We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mondongos, and Bandeja Antioquena”
Review of Mondongos

Mondongos
Ranked #18 of 1,160 Restaurants in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Colombian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mondongos, and Bandeja Antioquena”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had to have this if you are in Medellin. Service was very fast even though we are visiting during the festival de las flores. Food was good, we were very happy to have some authentic Colombian food in a good place. Location is great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachJunky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    487
    164
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennington, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A classic”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I try to always make at least one stop at Mondogos whenever I visit Medellin -- the menu is simple and there's nothing fancy to the presentation, but the execution of the traditional Colombian dishes it offers is excellent. Oddly enough, I don't really like Mondongo so I usually go for the grilled pork or grilled chicken. Meat and sides are always simple and great. Juices are great too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide traveler
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“An eating experience”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

On my first trip to Colombia, I was taken to Mondongo's by my Colombian friends. I like exotic foods and this fit the bill. It was a very enjoyable experience. It was pretty expensive for soup but eating something very local was interesting and educational.

What I like best was the fact that although I was eating something exotic, I knew it was cleaned and prepared properly.

I saw a lot of locals there and I knew it must be a great place to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
142 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Locals seem to love this place but we thought it was average”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This large restaurant on Carrera 10 had a line of people waiting for lunch at 1 p.m. After getting several recommendations and seeing the line, we returned at 3 p.m. with high expectations. Unfortunately we were not impressed at all. The churrasco beef I had was barely average and the small potato, green tomato, and fried banana were nothing special.
My wife had fish and thought it was ok.
Service was average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SilverLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go for the mondongo”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Tried the mondongo here and can attest that it lives up to the hype. Very tasty! My other half had the steak churasco and said it was just okay. Go for the mondongo!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelMksWorkWorthIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondongos also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to Mondongos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing