We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”
Review of Art Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Hotel Boutique
Ranked #45 of 104 Hotels in Medellin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Art Hotel is a stylish and well-priced option in Medellin. It's located on a quiet street off Parque Lleras in the El Poblado neighborhood, which makes it ideal for walking to the surrounding restaurants and the El Poblado metro stop. While the neighborhood is lively and has many eating/drinking options, it feels pretty touristy, but that's the price you pay for safety.

The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. I think some of the rooms can be quite small, so if space is an issue for you, request a larger room. The room rate includes breakfast, which is pretty standard. There is also free wi-fi.

The hotel staff is very friendly, if not the most efficient. Check-in and check-out took longer than what might be considered normal at a large, chain hotel, but it wasn't so bad as to be an issue. The bigger issue was the construction, which started very early in the morning and was loud enough to wake us up. The staff probably should have warned us about this when we were booking, or at check-in at the very least.

Overall, while there were some hiccups with the service, I would still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are very small, so go for a larger room is space is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enkayenwhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos agrada que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel ,los esperamos en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Medellín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    190
    99
    45
    39
See reviews for
55
211
69
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel is OK, if you don't mind the noise outside and inside, but there are far better hotels for similar prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saw184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos agrada que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel ,los esperamos en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Medellín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Loved it, spent the first night in Medellín in the 4 points by Sheraton down near Oviedo Mall. Was a bit disappointed with the location so moved up to the Art Hotel. Awesome design touches, great service, nice breakfast & a completely unique experience. Bed wasn't as nice as the 4 comfort bed at the Sheraton but I don't much care as everything else was better.

Car service booked from the hotel is a bit overpriced, I walked into Parque Lleras and just got a taxi back to Rionegro

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyBogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión, nos agrada que haya disfrutado de nuestro hotel ,los esperamos en su próxima visita a la ciudad de Medellín .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this place on our honeymoon in Medellin - we had some issues (noise, and broken A/C in the first two rooms we stayed in, and then an overflowing toilet at 2 a.m. in the final room we were staying in) but the staff (especially John Robert) were super friendly, and they really tried to assist us in finding a good room for us - we ended up on the fifth floor on the corner room with a lovely balcony - it was AMAZING. The location is right in the heart of the Zona Rosa, and is really a fun little part of Medellin. We would definitely come back, even with the few issues we had (we know that things happen, such as AC etc., but we feel the way to be evaluated is in how they respond, and the folks at Art Hotel certainly were willing to work with us.)

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grover T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventas_medellin, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, February 29, 2016
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su opinión .tendremos en cuenta sus observaciones para mejorar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I can only surmise from my experience at your hotel that the solo or N Amer traveler is not appreciated. Immediately after check-in I had to change rooms twice, first, because of loud snoring in the adjoining room (no soundproofing) and second, because of a dead air conditioner in the room that I was taken to next. My hope was that the 3rd room would be OK but at 7 am the next morning, the clattering and banging of construction began as work crews began work on the new building 15 ft from my window. Your manager knew that would happen as the building is far from being complete and it was a work day. It wasn't a coincidence that all three rooms you put me in faced the construction site. You had three chances to show concern for a weary traveler and failed every time. THREE STRIKES, in my book, and you are OUT!

Room Tip: Another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wings1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoit D, Owner at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Sir, Thank you for your comments. we do apologize. We had he same kid of problems these last days , and we are taking serious actions, with our new manager to correct and solve things as fast as posible. Please, if you plan to come back to Medellin, contact me personally to prepare your welcome and have the opportunity to show changes. Benoit Delgrange VP operations and owner - benoit.delgrange@arthotel.com.co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed two nights in the Art Hotel. There are some really positive things about the hotel, but I also have some complaints.
I think the location is great. It is really close to the Parque del Lleras and a 10 minute walk to the nearest Metro-station. Also the breakfast was good. And the rooms are very clean.
But I also have some negative points. The check-in took too much time. If you come from the airport, you want to go to your room. It took us at least 20 minutes to give all our details. Then the reconstruction. They first gave us a room next to the reconstruction. I asked them if it would be noicy during the weekend and they were not sure.... Why do you give me that room, then? Or at least say that It could be noisy. I asked for another room, and they gave us another room, which was good and not noisy (so If you dont want to be bothered by the reconstructionwork and a disco, ask for a room with windows to the inside of thebuilding). Furthermore the second day we didn't get towels. So after a shower we had to go down to ask for towels ( the phone was not working). No sorry, or any excuse. The last thing I want to mention is that you should ask for the prices of the mini-bar. We had to pay 17.000 pesos (7,50 euro) for a bottle of water. That's rediculous; they should put the prices of the mini-bar somewhere in the room, but they didn't.
Some people of the staff were realle nice (Jhon), but it would have been appciated if the others also were a bit more comprehensive if something goes bad, or at least admit it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank B k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoit D, Owner at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear customers, thank you very much for your comments. We do apologize for the inconvenients. I spoke yesterday with the Manager on Site about each point you mentioned. Lyda Leon recently took responsability of the hotel in Medellin, and has been working in luxury hotels. She has an action plan and training plan that should have results on our quality soon. The construction nearby the hotel should end very soon. If you plan to return to Medellin and to give us another opportunity to show you changes, please contact me to prepare your welcome. Benoit Delgrange VP Operation and Owner. benoit.delgrange@arthotel.com.co
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

At this price in Colombia, you'd expect some kind of service but in fact here's what you get: AC not working, water so hot in the shower that you burn yourself, no shampoo available. On top of that, it looks very cheap if you pay attention to the details. For instance the gym is always damp because the isolation wasn't done properly. But the worst of it all is the staff! No smiles, no apologies when you just let them know that the ac and water didin't work. No education at all. You should really avoid this place, it's a tourist trap and extremely bad value!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick L, Owner at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feed-back. Although we don't share your opinion on the "cheap" look - other's would call concrete floors design, but this is a matter of taste - we apologize for the inconvenience with AC and water. Both have being looked at by our new maintenance team and already in process of being resolved. We promise to work on our reception team, in order to create a more pleasant experience. Procedures are updated to avoid what happened with the shampoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#5 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#7 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
In House
In House
#18 of 104 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Boutique

Property: Art Hotel Boutique
Address: Carrera 41 Calle 9-31 | Zona Rosa - El Poblado, Medellin 40000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 104 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel is a boutique hotel in central Medellin, featuring exposed brick and modern art. It is 1700 ft from El Poblado Metro Station and one mile from Medellin Convention Center.Rooms and suites at Art Hotel are stylish, with designer lighting and chaise lounges. All rooms have TVs with a DVD player. Some rooms have extra living space and luxurious bathrooms. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.Art Hotel has a wine bar, as well as an art gallery and movie theater. Guests can also use the Turkish bath and sauna.Located in the Poblado area, the hotel is near Lleras Park, where there are many restaurants and bars. Parking at Art Hotel is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing