We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and calm down”
Review of Geo Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Geo Hostel
Ranked #12 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice place and calm down”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hi everyone, if you are looking for a place to resting, this is a good option,


It was an excellent place to sleep, incluyed a breakfast and it was good

I stayed 2 nights and I enjoyed so much

Go to that place and look for yourself

You will fine a Jacuzzi no the 3er floor, around the Hostel you will fine restaurants, some pubs and more.

Close to this place you will find Lleras Park, there is a lot of clubs, pubs and places to have fun

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardkapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    45
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
8
44
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hostel is basically new. Offers wonderful facilities. Clean bathrooms on every floor. Good space to hang out on the terrace overlooking the city. Great location, less than 10 minutes away from the subway station. Located in the wonderful part of Medelling. Close to many good restaurants. English speaking staff was of great help when we tried to rent a car in the city. There is an Exito supermarket right by El Poblado stop, it is a good place to buy fruits and other groceries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Staying at this hostel now, so thought it was a good time to write a review. This hostel is brand new and rooms come with hotel-quality amenities including great hot showers with good pressure, beautiful sinks, brand new furniture all over the hotel etc. There is a good hangout area on the top floor which is open without doors or windows that includes a jacuzzi (wasn't operating end of November 2012 - they said it does when it's hot out) and a flat screen TV, water dispenser, couches, seating areas, etc. There is also a new kitchen downstairs and 2 free computers with internet on the second floor in addition to free WiFi, tea, etc. Prices include basic breakfast - we didn't think it was noteworthy though (pastry and drink). There are a bunch of options for private rooms and some dorms have ensuite bathrooms. However, there are plenty of bathrooms all over the hostel, so not having one in your room is not a big deal. They are all hotel quality bathrooms.

There are a few downsides, which may not matter to you. It really depends on what you're looking for. I'll list them:

- The hostel is in the prime Poblado neighborhood, but a good 20 minute uphill walk from the nearest metro stop (Poblado). Since most people take the metro daily to see the city, this is a downside. However, this location is within 1-3 blocks from all the bars and restaurants in Poblado, so it makes it easy to go out at night by foot and stumble home.

- There isn't much of a backpacker atmosphere. You can definitely create one if you come in with your own group as the amenities are there, but there is nothing created by the staff or owners that creates any sort of a backpacker scene. If you're traveling by yourself, you may meet someone in your dorm, but it's probably much easier at other places like the Black Sheep hostel.

- There is no soundproofing anywhere which means sound carries all over the hostel whether you keep the windows open or closed and most windows face inside the hostel. The ones that face the street are very loud due to street noise. This seems to be a common problem at hostels in Colombia. Bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.

Bottom line is that this is a good place to stay if you're looking for a brand new hostel with hotel-quality amenities....i.e. if you've been on the road for a while and want to get a good home quality shower, aren't looking to meet lots of people, and don't mind the longish walk to/from the metro.

Room Tip: Not facing the street if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartcooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I can't rave enough about this hostel. Staff is great. Rooms resemble that of a 3-4 star hotel rather than a hostel. Very clean. Location is unbeatable. Value is also unbeatable. A bit loud at night but that is due to the unbeatable location and the fact that our room had an entire wall consisting of a picture window overlooking the best part of the city that we left open all night. Love love love this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place was in a great location, near tons of bars and restaurants. The neighborhood is very safe and there is a lot to do. It was also very clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast was served in the morning. The staff was extremely helpful in giving directions and suggestions on places to go as well as helping us figure out our next leg of the trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayded44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have stayed here many times and always enjoyed it and think the location and service have been excellent. Extremely clean and friendly.
However, this last trip was quite different. We only stayed one night.
Even though we had reserved a Geo Suite on the front side, but we were given an interior suite with no windows and a noisy floor airconditioner.
The staff was not friendly in any way and talked very loudly about personal issues in the entry and staircase where the sound carries like you are in the same room. This was most of the evening and well into the night.
There is a lovely sala on the top floor of the building, great place to hang out. Unfortunately the large and noisy group who was staying there partied until around 2:30 in the morning. The only reason they stopped drinking and singing was because we called the staff and complained. After another 1/2 hour of shouting and crashing around, including knocking on our door numerous times, it finally got quiet. We got up around 7 and left.



  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Geohostel was the best $40 hotel/hostel I stayed in during a tour of Peru/Colombia/Bolivia. The accommodations look exactly like the website, computers with internet are available at no cost, the rooms are modern and clean, with hot water! Area wise you could not have picked better, as it was only a short walk to the main square with all the restaurants/bars. The only downside was the noise as we had a street facing room and it got very noisy when cars drove by, on the plus side it wasn't a super busy street. Regardless, for $40, there is no doubt in my mind that we will recommend it to anybody!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnipeg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.1 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#5 of 107 in Medellin
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
In House
In House
#18 of 107 in Medellin
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Torre Poblado Hotel and Apart hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 107 in Medellin
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#4 of 228 in Medellin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geo Hostel

Property: Geo Hostel
Address: Carra 35 8A - 58 | El Poblado, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Geo Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Geo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing