We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and excellent atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellow House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yellow House Hostel
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and excellent atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

The Yellow House Hostel is simply great. First of all very friendly and relaxed hosts. Peaceful, quiet location and safe residential area, 2 minutes away from Metro Station La Floresta that quickly gets you to most of the touristic sites. Basic rooms but clean and comfortable. Exactly what I am looking for. Great common areas, terrasse with bbq, living room with flat screen, free internet. 2 wonderful dogs, friendly, clean - added security !

Not a party hostel, but good vibes. Definately would recommend it. Owner will help you with whatever you need. Had an excellent 3 nights stay in Medellin. Cool city, cool hostel.

Thank you Vince and Catherine


Chris from Montreal Canada

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandzman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    30
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
35
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

i was in medellin in march and went there to stay away from the torist trap el poblado so i opted to visit the yellow house because it has so many good riviews on trip adviser which i always look for when i visit somewhere new.the hostel is very clean the rooms are spacios and very bright,there is plenty of chiling out areas including a garden which i spent alot of time in ...a nice way to forget you are in a city..it is hard to discibe the owner he is so helpfull and well it seems like a home when you are there and that is what hostels should be like..we had bbqs ,games ,dvds,and a lot of fun..the location is 1 minute walk from the metro...perfect...i would like to thank vincent and his girlfriend for making my stay in medellin so special..i have traveled for 5 years all over the world and i would say this hostel is up there with the best i stayed in .....bit of advise stay away from the gringo centre and visit this area your stay in medellin will be alot nicer!!!1

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davejonsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Vincent, the owner of Yellow House Hostel could not do enough for us...to the extent of breakfast delivered to our room!! He had plenty of information on places to go, coffee on the go whenever we wanted and took pride in keeping the highest level of cleanliness.

At the time of our stay there were 5 people staying in total which was a nice amount for people who do not know each other. I think if the hostel was full it may become a little claustrophobic however during our time there it really felt like our own little family away from home. The dogs Matthias and Tomas are crazy but loveable and always wanting to play!

Great location as it was quiet compared to other hostels which are all surrounded by nightlife. Also close to the metro and cheap cab fares mean that you can get anywhere easily for very little.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneliseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

Just off to the metro system in Medellin was an excellent hostel I stayed at a few weeks back called The Yellow House Hostel. The couple that run the establishment Vince and Katalina were excellent and run the hostel with topnotch performance. It was very clean and welcoming therefore I decided to extended my stay there.

Breakfast was included with the stay which made a great start for the day for sightseeing of Medellin. Even if you want to adventure outside of Medellin Vince was very knowledgeable since he travelled all over Colombia which made him a great tour guide. In the hostel there was great wireless signal which helped me contact my friends and family home. While my pictures were being downloaded on facebook I had a chance to play with the very friendly dogs at the hostel. Thomas and Metias was the names of these beautiful and clean dogs which was very respectful to guest. The rooms were very clean and I was even able to use an extra pillow without any problems to help me sleep. Sleeping wasn't a problem anyways since this was an organised hostel and not a party hostel.

During my travels in Colombia this was among my favorite hostels I stayed at and I recommended it to all other travelers I met along the way.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acadianjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

I had a terrible experience at the hostel called Yellow House in late January. All those glowing reviews influenced my decision to make a reservation to stay there for 2 weeks. Firstly, the hostel turned out to be a private home with rooms for rent and 2 large furiously barking dogs greeted me at the door. I was shown to my "private room with bath" which turned out to be a dorm room with a bunk bed and a double bed. The gray and wrinkled sheets looked like more than one person had slept in them before me. On the wall there was a large cheesy painting of a nude woman which in no manner could be explained as art. The "private bath" was actually a connecting bath to yet another dorm room, now empty. The owner became very irritated at me in his rapid fire Spanish with yet another accent when I didn't understand what he wanted to explain to me. The single knob of the shower was broken and had to be fiddled with to operate. Fortunately, I had given the phone number previously to a friend who lives in Medellin and she called a few minutes after I arrived. I whispered "Help....please get me out of here"! She said she would be right over.

I would have been the only woman guest there and the other renters were older european men in baggy shorts and bare feet who looked like they were all struggling pensioners. Music was blaring loudly and the house smelled like dogs. I waited for my friend outside of the house for about an hour and noticed every time anyone left or rang the bell, they had to wait for the companion of the owner - keeper of the keys - who would lock and unlock the door after quieting the two canines. When I was in the process of leaving with my luggage, the owner insisted I pay him $47,000 pesos because he said he had turned down people because of my reservation. He continued ranting and arguing with me even after I said numerous times that I would pay him. All in all, this place is not even suitable for the most impoverished tourist. Although it is located near a metro, it is a long way from the center of Medellin or El Poblado where everything is happening. There are a number of inexpensive "real" hostels in El Poblado that would be a much better choice than this terrible place with its aggresive and hostile owner. The photos on his website are deceptive and why no photos of the bedrooms? Don't be fooled by the glowing reports of his pals because it would be hard to find a place worse than this in Medellin!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cazadora07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mablonde, Owner at Yellow House Hostel, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
hi everyone,my name is vince,i am the owner of YELLOW HOUSE HOSTEL,
as trip advisor suggested it to me,i want to give my version of this comment,
as any hostel,we welcome our guests in a house
the house where we welcome our guests is our own house,me and my colombian wife welcome people this way,
we have two very nice dogs,which are a 2 years old labrador,and a 9 month golden reitiver,as humans we talk,as dogs they shout,
we don t welcome guests in dirty sheets,our private rooms are for one,two,three or four persons,so there is one double bed and a bunk bed in each private room,
nobody waits a the door to come in,
concerning this woman,she has been sent by a very good friend of mine,from cartagena,but my friend own a hotel,
and this woman didn t know anything about what a HOSTEL is,she is a hotel costumer,not a hostel costumer,she was about 70 years old(which doesn t mean anything to us,we use to welcome any age persons) ,this woman arrived a 11 in the morning,she took the room,left her luggage in the room,went for a walk and she came back at 5 in the afternoon,and wanted to go out with her luggage,saying she won t pay anything,arguying that the hostel is very bad,when someone check in a room and use it for several hours,it is normal to pay the room, even if this person didn t spend the night there,we are a very small hostel,so we cannot keep rooms empty a the last moment,
if anyone arrive in my hostel and doesn t like the place,i agree,i know the zone very well,it is very easy for me to find a place made for everyone,
our house doesn t smell dog,
we listen to music ,
our showers work very well,and they are very hot,
we are in a quiet residential zone,the opposite of the poblado party district,
which is a good other option for those who don t want to be mixed with only tourist and foreigners
our hostel is very small,which means that we are very close to any costumer,
we do our best to give the best atention to every one,
one last detail,everything is not all the time good,but neither,everything is not only bad,as the comment the lady left about me,
thanks for reading me,
Vince.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Katerine & Vincent are two lovely persons who are doing their best to make your stay like you never left your own home. Vincent coffee is excellent

Diana y Antonio

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony_pais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medellin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2010

Being in Yellow house hostel is like feel a little bit at home. The place is hold by a franco colombian couple who bring the home sweet home atmosphere in a residential street, at 2 minutes walk from the metro station which bring you everywhere in the city in 15min for 1250 pesos. The advantage is that once you're back home, you can sleep well and relax in a quiet place and enjoy a breakfast in the garden. Sometimes when we travel we'd like to be in a place just to feel good and being like home and not just in an hostel. Vincent, the french ownen is full of energy and just starting his hostel will do the maximum to provide you the best service and give you a nice breakfast. Katerine his compagne will give you the colombian touch and their dog, a budy to play with... I spent really good time, sharing diner with them or movie, playing backgammon or just making a bike tour in the city. Now we're ike lfriends. Just try and you'll see.
Alex (France)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alescJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medellin
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
#36 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Porton del Sol
Hotel Porton del Sol
#2 of 7 in Santa Fe de Antioquia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.4 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monkey Hostel
Monkey Hostel
#1 of 21 in Santa Fe de Antioquia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#4 of 191 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.7 mi away
International House Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow House Hostel

Property: Yellow House Hostel
Address: Cra 81a N 47a-48, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 191 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Yellow House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing