We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellow House Hostel
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good basic hostel”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Two of us recently stayed for a few days at the Yellow House in a private room with bath. The manager Vince is helpful and active around the hostel. A nice garden area is in the rear. There is very good security overall since Vince or his assistant must let you in or out of the place by unlocking the front gate. Our only complaint has to do with the two large dogs that live at the hostel. They are very people friendly but whenever someone walks past the front door, usually after dark, they bark like crazy, and their very loud noise is heard throughout the hostel. So if you don't mind loud barking erupting at random times the Yellow House will be fine for you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank debonair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YellowHouse H, Owner at Yellow House Hostel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear guest,i thank you for posting your review about our hostel,not enough poeple do it so i really apreciate it.
I would like to add a little clarification about the dogs,they don't shout night and day but it 's trueh that between 18h and 20h they are more awake,but you should have told us this when you were there,there is nothing more simple to keep the dogs in another part of the house,you were in the front room,the one with the balcony (which is my favorite),it is true this room is closed to the entrance door and the street so it might be more noisy sometimes,i apologie about this,
I would like to say to every one that in most cases the problem is easy to solve if you let us know when you are on the spot.i could give another room easily or put the dogs in the backyard.
I would like to remind that our priority is to accommodate everyone in a comfortable bed in a clean bedroom and a clean house (even if we have two dogs), where you will not be disturbed at night time during your sleep by party seekers not respectful of others, it goes without saying that our main preocupatiuon is that each costumer leave very satisfied with his stay,
thank you for reading me,
Vince.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    31
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
38
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After reading a lot of good reviews, we went to this hostel. It is close to a metro station and in a residential area, not too far from a supermarket. The two dogs are very cute. There were a lot of people in the hostel, which had only one bathroom for everyone. There was a constant cue for the shower. The kitchen wasn't clean and ants were crawling out of the cutting board. The garden was nice and it was nice sitting outside in the evening. The owner is a nice French guy. We left after the first night because we didn't sleep well.
We had a bussiness card for this hostel which said there would be a pool table and breakfast was included. Both things were not true, so we were a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lobke_and_Inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YellowHouse H, Owner at Yellow House Hostel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
dear guest,thanks for your review,
i am sorry for all these improprieties,sometimes the hostel is full and sometimes it is empty,when it's full the house is a little bit more messy as the kitchen or the bathroom,if several persons want to have a shower a the same time,that makes a cue,
now about the free breakfast and the pool table,we don't have the pool table any more,we made a dorm instead,and we don't includ breakfast anymore,but how can we do if you have an old business card in your hand and if we made some changes since so,if you had told me about the breakfast,i would have included without any problem,as we allways do in this case,it is easyer to talk about this face to face when you are still in the hostel,you left a low rating for the room and cleaness,i clean the house night and day and the kithchen is cleand everyday several time,and our beds are confortable,i am ready to offer the all stay to the one who will show me that the hostel is dirty somewhere,thank you,
vincent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We used this place as a base while visiting the West coast and coffee country in the South. Vince the owner is really accommodating. When we turned up one day early from our original booking he managed to squeeze us in even though the hostel was fully booked. The hostel is very clean, adequate number of bathrooms with hot showers and good WIFI all round. Most important the beds are good! Breakfast is not included in the price but you can pay extra for a range of options, you can also use the kitchen and laundry is also available. Its situated 2 streets away from Floresta Metro, lots of restaurants, supermarket and the stadium.

Room Tip: Might need earplugs as some people wake up really early and talk as if they are the only ones stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beedz317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here based on reviews from trip advisor, overall we were happy with our decision. The first night we were in a tiny room with no natural light, we were disappointed with this room however we did arrive late so thats the room that was left, the owners both acknowledged it was not a nice room and they would move us as soon as possible. We were much happier with the second room which was large with a window. Unfortunately the first night in this large room was a little noisy as people were speaking outside right next to our window at midnight even though there were signs not to use the communal areas after 10pm for that reason, so I don't think it's the fault of the hostel at all. The breakfast is additional cost but great breakfast and excellent value. Location safe, close to restaurants and metro station. friendly and helpful owner. We were fully aware that this was a hostel not a hotel so i dont expect the same leaning service, but when you put toilet paper in the bin I really think the bin should be changed daily, especially in hot weather, even if the room is not cleaned. Overall though I think this is good option if you are on a budget, Medellin is not a cheap place so I think for Medellin this is a good value place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

After spending 2 miserable nights at another hostel in Medellin, we moved to the Yellow House Hostel and couldn't be happier that we did. Unfortunately our time in this city has been marred by sickness, so we really just wanted to find someplace comfortable where we can nurse ourselves back to health, but also convenient to local attractions for when we felt up to moving about. The Yellow House Hostel is perfect. It's very clean, and you would never know that its home to 2 beautiful, sweet, and harmless dogs. They take pride in being in a chill, non-party hostel, so rest assured, you will sleep well here. We had a private room with shared bathroom, and the bed is comfy and the room very large. The hostel is literally 2 blocks from the Metro and super close to a ton of great restaurants, cafes, and supermarkets. It's also nice being in the middle of a safe and lovely residential neighborhood- it's a nice change from the bustling downtown area. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My husband and I had a delightful time at the Yellow House where we were warmly welcomed by Vince who is patient and helpful in every way. We had been on the road for more than two months and welcomed the opportunity to cook for ourselves in the kitchen that Vince makes available to the guests, but he also prepares a delicious breakfast for those who wish to be served up their morning meal. It's also possible to get your laundry done at the hostel for a very reasonable price. The room was very clean and comfortable and the neighborhood is really safe and leafy and two short blocks from the subway (which is key to enjoying Medellin which is a huge. sprawling city with a "centro historico" that is culturally wonderful but with almost no middle priced hotels at all. ) The neighborhood where the Yellow House is located is attractive and we found at least ten restaurant options within a short walk of the hostel.

Best of all, we greatly enjoyed the company of the other guests in this small hostel who included Japanese, Australians, and U.S guests. (We were the only Canadians in this period) The other guests were great fun and it says everything about the atmosphere in the hostel that we all connected so well despite the fact that some of these folks were at least 35 years younger than we are !

I should also say that I am not a huge dog person, but Vince's dogs are really friendly and winning (especially Tomas) and I was sorry to see them bad-mouthed in one of the other comments posted on this site.

All in all, it was a wonderful choice to come to the Yellow House and it influenced us to stay in other hostels in the course of out travels

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Hostel is set in a residential neighborhood, but close to the metro. Good if you're looking for a different experience to that of the Zona Rosa area. Rooms are good size, we had a double. Owner is cool and makes a good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
#34 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.7 mi away
International House Medellin
4.1 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#5 of 202 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
4.5 mi away
Waypoint Hostel
Waypoint Hostel
#4 of 202 in Medellin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almarita Guest House
Almarita Guest House
#1 of 134 in Medellin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow House Hostel

Property: Yellow House Hostel
Address: Cra 81a N 47a-48, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Yellow House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing