We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good value, breakfast and light dinner included”
Review of Hotel Estelar Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Estelar Blue
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good value, breakfast and light dinner included”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Recently enjoyed a stay at this hotel. Very clean and well managed. When we had a problem with plumbing in a room, they changed our room literally within minutes. Breakfasts were buffet and quite adequate and they also included a light dinner in the evenings. The location is excellent although if you walk, there is a hill to navegate from the main highway-Avenida Poblado a block away-a long block away!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prophet9fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    150
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
51
84
27
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week while on business. If you are from the US, Canada or Europe expect a 3 vstar experience. It's nice enough for a business hotel but I wouldn't stay here in vacation.

It's in a safe neighborhood close to malls, restaurants and the casino. You can walk about safely at night and there is always a cab if you need one.

They provide the typical Latin American buffet breakfast. My rate included dinner as well. It was nice enough for one night but the menu is limited and does not change.

The only downside was that the ventilation system must interconnect the rooms. Some one was smoking in an adjoining room and choked me out of my room. I stuffed a towel in the vent but the maids kept removing it. :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Boyd_Stowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have been to Medellin several times and I really like the hotel Estelar Blue. Its location is extremely convenient, the rooms are very spacious, and the rate includes breakfast and dinner. The attention of the staff is good and I like that the hotel has a gym.

The reason why I can't rank this hotel with 5 stars is because 1, they didn't service our room one day and tried to say it was because we had the do not disturb sign (we took this sign down at 130pm), 2, the wifi isn't very strong, & 3, the rate is over double the rate of the Ibis Medellin and quite honestly I don't think the hotel should cost that much more. I'd rather pay less for my room rate than have the dinner included.

If you're in the same situation where you're not sure if it's better to pay less and stay in the Ibis or pay more and stay here, all I can say is it depends if you're looking for a hotel with more complete services and are willing to pay the price then stay here. If you really don't need free dinner, a gym, and a larger room, save the money and just stay at the Ibis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeymouse_0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I made my first trip to Medellin and wanted to stay in a comfortable hotel that offered some nice luxuries. I will list this hotel from start to finish. I stayed for 4 days in the Junior Suite.

1. I booked through Booking.com and saved about $30 a night for the Junior Suite. Originally I booked through the hotel's website for a standard room and then once I found the booking.com site I found that I could upgrade to the Junior Suite for less money than I was spending for the standard room. WIN-WIN for me!
2. Communication. I wrote to the hotel to confirm my reservations and ask about airport pickup. They responded within a few days and was sending me a car to pick me up at the airport. Quoted me 75 mil pesos but it came out to 60 once I arrived at the hotel so I was happy.
3. Airport Pickup- I was greeted at the terminal by a friendly guy with my name on a board so I was easily able to pick him out from others. Car was comfortable. They don't use a taxi service but instead use an actual car service. Nice.
4. Hotel Check-In. I was greeted by the doorman who was nice and assisted me to the front desk. I gave my passport and they made a copy of my cc and then was told about the breakfast and dinner schedule. Very friendly ladies at the desk.
5. Room- AMAZING. The Junior Suite has a bedroom and a living room that can be divided by a closing wooden door. It had a mini fridge with some drinks, alcohol, snacks, a sink, a couch in the living room with dining table, coffee table, air conditioning. A LARGE balcony with dining table outside. Very romantic at night. The bedroom had a large chair, a large comfortable bed, sink area outside the main bathroom. Water in the shower was hot. TV was a large LCD with lots of channels to chose from.
6. Breakfast- Somewhat typical of Colombian buffets. Eggs, Arepas, Pan, coffee, juices, cereal. Eggs were not very hot and a little runny but it's a free breakfast and it was nice.
Dinner- Sandwiches, soups, coke, juices, bread, cheese, and other items. Not a huge selection but seriously, why eat dinner at a hotel while visiting Medellin. It's for convenience and nothing more. I prefer to go out and enjoy the local cuisine.
7. Safety- Nice safe inside the room for my ipad and other items but not big enough for my laptop. To be fair, my laptop is a 18" and is quite large. Also this hotel has security at the entrance.
8. Area- The area that this hotel is in is a very friendly family area. You can walk to the mall safely. The night I arrived I walked two blocks to the ATM and felt safe.
9. Attractions- LOTS OF MALLS. Best mall is Sante Fe mall which is huge with about 6 levels. Lots of food options, movies, and arcade. Saw a movie (Smurfs) and played in the arcade which is great for kids and adults.

Overall I loved this place especially for the price. I had my GF and her daughter stay with me and they didn't charge me for extra people. But they do post extra persons at 30 mil a night. If you want to stay at a nice hotel for a great price. CHOOSE THIS HOTEL!

Thanks Hotel Estelar Blue. My trip was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

All enjoyed staying at the Estelar Blue and all the great places within walking distance. I recommended to my sisters to stay when I was married in Medellin and they enjoyed and the great breakfast and light supper included...

Room Tip: Get the upgrade mini suite... worth it the extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Royalchild66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

First, the room was good, business-like and modern. The location was good, near av poblado, and most of the staff was very friendly. The corporate side of things wasn't as good, which I found out after trying to call them many times, but the property itself was very good.

When checking out, I feared that I would have to explain why I shouldn't be charged the 16% VAT tax, but thankfully I was greeted by Estefania at the desk who was helped by Andres Molina to explain all the changes to me in detail. They were really helpful and saved me some aggravation (which I had with other hotels in Medellin).

Besides the room and location, the food was decent. About average for a 3.5 or 4 star hotel. The nice part was that they included a dinner option from 7-9:30pm which, while nothing to write home about, was sufficient and even better that i could just drop in, grab a few things, and continue up to my room.

The friendly staff made up for a few other deficiencies of the property (not much of a business center, no pool, no roof lounge or restaurant with a view, and the gym was... well just a small room with a few recreational machines.

Thanks again to Estefania and Andres for making my stay enjoyable :)

P.S. almost forgot, the beds... well they could use some work. Mine was super firm and not as comfortable as I would expect from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paultman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights and it was lovely. The stay includes breakfast AND dinner....both were very good buffets. Few options, but all delicious: eggs, cereal, arepas, fruit, and mini pan dulce for breakfast; sandwhiches, pasta salad, soup, salad for dinner.
The staff are very professional and helpful. The hotel is quiet and very clean. Our room was the biggest we had out of all our hotel rooms while traveling in Colombia. The hotel is a shirt walk to the fun strip of bars and restaurants in one direction, and the Santafe mall in the other. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
1.5 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#8 of 105 in Medellin
1,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 105 in Medellin
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 105 in Medellin
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#5 of 105 in Medellin
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estelar Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estelar Blue

Property: Hotel Estelar Blue
Address: Carrera 42 # 1 - 74 Sur, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Estelar Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a space designed by understanding actual business traveler’s needs and expectations as well as concepts like agile, communications and versatility. Strategically located in the exclusive Poblado neighborhood and surrounded by the main shopping malls. Estelar Blue, a hotel where differences stand out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estelar Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing