We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Ranked #14 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Mobile, AL
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, conveniently located”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located near Parquet Lleras in the Poblado barrio of Medellin. While it is a nice hotel, it is not exceptional. The rooms are clean but shotgun type small. The bed was comfortable and no noise problems. The room had good "blackout" shades. The breakfast buffet was adequate but not exceptional. The staff was friendly but I was not even offered a copy of my bill at checkout.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwr1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairosecommerce, Director Ecommerce at Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest

It's a pleasure for us to have had your presence at our hotel.

Thank you for your comments. We hope your return the soon is possible.

Is important for us to have him back in our hotel.

We love you want to return to our hotel and you have found the hotel areas as pleasant.


Best regards,

JAIRO ARTURO SUAREZ B.
DIRECTOR E-COMMERCE
PBX.574-4481034
info@diezhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    238
    76
    39
    33
See reviews for
82
219
67
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

nice location in el poblado which is where you want to be in Medellin. Close to the famous hotel charlee on parque lleras which is where all the good restaurants, bars and nightlife generally is. walking safe even very late at night. this hotel has lots of commercial areas on the ground floor, a disco, club, sushi restaurants bars etc...but there is no sound insulation anywhere around the rooms, the staff know it's a problem but dont' seem to care or do anything about it. shame since the rooms are modern w/ nice showers and good beds views are decent too, breakfast nice (but limited variety)

Room Tip: high floor away from elevators and hopefully away from anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuapoBumsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, CANADA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spent a total of five nights at the Diez Categoria on two separate occasions in February. The hotel is relatively new and still has a feel of an operation wrinkling out a few glitches. That being said, it has many more positives than negatives.
On the plus side: nicely-outfitted rooms styled to separate themes for each floor. Fifth floor rooms are much larger and provide better views with the height. Breakfast on the rooftop patio is standard but of good quality; staff are unfailingly polite and friendly.
Negatives: Walls are a bit thin, and the elevator alert ringing can be extremely irritating if you're close. Tip: ask for a room at least six or seven rooms away from the elevators. The spa is extremely small, and the wonderful rooftop patio doesn't accommodate a large enough lounge area to sunbathe or read during the day. No swimming pool --only a Jacuzzi hot tub that was empty when I visited.
The check-in desk is a little small and overworked, particularly around check-in and check-out times.
But unless you're extremely picky, room quality and overall ambience are very good and you can find great discounts on the Diez website if you keep a close eye. Only three blocks from the nightlife zona rosa, yet just far enough that the booming music and all night revelers don't disturb you.
Overall, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairosecommerce, Director Ecommerce at Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest.


Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Best regards,

JAIRO ARTURO SUAREZ B.
DIRECTOR E-COMMERCE
PBX.574-4481034
info@diezhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL, the managers are thieves who refuse to do the right thing! I stayed there for three nights. After I left I realized that I had left a watch and an empty wallet in my room. The watch wasn´t expensive but it had sentimental value. I called them and they confirmed they had it and that they would ship it to me in Bogota. But only the empty wallet arrived and the shipping company claims they did not accept a watch in the package. Everyone at the hotel as been extremely indifferent and hostile in helping me, AFTER THEY SPECIFICALLY CONFIRMED THEY HAD THE WATCH. They are refusing to reimburse me for the price of the watch even thought it is not expensive. Even though I am in Medellin every month I will never stay here again! If you stay at this hotel make sure you watch you things!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcusBOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairosecommerce, Propietario at Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Respected Guest, in fact you forgot your wallet and watch in the room and they were sent to our lost and found department in order to be sent back to the owner upon due claim; this was done on February 12 of 2013 by guide number 033001076577 Envia Mensajeria y Mercancias and such a delivery was receipt at the address given you by the buildings doorman presenting no damage or comments regarding the conditions of the envelope used. Having said this, Diez Hotel CC is not responsible for articles left behind by our guest and we go out of our way to help them, but by no means, this procedure turns our employees into thieves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

No way I can give the Diez less than 5 Trip Advisor bubbles. Cool and almost nerdy hotel, yes I know the carpets are all specifically designed to reflect the theme on each floor, alongside the exposed concrete blocks, they make it look a bit like prison inside (sorry but it does)

I have to take my hat off to this place for their staggering attention to detail and sticking their noses out and doing something different and uniquely Colombian whilst maintaining a level of expectation beating international quality.

Super views from the top floor, great breakfast, location is excellent without being too close to Lleras.

Friendly staff let you run up to the top floor for an urgent caffeine fix at 7am whilst looking like you have slept in a bush. No complaints at all (apart from the toilet roll holder is wobbly in room 117)

Room Tip: Room tip? I personally think the mountain view is better than the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyBogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairosecommerce, Director Ecommerce at Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest.

Receive a cordial greeting and the best wishes from DIEZ HOTEL CATEGORIA COLOMBIA in Medellin.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to our City, at the same time, we would like to thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor web page. Your reviews are important to improve every day the quality in our services.

Our commitment with you and all our guests is work hard every day to make the hotel the best in the city.

We hope you visit again our hotel and our city.

Best regards,

JAIRO ARTURO SUAREZ B.
DIRECTOR E-COMMERCE
PBX.574-4481034
info@diezhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

An interesting hotel with different ecological location themes on each floor. Rooms are big and unusually designed - although a lot of empty space which could have been filled with additional useful furniture (e.g. chairs, desk/table). Breakfast buffet on the roof was pretty good, and the staff were very attentive and helpful. Location in El Poblado is great, 5 minutes walk from the Parque Lleras with its bars, restaurants and clubs providing some of the best nightlife in Medellin. Slight snag that the walls seem pretty thin, as noise from the corridors and other rooms was quite audible, but otherwise no real complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ND1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairosecommerce, Director Ecommerce at Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest

It's a pleasure for us to have had your presence at our hotel.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to our City, at the same time, we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor web page. Your reviews are important to improve every day the quality in our service.

We hope you visit again our hotel and our city.

Best regards,

JAIRO ARTURO SUAREZ B.
DIRECTOR E-COMMERCE
PBX.574-4481034
info@diezhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a very nice stay in February, booked on Expedia for $100/night, which compared to the Hotel Charlee down the street, was a bargain! The hotel is clean, comfortable, trendy and thematically interesting (each floor features a different region of Colombia). Breakfasts on the roof were good, as were the views of Medellin. Staff was friendly and most spoke English. Taxi drivers seemed to know of the Hotel, so we had no problems with getting around. All in all the hotel exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWorldIsMyOyster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jairosecommerce, Director Ecommerce at Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

It's a pleasure for us to have had your presence at our hotel.

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope your return the soon is possible.
Your reviews are important to improve every day the quality in our service.

We hope you visit again our hotel and our city.

Best regards,

JAIRO ARTURO SUAREZ B.
DIRECTOR E-COMMERCE
PBX.574-4481034
info@diezhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.4 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#13 of 105 in Medellin
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#15 of 105 in Medellin
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 105 in Medellin
697 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 105 in Medellin
690 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#8 of 105 in Medellin
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia

Property: Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Address: Carrera 10a 34-11, Medellin 050014, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing