We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City garden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Casa Ram

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostal Casa Ram
Ranked #61 of 121 Medellin B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“City garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Casa Ram hostel / hotel is close to public transport, across the road from a suermarket and an easy place to stay.
In less than ten minutes you can walk to the meto station and go to the cable car that takes you up to the crowded, noisy, fascinating area on the side of the mountains.

Jorge and Pablo are a very helpful and speaks English. The kitchen is well equipped with a central island of three gas rings.
Great shower block wth sunflower heads, almost instant hot water rwith good pressure. The dorm sleeps 14 in 7 bunk beds. There are no windows but open wooden slats high in the wall. Guests sleep with the heavy steel door open. It feels safe and secure.

The pool and garden are a bonus. It is easy to forget the city is just outside the front door.
The Casa Ram was one of three hostels recommended to me by the young man at the tourist office in the bus station. It was a good choice and I stayed four nights

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynUnderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    3
    1
    9
See reviews for
6
14
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
helvetia61
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

i staied in this hostal for a week in february. The hostal is awsome with a private garden that realy make you feel in peace, the room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpfull . in a 10 minutes walk you can reach the metro station of el pueblado that brings you everywhere. The locacion of the hostal is great in a very good neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helvetia61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Jorge is a wonderful welcoming and helpful host at this attractive hostal. It is in an attractive setting with mature trees and a swimming pool. My room was clean with an excellent bed and the communal showers were the best I had in Colombia. Ensuite rooms are also available. Breakfast was good and internet was available, as was TV. There is a fantastic supermarket called Carulla just metres from the front door with absolutely everything you could wish, including warmed pan de queso for a cheap supper. For a range of excellent hamburgers, there is an upmarket hamburger "restaurant" next door. I recommend this hostal.

Room Tip: Room 2 was up outside stairs and easy to reach the shared showers. Cost was 70 COP (£24.00) includi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colibriAndalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here with my sister for a weekend, and it was perfect for us. We had a private room and bath, but they have the dorm style rooms too with a shared bath. It is just a couple blocks off the main streets in Poblado, so easy to walk around for going out at night. It's also walking distance from the metro station, so that was nice too. There's also a nice common area outside by the pool for hanging out. It's also located right next to a little stream, so it's a nice peaceful sound when you're hanging outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten_Y326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

If you are staying in Medellin you could do a lot worse than to choose Casa Ram. We got a really good deal thanks to trip advisor which for us made it an excellent price also.

The service and staff were excellent and English was spoken which is pretty rare in our experiences of Hostels in Colombia.

The hostel has a great courtyard and pool area which is perfect for relaxing and is less than a five minute walk from the main bar and restaurant area.

We found the hostel a little hard to find as it is not that clearly sign posted. Look for the fluorescent "hostel" sign next to the burger bar not a casa ram sign (it doesnt exist) and you will be fine ;-) It is behind the supermarket next to the Esso garage and not at the top of the mountain as google maps suggests.

We had a double room with ensuite which was nice with a cool round window overlooking the river. The bathroom was a vaulted brick area. It did not have a wall or curtain separating it from the bedroom so for those who are shy it will mean trips out of the room when nature calls ;-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dansdreamworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Casa Ram is the kind of secret location that can make everyone happy. The place is very clean and the staff nice and helpful. I can only recommend this place as it is more than a normal hostel because it has some nice features like worm shower (it had been a while) and a little swimming pool that can help relaxing after some hectic night in the next door Zona Rosa.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed at casa Ram for 2 weeks in march 2012. I felt welcomed from the start, the staff is very friendly and social. They look after you and help with whatever you need. I payed 70.000pesos for a private without bathroom. It was basic but very clean. The only bad thing about it was the roof wich was very low. However they have other more luxurious rooms if you are willing to pay 20.000 pesos more. The hostel is very fresh and has got a nice pool. the kitchen is big and I had lots of room to store my food in the refridgerator. Just outside the hostel lies the supermarket pomona wich is very convenient. its a 5-10 minute walk to the zona rosa and all the clubs. Overall I am very pleased with my stay and can recommend it to anyone who want a nice stay when visiting medellin. I also want to say that I never felt unsafe during my 2 week vacation. There are alot of friendly people!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreasgringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
3.3 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Conquistadores
Hotel Conquistadores
#49 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel
Mediterraneo Hotel
#56 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
In House
In House
#14 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#67 of 103 in Medellin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#4 of 191 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Ram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Ram

Property: Hostal Casa Ram
Address: Calle 11 A No. 42 -05, Medellin 00574, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Casa Ram 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ram is a an oasis of nature and tranquility just 5 minutes away from all bars and restaurants from 'El Poblado'. Here you can also enjoy the comfort of a hotel at the price of a hostel.We have a large and diverse offer of accommodation suited for budget-wise travelers until private suits from people looking for more space and more intimacy. Everybody can enjoy of our swimming pool during sunny days. We have spacious, design, comfortable common rooms as well as a bar and a restaurant. The central part of the hostel is a large patio where you can discuss with other guests or simply enjoying the sun while listening to the birds that comes to our oasis of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Casa Ram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing