We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sky Medellin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sky Medellin
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was a perfect hotel for a weekend visit to Medellin. My room was well laid out and comfortable. The decor was contemporary and well designed. I particularly loved the shower - it was large and easy to shower in. The location of the hotel was good and there was a really great market across the street. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice. The free wifi was great and the free breakfast was very nice. I was a little surprised that many of the front desk staff did not speak English, but my Spanish is good enough to muddle through. I would highly recommend this hotel for cost, comfort and design.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 801 which is on the top floor and on the corner of the hotel. It was the PERFECT r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYCWebDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKYPLUSMED, Gerente at Hotel Sky Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios.

Como usted bien lo dice, nuestro hotel es ideal por precio, calidad y por la calidez de nuestro personal.

Nos complace informarle que gran parte de nuestro personal de Recepción ya habla ingles.

Cordial Saludo,


Carlos Alberto Bolívar Herrera
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 85 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here for two weeks on a business trip. The location was perfect for me since it was three doors away from my company's Medellin office, across the street from a great supermarket, and a few blocks from some great restaurants.

The hotel is clean, modern, friendly, and simple. No pool or gift shop or restaurant, but that's part of the reason it's such a good value. They include a breakfast with some authentic local foods (and a cheerful staff).

The rooms are generously sized with modern designs and even a functional kitchenette (2 burner gas stove, microwave, and small refrigerator). The shower is a "wet room" design and climate control is provided by a mini-split heat pump.

This was my second stay and I'll be back the next time I'm in the city.

By the way, there is no swimming pool, but I couldn't uncheck the pool rating!

Room Tip: I slept on a low floor on the street side, but have lived in cities and sleep soundly anyway. I pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

but....... before you book make sure you request the ones that are not facing the street.
the first night I got there I had unit 804 , very nice room but noisy. so they moved me to unit 803.
nice city view day and night. rooms are great. I would recommend it but only the ones that are not facing the street. also staff very nice. breakfast was good . very nice and attentive staff. close but not to close to all the noisy spots.

Room Tip: rooms not facing the street are the ones to get . odd number rooms. 803 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here at beginning of August for 8 days for a Wedding with the bride, groom and his parents and (his aunt who came from Canada) the bride was from Medellin and we had a fantastic time. Our check in was great - we arrived at 9.30ish in the evening and we didnt have to wait to be checked in - it was done speedily and we were in our room within 15 mins.We had a Junior suite which was great and a small kitchen. I asked for a coffee machine the next day and it was there within 10 mins. I also asked for an iron and ironing board and this also came within 10 mins. The service and Front Desk was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them to do if we asked for it it was done. The rooms were clean and we had a balcony which was great. A couple of slight downsides was the buffet breakfast (which although was included in the price) could do with a few more extras like fruit juices, cooked etc - but what we did have was good and the omelette and scrambled eggs etc was cooked for us straight away. The only other downside was that a couple of times the shower (hot water didnt work a couple of mornings - it was cold) but apart from that it was a lovely hotel. There was a supermarket opposite which was great. The hotel was at the top of a hill (lovely views of Medellin) which was great exercise walking down but a bit tiring walking back up. Best thing was the taxis which were so cheap we used them nearly all of the time. Best food was Mondongos which was brilliant and cheap and also Crepes and Waffles which was also brilliant. We were there also for the flower festival which is a must to see absolutely fantastic. Also the storage space wardrobe etc was very good We would go there again and apart from the location of the hotel wld stay there again. There was brilliant supermarket at the bottom of the hill just a few minutes from the Metro called Exitos which was brilliant and you could buy practically anything in this supermarket fantastic. The Metro was also brilliant and cheap as well.

Room Tip: Go for a Junior Suite large comfortable rooms and good storage space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed 7 nights during the flower festival, the staff at this location are great whatever you ask for they will accommodate. Woman at front desk Luisa speaks English and is very nice and friendly.
Breakfast was included in price and was very good, wi fi very strong signal throughout hotel room, café and lobby,
This is not your typical United states Best western this is a 3 to 4 star hotel.
what the hotel lacks the staff makes up for in their service.

Room Tip: Stay away from third floor 303 304 especially if you are a lite sleeper, the lobby does get noisy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I spent my vacation at this hotel and was very impressed by the level of service and attention to detail that it had. It started with its location, which was very close to a lot of main attractions, restaurants and even a full supermarket right across the street. Welcomed by the attendant, check-in was a breeze, unlike other hotels I have been in the past in the area. The room was huge, nice and clean. Bed was comfortable and sheets were new. Breakfast was delicious and always had fresh fruit and all kinds of bread. I had to print some documents and the business center was readily available. Hotel staff made sure my vacation was complete and the hotel had great information on sites and tours to visit. For its value, location and service, this hotel captured my 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2Always_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Medellín has be come an importante destinación for conventions and precisely this was the reason for my trip. Found the hotel by chance and after reading the reviews I decided to make the reservation. It has been a great find! The rooms are huge, clean and modern. Location is good in the Poblado neighborhood. Breakfast is nice with fresh fruit and juices. The best of all is the staff. They were helpful with the nicest attitude. I specially thank Luisa Fernanda in the front desk and Julian. They were exceptionally professional
The Carulla supermarket across the street is very convenient. This property is for those that are not expecting to use pools, bars or restaurants in the hotel. A good night sleep is guaranteed in a very nice air conditioned room, with wifi in the rooms, and all basics covered. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tata2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.6 mi away
The Morgana Poblado Suites
The Morgana Poblado Suites
#37 of 111 in Medellin
132 reviews
1.2 mi away
LQ Hotel by La Quinta Medellin
2.3 mi away
Hotel Acqua Express
Hotel Acqua Express
#33 of 111 in Medellin
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Select Viaggio Medellin
Grand Select Viaggio Medellin
#29 of 111 in Medellin
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Medellin
Hampton by Hilton Medellin
#21 of 111 in Medellin
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Granada
Hotel Plaza Granada
#71 of 111 in Medellin
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sky Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sky Medellin

Address: Carrera 30 9a 47 | Medellin-Antioquia, Medellin 050021, Colombia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Skyplus Hotel)
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: $47 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sky Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sky Medellin Hotel!Discover the Sky Medellin Hotel, a brand new hotel that offers the ultimate technology for the executive traveler who also seeks comfort and spaciousness. Our hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi, 50 square meter suites, kitchen, LCD television, work desk and all the amenities that the executive needs to make their trip an unforgettable experience. Our modern and exquisitely furnished rooms will fulfill your expectations. Our hotel's excellent location and connectivity allow you to move through the city with convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sky Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing