We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable and Cozy Place to Stay At”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 61Prado Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
61Prado Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Vallarta
1 review
“Very Comfortable and Cozy Place to Stay At”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had seen Prado 61 featured on the latest Lonely Planet Edition of Colombia. We decided to give it a try, especially because it is only a few blocks away from downtown. However, most of the city's modern and stylish places are south of the city (a 15 min taxi ride).
Breakfast was great and rather cheap (about $3.50 USD), nice internet connection and even a small collection of fine wines.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelito M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    94
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
94
60
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

My recent stay at the 61 Prado exceeded my expectations! Excellent in every way! The hotel lobby is very classy, and we were really happy to have super clean modern rooms with comfy bed, a big screen TV. The hotel's staffs Ophelia and Luc were lovely, very accommodating and went above and beyond! -- and the hotel itself has a lot to offer -- a dining area with very delicious food, they serve breakfast and dinner . The hotel is very close to the Metro Station and Downtown. It's a fun, five-star experience. Hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Popayan, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

61Prado Guesthouse is providing excellent value for money since it has spacious (renovated) rooms, all the mod-cons (tv,wifi,hot water), a good restaurant and very friendly staff.
I read a lot "complaints" about the neighbourhood in which this hotel is situated but for me, it added to the feeling what Medellin is about; the rich and the poor mixed together.
Yes, you could pay a lot more and move yourself to Poblado trying to keep the "real" world outside but myself, i go for the convenience of Prado's location (metro is 5 minutes away and Botero Plaza only a 10-minute walk) and the excellent value for money.

Concerning safety: just use common sense like you should use everywhere when walking to the hotel at night and you'll be just fine....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connick_41111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a week. Had single room 309. Great for me but bring blindfold!! Noise?? Can't tell us as I'm Deaf.
I concur with most positive feedback on this place.
Lux Is one cool dude.
His crew is superb!
Very home like atmosphere.
Clean clean place.
Took several meals here because its a super value. Gregarious and expressive chef.
Drinks on honor system-pay at the end.
I can aver this is a safe neighborhood. Walked home several times at night alone. Nary a shady character to be found. Employ common sense of your surrounding.
Prado Metro rail a few blocks away.
Hilly terrain but walkable. Watch where you step at all time or suffer a twisted (or worse a broken) ankle.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtles_Dragonfles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Perfect hotel with excellent rooms, good hot shower. Very good value for money. Amazing Administration, but hotel is located in a shady area especially at night. Views from rooftop chairs are amazing. Close to central Medellin, but many homeless people around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

The best place I've stayed in colombia bar none!

Amazing large rooms and big beds in a beautiful old building. So comfortable, clean and stylish. Incredible 'restaurant quality' food. All the staff so friendly, professional and yet very chilled out - very welcoming from the moment you arrive. And all at amazing value too!

The location is brilliant in the day, a proper colombian experience rather than some of the more polished and touristy parts of the city. Is close to a lot of the sights. At night it is close to red light district but far enough away! It is easy and cheap to get a taxi, and very close to metro.

Well done prado61, they are really setting the standards.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matthew_kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic Value rooms $50US for huge king size beds. Lovely staff who were very attentive.

Breakfast was pretty average so would recommend you go to some of the local restaurants.

Hotel is a converted house so noise can be an issue. And the shower is lukewarm if many people are getting up at once.

Would have scored this an excellent if for the fact that the staff did not tell me they did not accept Credit Cards, They waited until the night I checked out to tell me. What? This is a hotel.

So I had to go and get cash from an ATM in the pouring tropical rain late at night. Not keen on walking around with hundreds of dollars in my pocket in central Medellin. Very irresponsible of the staff, I was absolutely livid (but politely said nothing). Also hard to find ATMs that accept certain cards.

Not hard to pre-warn people of the payment options, so that payment and cash can be secured in a safe location. So that issue brings the score down.

Other than that well worth the stay if you are on a budget and you like a bit of grit (suburb wise).

Unlike some of the earlier reviews there are not hookers everywhere. Just beggers.

Also close to the Prado Station but wasn't much point because you have to cue for your tickets, so I just got taxis.

Room Tip: Ask for the King Rooms. Street side is noisy but I sleep through everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lord_Espos_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
2.5 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#6 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#1 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#15 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
4.2 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#2 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#11 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 61Prado Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 61Prado Guesthouse

Property: 61Prado Guesthouse
Address: Calle 61 50c 50A-60, Medellin 050012, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Medellin
#9 Business Hotel in Medellin
#12 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 61Prado Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European guesthouse offers very good value and a relaxed and classy atmosphere. Conveniently located in the hart of Medellin close to all tourist attractions. Excellent metro and bus connections to all parts of Medellin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your 61Prado Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
61prado Guesthouse Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing