanted to do. Noah and Marcella could tell us all about the city, the attractions, culture and the best restaurants and bars. On our second evening they even took us out to a local bar, that was a really great experience to see the real Colombia.

The B&B has a good location near the metrostation. If you want to travel by taxi, Noah and Marcella don't mind calling for a cab. They even order in pizza if you want. For breakfast you get delicious arepa's with fruit. And Marcella makes the best banana pancakes! We really liked the pool table. Just to play a game before dinner. Noah even tought us a new poolgame. Noah and Marcella are at every hour available for questions. And don't mind looking up information. They even had a map ready for us, so we could go everywhere we wanted.

After 4 days being in the city, they introduced us to the option to go to the family finca for 2 nights. This was the best decission ever for us to make. The finca was like paradise. Everything was so green, with beautifull flowers, animals and sights (everywhere you look). The people living on the finca took really good care of us. We felt like being in a 5 star hotel. You get real Colombian meals and can taste all kinds of local fruits. Noah and Marcella are nice people to hang out with and really want to introduce you with the Colombian culture.

We loved Medellin in December, because the Colombian people really like to decorate their houses and streets with Christmas lights. Near the river they have the most beautifull lights. That's really worth seeing to get the Christmas feeling.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rianne-Jos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

During my 8 month business assignment in Bogota, I had the opportunity to visit Medellin and found Su Casa on internet and immediately emailed for more information. Noah responded quickly to everything so had to try Su Casa. Noah and Marcela are two of the most interesting and knowledgeable people and we shared lots of common interests. They helped my plan activities so I got the most out of my 3 day visit (walking tour, reataurants, Boterio Plaza/Museo,etc). Loved the city, the weather and accommodations and the hosts.

Room Tip: Noah and Marcela know everything so ask lots of questions. And don't slam the taxi doors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB42256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband and I went with friends (another couple) to Colombia for over a week. We split our time across Bogotá, Cartagena and Medellín. In preparing online to go, we found Su Casa here on Trip Advisor. We were blown away by the great reviews and reached out. Noah responded right away, and we set up a Skype call to work through details of what we might want to do with our four nights in Medellín.

Instantly, we were struck by Noah's customer service, competency, knowledge and desire to showcase Colombia to the outside world. (The last point meant a lot in particular to my hubby, a native of Bogotá.) From that first call to over the course of the months in prep for our trip, Noah was excellent in his follow up and help, quoting multiple options and flexing with our changing plans... and our slow response times (he was always punctual!) Throughout our time in country before our last leg in Medellín, Noah remained in touch to offer proactive support and service to us, for anything we needed. (Which came in handy... as my husband who's been ten years out of Colombia faced some local paperwork issues for not updating his citizenship card, among other. Noah and Marcela did research to help us guide our time to the right offices needed.)

One we arrived to Medellín, truly we felt at home. We finally got to meet Noah and Marcela, and instantly all four of us guests felt like we were reuniting with old friends. The house in Medellín has loads of character and charm, is an oasis in the city, has wonderful beds and great showers. We enjoyed our first night up on their rooftop terrace chatting and sharing among the six, as if catching up from years past. Prior to spending the evening that way, Noah and Marcela helped us out with info per our preference, to advance on hubby's paperwork and also see some of the city. We self toured and found Medellín to be a place to definitely return to.

Second day there, Noah took us out to the finca for two nights -- an excursion very well worth the drive! About three hours from the city (and nicely broken up by a quaint pueblo stop), once you come up on the hill where the finca sits... you truly feel you've arrived in paradise. The views and ambience are singular. The finca staff were incredible. The food was fantastic. And the options - games, swimming, hiking, horseback riding, laying all afternoon in a hammack - were great. Just what we needed. And the feel of it is so personal, you claim it is your own retreat. On our ten-day trip, the finca was my favorite. And my favorite finca options: hammack and horseback.

In sum, to not continue with every last detail (though I could), we would highly recommend Noah and Marcela, Su Casa for the following reasons: (1) They are seasoned travelers themselves and know what travelers want. Their accommodations are very comfortable and appealing. (2) They are incredibly knowledgeable, but also have a robust family network to help out on anything new that comes their way. (3) They are incredible servants of their customer and will help in any way needed. (4) Most importantly, their hearts. Noah and Marcela have a very unique gift of hospitality and connecting with people. I would imagine they've never met someone who didn't (want to) call them "friends".

People make a travel experience, and Noah and Marcela were certainly the highlights behind ours in Medellín this trip. We wish them many years of success in the business, lots of new visitors... and can't wait to plan the next visit with them ourselves!

- Emily (& Diego)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Su Casa for three nights at the end of July, and had a truly awesome time. As other reviewers have noted, Noah and Marcela are terrific hosts, providing just the right level of hospitality and advice. The house and room were both very comfortable, stylish, and clean, plenty of hot water, fantastic Colombian breakfasts (arepas, local fruits and juices, coffee).

Before arrival, we Skype'd with Noah and he gave us a lot of helpful advice for our entire Colombian itinerary on issues ranging from the Bogota taxi system, to the best way to travel to the Mud Volcano from Cartagena, to advice for getting great photographs at La Cabelgata (Medellin's annual Horse Parade, part of La Feria de las Flores). Noah was also extremely prompt in responding to email inquiries, and arranged for us to get Under-20 World Cup tickets (which we couldn't purchase from the U.S.) Throughout our stay, Marcela and Noah gave us great recommendations on restaurant/bars, shopping, and cultural activities, even hand drawing maps for us when necessary.

The location of Su Casa is great - a very pleasant walk to the Metro station, and close to several streets with plenty of restaurant and bar options. The house is also a short taxi ride from most attractions, although be sure to use the handy map that Marcela and Noah created - we needed that for every cab. We really enjoyed staying in a residential neighborhood and getting to experience Medellin more like locals.

Finally, Medellin is a fantastic and surprising city, with great architecture, people, museums, food, culture, urban design, public art, and more. Our biggest regret on our 16-day Colombian trip was not spending more time here. Can't wait to go back, and we'll definitely be staying at Su Casa when we do - and hopefully we'll go to the finca next time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuCasaColombia, Owner at Casa Estudio Su Casa Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you so much for your incredibly kind words and detailed comments about our accommodations and services! It's always our goal to make you feel comfortable before, during, and after your Colombian vacation. We really enjoyed having both you and your wife stay here with us and certainly hope to have you back here again. As you said, we still need to take you out to the Finca.

Thanks again and we'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.9 mi away
Los Patios Hostal Boutique
Los Patios Hostal Boutique
#1 of 111 in Medellin
103 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#57 of 111 in Medellin
204 reviews
3.2 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#6 of 111 in Medellin
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#7 of 244 in Medellin
171 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
#28 of 111 in Medellin
97 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#11 of 111 in Medellin
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Estudio Su Casa Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Estudio Su Casa Colombia

Address: Calle 49A # 76A-64, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Medellin
Price Range: $22 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa Estudio Su Casa Colombia a beautiful Bed & Breakfast in Medellin Colombia. The house was fully remodeled two years ago with a hotel quality hot water heater for the new bathrooms and new fully loaded kitchen with every gadget imaginable. Each of the six guest rooms contain a full or queen size bed, an ample closet with safe, a 32 inch flat screen TV with HDTV, a computer desk and chair, ceiling or floor fan and Black out curtains. A twin bed can also be added to any room for an additional guest fee. Our diverse roster of guests ranges from international travelers and people studying abroad to digital nomads and internet entrepreneurs. We offer a full-service living experience at a very reasonable price. Included in the rent is full time maid service Monday through Saturday from 7am until 4pm which includes laundry service, all bath soaps and shampoos and laundry and household detergents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Estudio Su Casa Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing