We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yellow House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Turnhout, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After reading a lot of good reviews, we went to this hostel. It is close to a metro station and in a residential area, not too far from a supermarket. The two dogs are very cute. There were a lot of people in the hostel, which had only one bathroom for everyone. There was a constant cue for the shower. The kitchen wasn't clean and ants were crawling out of the cutting board. The garden was nice and it was nice sitting outside in the evening. The owner is a nice French guy. We left after the first night because we didn't sleep well.
We had a bussiness card for this hostel which said there would be a pool table and breakfast was included. Both things were not true, so we were a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lobke_and_Inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YellowHouse H, Owner at Yellow House Hostel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
dear guest,thanks for your review,
i am sorry for all these improprieties,sometimes the hostel is full and sometimes it is empty,when it's full the house is a little bit more messy as the kitchen or the bathroom,if several persons want to have a shower a the same time,that makes a cue,
now about the free breakfast and the pool table,we don't have the pool table any more,we made a dorm instead,and we don't includ breakfast anymore,but how can we do if you have an old business card in your hand and if we made some changes since so,if you had told me about the breakfast,i would have included without any problem,as we allways do in this case,it is easyer to talk about this face to face when you are still in the hostel,you left a low rating for the room and cleaness,i clean the house night and day and the kithchen is cleand everyday several time,and our beds are confortable,i am ready to offer the all stay to the one who will show me that the hostel is dirty somewhere,thank you,
vincent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    32
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
39
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We used this place as a base while visiting the West coast and coffee country in the South. Vince the owner is really accommodating. When we turned up one day early from our original booking he managed to squeeze us in even though the hostel was fully booked. The hostel is very clean, adequate number of bathrooms with hot showers and good WIFI all round. Most important the beds are good! Breakfast is not included in the price but you can pay extra for a range of options, you can also use the kitchen and laundry is also available. Its situated 2 streets away from Floresta Metro, lots of restaurants, supermarket and the stadium.

Room Tip: Might need earplugs as some people wake up really early and talk as if they are the only ones stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beedz317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here based on reviews from trip advisor, overall we were happy with our decision. The first night we were in a tiny room with no natural light, we were disappointed with this room however we did arrive late so thats the room that was left, the owners both acknowledged it was not a nice room and they would move us as soon as possible. We were much happier with the second room which was large with a window. Unfortunately the first night in this large room was a little noisy as people were speaking outside right next to our window at midnight even though there were signs not to use the communal areas after 10pm for that reason, so I don't think it's the fault of the hostel at all. The breakfast is additional cost but great breakfast and excellent value. Location safe, close to restaurants and metro station. friendly and helpful owner. We were fully aware that this was a hostel not a hotel so i dont expect the same leaning service, but when you put toilet paper in the bin I really think the bin should be changed daily, especially in hot weather, even if the room is not cleaned. Overall though I think this is good option if you are on a budget, Medellin is not a cheap place so I think for Medellin this is a good value place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

After spending 2 miserable nights at another hostel in Medellin, we moved to the Yellow House Hostel and couldn't be happier that we did. Unfortunately our time in this city has been marred by sickness, so we really just wanted to find someplace comfortable where we can nurse ourselves back to health, but also convenient to local attractions for when we felt up to moving about. The Yellow House Hostel is perfect. It's very clean, and you would never know that its home to 2 beautiful, sweet, and harmless dogs. They take pride in being in a chill, non-party hostel, so rest assured, you will sleep well here. We had a private room with shared bathroom, and the bed is comfy and the room very large. The hostel is literally 2 blocks from the Metro and super close to a ton of great restaurants, cafes, and supermarkets. It's also nice being in the middle of a safe and lovely residential neighborhood- it's a nice change from the bustling downtown area. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My husband and I had a delightful time at the Yellow House where we were warmly welcomed by Vince who is patient and helpful in every way. We had been on the road for more than two months and welcomed the opportunity to cook for ourselves in the kitchen that Vince makes available to the guests, but he also prepares a delicious breakfast for those who wish to be served up their morning meal. It's also possible to get your laundry done at the hostel for a very reasonable price. The room was very clean and comfortable and the neighborhood is really safe and leafy and two short blocks from the subway (which is key to enjoying Medellin which is a huge. sprawling city with a "centro historico" that is culturally wonderful but with almost no middle priced hotels at all. ) The neighborhood where the Yellow House is located is attractive and we found at least ten restaurant options within a short walk of the hostel.

Best of all, we greatly enjoyed the company of the other guests in this small hostel who included Japanese, Australians, and U.S guests. (We were the only Canadians in this period) The other guests were great fun and it says everything about the atmosphere in the hostel that we all connected so well despite the fact that some of these folks were at least 35 years younger than we are !

I should also say that I am not a huge dog person, but Vince's dogs are really friendly and winning (especially Tomas) and I was sorry to see them bad-mouthed in one of the other comments posted on this site.

All in all, it was a wonderful choice to come to the Yellow House and it influenced us to stay in other hostels in the course of out travels

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Hostel is set in a residential neighborhood, but close to the metro. Good if you're looking for a different experience to that of the Zona Rosa area. Rooms are good size, we had a double. Owner is cool and makes a good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Really nice location, close to the Metro station (safe to walk to and get to the centre of the city, even for a girl traveling on her own). You get breakfast in the morning, served outside in the sun. really nice family atmosphere, Vincent and his wife with his 2 kids are really welcoming and will give you tips about where to go, organise a trip to local places, book taxis and even paraglading (OMG this was such an awesome experience). Shower and internet access. Only one laptop but to be honest, why would you want to stay in instead of going out!
His family and dogs make the place feel cosy and like part of the family (although if you're allergic to dogs, maybe consider one of the private bedrooms).
All in all wicked place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capucine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
#29 of 107 in Medellin
92 reviews
4.5 mi away
Waypoint Hostel
Waypoint Hostel
#2 of 228 in Medellin
206 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#4 of 228 in Medellin
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
International House Medellin
3.9 mi away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
1.0 mi away
The Wandering Paisa
The Wandering Paisa
#16 of 228 in Medellin
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow House Hostel

Property: Yellow House Hostel
Address: Cra 81a N 47a-48, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Yellow House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing