We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of 61Prado Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
61Prado Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Couldn't believe what we got for our money at this place. We had the junior suite (I think) which was absolutely huge and had two great beds - after staying in a few hostels it made a very nice change! Located close enough to all the things we wanted to see in Medellin that we could just walk, all great. Just for the sake of resting our feet we ate in the restaurant at night which had a really nice atmosphere and was a decent price for some very good food. There's a sitting area up on the roof which is pretty nice with a beer in hand and all the lights of the city in front of you. We weren't in Medellin for the nightlife but more to see things during the day, so this was perfect for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10bobrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for 61Prado Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 282 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed here on several occasions, and I have never been disappointed. The value factor is through the roof! For a great price, you are treated to a true guesthouse experience. Lucas and crew have worked to create a unique atmosphere in a rebuilding area. Speaking of the area: You are within a few blocks of the Metro, a 5-10 min walk to Villanueva (Western Union, etc) as well as Plaza Bolivar. The area at night can be kind of empty and sketchy. I would recommend taking a (very cheap) cab anywhere, though I have wandered down to the Prado station at night for some grilled street food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had seen Prado 61 featured on the latest Lonely Planet Edition of Colombia. We decided to give it a try, especially because it is only a few blocks away from downtown. However, most of the city's modern and stylish places are south of the city (a 15 min taxi ride).
Breakfast was great and rather cheap (about $3.50 USD), nice internet connection and even a small collection of fine wines.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotelito M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My recent stay at the 61 Prado exceeded my expectations! Excellent in every way! The hotel lobby is very classy, and we were really happy to have super clean modern rooms with comfy bed, a big screen TV. The hotel's staffs Ophelia and Luc were lovely, very accommodating and went above and beyond! -- and the hotel itself has a lot to offer -- a dining area with very delicious food, they serve breakfast and dinner . The hotel is very close to the Metro Station and Downtown. It's a fun, five-star experience. Hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

61Prado Guesthouse is providing excellent value for money since it has spacious (renovated) rooms, all the mod-cons (tv,wifi,hot water), a good restaurant and very friendly staff.
I read a lot "complaints" about the neighbourhood in which this hotel is situated but for me, it added to the feeling what Medellin is about; the rich and the poor mixed together.
Yes, you could pay a lot more and move yourself to Poblado trying to keep the "real" world outside but myself, i go for the convenience of Prado's location (metro is 5 minutes away and Botero Plaza only a 10-minute walk) and the excellent value for money.

Concerning safety: just use common sense like you should use everywhere when walking to the hotel at night and you'll be just fine....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connick_41111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a week. Had single room 309. Great for me but bring blindfold!! Noise?? Can't tell us as I'm Deaf.
I concur with most positive feedback on this place.
Lux Is one cool dude.
His crew is superb!
Very home like atmosphere.
Clean clean place.
Took several meals here because its a super value. Gregarious and expressive chef.
Drinks on honor system-pay at the end.
I can aver this is a safe neighborhood. Walked home several times at night alone. Nary a shady character to be found. Employ common sense of your surrounding.
Prado Metro rail a few blocks away.
Hilly terrain but walkable. Watch where you step at all time or suffer a twisted (or worse a broken) ankle.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtles_Dragonfles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Perfect hotel with excellent rooms, good hot shower. Very good value for money. Amazing Administration, but hotel is located in a shady area especially at night. Views from rooftop chairs are amazing. Close to central Medellin, but many homeless people around.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
2.5 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#8 of 110 in Medellin
1,068 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 110 in Medellin
734 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
#29 of 110 in Medellin
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#56 of 110 in Medellin
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Conquistadores
Hotel Conquistadores
#55 of 110 in Medellin
48 reviews
4.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 61Prado Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 61Prado Guesthouse

Address: Calle 61 50c 50A-60, Medellin 050012, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Medellin
#9 Business Hotel in Medellin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: $22 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 61Prado Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European guesthouse offers very good value and a relaxed and classy atmosphere. Conveniently located in the hart of Medellin close to all tourist attractions. Excellent metro and bus connections to all parts of Medellin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 61Prado Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
61prado Guesthouse Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing