We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to give a try to a Bandeja Paisa”
Review of Mondongos

Mondongos
Ranked #17 of 1,172 Restaurants in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Colombian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Medellin, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to give a try to a Bandeja Paisa”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

One of the best restaurants for trying the Bandeja Paisa (red beans, avocado, bacon, rice, egg, potato, meat and plantain)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mau151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    498
    168
    38
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fast, typical plates”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I had the small Mondongo and my husband had the plato tipico (aka bandeja paisa). The food came quickly. It was just okay, though. I wouldn't not eat her again, but I wouldn't seek it out, either.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank bakujess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Half is enough!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

If you are in Medellin don't miss the opportunity of teast a very traditional dish called "mondongo" that is like a soup of small slices of sheep intestine with potatoes and served with avocado, banana and rice (or arepa). Really a huge meal, so my recommendation is only order half portion i.e. the picture. Price is not high ~ 8 USD, and service pretty fast. Have to try and then let me know ....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hardy good fun”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I loved this restaurant because it was true to Colombian roots . I went with locals who told me they enjoyed the authenticity and I kept licking my fingers because the mondongo was great.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stayhappy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Traditional Food”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I ordered a platter of traditional food and enjoyed it. I thought the seasoned ground beef was delicious and especially good. I didn't try the included fried fatback, but overall enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondongos also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to Mondongos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing