We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lipstick on a pig”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed May 31, 2011

As one of the few crazy enough to travel to Medellin, I stayed at this posh, new boutique hotel in the heart of the most affluent and gated section of the city. The boutique hotel certainly looked the part, but the electronic keys do not work, even after two attempts to have them fix the problem. The first time the concierge said that they would fix it the next day. (Why does it take them 24 hours to give me another magnetic card is beyond me.) The pillow cover was stained, and had to ask them to come change it. The wifi was good, although they changed the password without informing the guests and wasted my valuable time going down to the desk to get another login. The room looked swanky with a hammock - and had ceiling to floor windows but it was not sound proof and the traffic in the morning woke me up at 6am. The room also smelled of VOC. Off gas-ing and made it hard to breathe. The toilet flush was weak - don't know why - (poor Colombian engineering?) which was disgusting and really made it unpleasant to use the bathroom. Breakfast was good but the gym closed very early - certainly didn't make it inviting for the guest. All in all, lipstick on a pig.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freqtraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (781)
There are newer reviews for Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 781 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2011

Excellent hotel, located in the best area of the city. Excellent staff, rooms. Great breakfast. Great views of the city

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Wonderful. After the awfulness of the Park Hotel in Santa Marta this was like finding paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonsaysNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We arrived in Medellin without booking a hotel as we weren't sure where it was best to stay. This was the hotel that had caught my attention on tripadvisor but it didn't have many reviews. The hotel was easy to find and we decided to stay one night although we were so impressed that we ended up staying an extra night. The hotel is about 5 months old and in a location which is safe and in easy walking distance of restaurants and bars. There is ample secure underground parking which is free for hotel guests. Medellin is a wonderful city and our short trip was made all the better for staying in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecommerceoperar, Ecommerce Director at Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2011

Thank you for your comments and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tifernate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgemiroQ, Servicio al Cliente at Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Maria Fernanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgemiroQ, Servicio al cliente at Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DebraB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgemiroQ, Servicio al Cliente at Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#13 of 110 in Medellin
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#15 of 110 in Medellin
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#5 of 110 in Medellin
297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#9 of 110 in Medellin
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#48 of 110 in Medellin
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia

Address: Carrera 10a 34-11, Medellin 050014, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: $64 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing