We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place where to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Medellin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Art House Medellin
Ranked #84 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Cochabamba, Bolivia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy place where to stay”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The arthouse in Medellin is very comfy located in Envigado in la magnolia, excellent facilities, comy rooms, good bathrooms, always clean. Really near to "la Zona rosa de Envigado of Food and Party", near to the principal park of Envigado many supermarkets and off licences around the house, nice two terraces, friendly locals in the neighborhood, I spent about six months due to a job I've got in Medellin and it was really heplful in al senses. I highly remomend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARCO8644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Arthouse Medellin is a very nice, comfortable shared apartment in a great area to live, located in a nice neighborhood in Envigado, just outside Medellin. I stayed there for 2 months and loved that the neighborhood did not have hostels, hotels, or guesthouses, just locals going about their daily life. It was a great way to experience local life from the small tiendas for fruits and vegetables, butcher shops, and supermarkets, to the plazas, small restaurants and nightlife. The bus to downtown, El Poblado, or the metro station is just 2 blocks away.

The apartment is kept clean, has 2 hammocks for recovering from a night out or just an afternoon nap, rooftop terrace with a grill (but I doubt your burgers and ribs will be as good as ours were :) ) and a nice common area with a large flat screen. There is also a large information board in the dining area with loads of information about the area. I highly recommend the Arthouse rather than staying in some of the touristy areas, and I think you'll appreciate how friendly the locals are around the neighborhood!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed at the Art House for almost 6 months and really enjoyed my time there. Its peaceful, clean (maid 2x/week) and close to public transport. I recommend it for short-term stays in Medellín if you are looking for something in between a hostel and apartment.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the quietest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sal930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We extended our stay here twice we loved it so much. The house is great with a really nice rooftop terrace. The location was perfect, lots of restaurants and a short taxi ride to Poblado. It was great meeting Todd and Veronica, and also the other guests that stayed in the house. Todd was full of useful information about Medellin and the surroundings and always keen to invite us out. We would definitely go back and also recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We came for a week and stayed for three months, it's that type of place. Great apartment with four bedrooms and a small casita up on the terrace, huge kitchen and living areas, more bathrooms than you'll ever need and a terrace overlooking the wonderful crazy world of Envigado. Don't stay in Poblado, it's too glitzy and sterile, experience real life in Envigado with some of the friendliest people you'll meet. Great for gyms, restaurants (don't miss Lucio, carrera 43a) and to get everywhere.

Room Tip: If you like creature comforts, choose room 1 or 2. If you like something more rustic and private, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I agree with all the comments made here. I'll add that for those seeking to enjoy Medellin, Envigado and Sabaneto, The Art House is the perfect location. You are a 10 minute bus ride to Parque Lleras, 15 minutes to Sabaneta and Envigado itself is great to explore to get a real taste of Colombia and Antioquia.

Regarding the apartment, two supermarkets are a 5-10 minute walk away and there are dozens of places to buy fruit, vegetable and other necessities within a block radius. A lot of thought was put into the apartment to make sure that everything in your home is here (ironing board, iron, a big mirror at the entrance for the ladies, corkscrew, hot water!)

But note that this is not a place to party. The house is quiet most of the time (the stereo can sometimes be a little loud) but you'll get a good night sleep here. If you want to party, there are a lot of bars in the neighborhood (note not discos). Check out some of the video bars or salsa places. Most important, enjoy your stay...I sure did!

Thank you Sebastian for taking good care of the place!

Room Tip: Book early. This is a great secret and they are now only accepting reservations for 1 month periods
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 04274108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed nearly one week in Art House Medellin and would have stayed more if possible. It was like feeling at home. It's not really an hotel but rather a shared appartment with a kitchen fully equipped, a terace on the top with a BBQ, big living room, free use of washing machine and a very spacious room. It was really nice staying there ad we really enjoyed this experience. We did not see a cleaning lady during these 5 days (and with shared bathroom we would have liked to see her more) but apparently she comes more often. If you are looking for a place to relax and settle a bit, you have to go there. You need to be autonomous as nobody is there to tell you what to do but you can ask to other guests anyway.
The neighborhood envigado is a really nice area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mimimundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.9 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#46 of 105 in Medellin
622 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#5 of 105 in Medellin
264 reviews
1.8 mi away
Torre Poblado Hotel and Apart hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lleras Green Hotel
Lleras Green Hotel
#71 of 139 in Medellin
33 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
Calle 10 Express Hotel
#62 of 210 in Medellin
4 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lleras Park Hostal
Lleras Park Hostal
#37 of 139 in Medellin
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Art House Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Art House Medellin

Property: The Art House Medellin
Address: Transversal 34 Sur, 33-39 Apt 301 | La Magnolia Envigado, Medellin 0000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Art House, newly opened September 2010. Being two seasoned travelers from America and Australia, we believe we have created an amazing guest house which offers fellow travelers an authentic experience of Medellin life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing