We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best experience!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is the first review I have ever written to Trip Adviser. I can only rave about Hotel Diez...the room, service, and then the following experience. Medellin was out last hotel after 3 wonderful weeks in Colobia arranged by Metropolitan Touring.When I arrived home, I was missing my wallet! Thinking credit cards, ATM card and money was lost, I cancelled all. Two days later I received a phone call from Estefan from the hotel Diez that my wallet with credit cards, money, etc. had been left at reception on check out and please advise how to return to me in US. The wallet was mailed to Bogota to David Perez, my Metropolitan Touring contact in Bogota, who arranged for the wallet to be mailed to him, and yesterday I received my wallet with everything in it. I am a travel agent and travel interenationally 4 to 5 times a year all over the world. This is amazing. I can only praise Hotel Diez and Metropolitan Touring for honesty and diligence in returning my wallet. If you are traveling to Colombia- Diez Hotel and Metropolitan Touring - one of the best and now safe destinations I have visited.

Room Tip: all rooms are superb - modern -
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    238
    76
    39
    33
See reviews for
82
219
67
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great value, the staff was very helpful. The rooms are a good size and clean. The resturants at the hotel are great for breakfast or a quick snack, we did not eat dinner there.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC201206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Great Hotel when visiting Medellin.
Room are spacious, nice design, very clean.
Beds are very comfortable, a bit hard.
The hotel have a very nice view from the rooms or the Spa in the roof top.
Great service as well.

The only complain was the Hottub in the roof top. Poorly maintained.
Our legs were hitching for about an hour after using it.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The hotel is unique and interesting by design with themed floors and from a cost performance point of view, it is very good value however there are a few faults.

1. The lack of soundproofing is the top of the list - I could head people clearly talking in other rooms both from the room and the hall and hear the water running in the pipes and unfortunately someone singing in the shower.

2. The restaurant was hopeless for dinner, it wasn't a proper restaurant, just the breakfast area with service from the people completing room service.

3. They didn't have tourist information, not even a map of Medellin.

4. The bathroom is only cornered off my frosted glass, so you can clearly hear the noise from the bathroom and see the light when it is on.

5. The quality of the large blinds were poor, the one in our room was broken and had to be fixed on arrival. Upon use, it was clear why it was broken.

Flaws, aside, the hotel was suitable for the price, the concept is great however the execution is a little off. They do however have a small gym, plunge pool and a business centre which is always a plus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little_General_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This hotel is fantastic for the price. The rooms are clean, modern & have everything you would expect from a top hotel but still a boutique hotel. The breakfast was also very good. There are a lot of restaurants on site (which we didn't try) & within a 5 minute walk you are in the centre of the restaurant/bar area Parque Lleras. The hotel is in a great central location in El Poblado. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The only thing preventing a five star rating here was the lack of sound insulation. I could clearly hear all conversations and door closings in the hallway, my air conditioner rattled like an old car, and the hydraulic lines flushed right through the wall adjacent to my room. Granted, I am sensitive to noise, so none of this may bother you.

The staff are helpful and courteous, the breakfast is wonderful, and the room is clean and modern. A good value overall.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jonchaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay, CA and Southern Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Before deciding upon a place to stay in Medellin we researched the various options available and also checked with a good friend who had contacts here. We ended up initially planning to stay in a less-expensive small "boutique" hotel also located in the Zona Rosa for the first week of our trip and then switch to the highly-recommended Hotel Diez for a luxury wind-up to our vacation. But after two nights in the smaller hotel in a very cramped room we decided to switch early to the Hotel Diez.

And what a great decision that was! We found ourselves situated in a mini-museum posing as a hotel. Each of the 5 floors of the hotel is decorated in a theme representing a different part of the country of Colombia. We leisurely wandered each floor, perusing the professionally-designed displays and coveting the carefully selected regional items. We enjoyed staying in two different rooms in the hotel (separated by a trip to Cartagena) and appreciated each for its unique atmosphere. And oh, the breakfasts! Each morning we enjoyed a buffet of fresh fruit, a huge selection of breads and sweet rolls, the local hot rice and bean specialty (paisa), and eggs cooked to order, all washed down with fresh fruit juice, coffee and hot chocolate.

The hotel offers not only free wifi, but also free local telephone calls, free public computers, and free printing on a laser jet printer. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is situated an easy 5-minute stroll from the famous Parque Lloras with its abundance of fine restaurants and night spots. We also found the 20-minute downhill walk to the sparkling new Metro station an enjoyable occasion to observe the hustle and bustle of the city, but we must admit to taking advantage of the $.85 bus ride back up the hill to the hotel. Most of the reception staff speaks adequate English, and the bellhops excel in providing local tips in excellent English.

We hope to again visit Colombia in the future and will definitely include another stay in this great hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have soundproof windows, sunscreen curtains, and blackout curtains. The 5 suites, one per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toucanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.4 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#15 of 105 in Medellin
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#14 of 105 in Medellin
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 105 in Medellin
696 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 105 in Medellin
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#5 of 105 in Medellin
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia

Property: Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Address: Carrera 10a 34-11, Medellin 050014, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing