We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin
Ranked #44 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Reviewed November 30, 2012

After having such a bad experience in other hostels in Medellin this was a breath of fresh air. Everybody who worked in this hostel went out of their way to help us and make us feel comfortable. We arrived very early the first morning fresh off of a bus and just needed a bed. We had visited other hostels before hand who could not accomodate us or had a room but we had to wait, when we got to casa kiwi they were extremely full but managed to squeeze us in private rooms for the night. We then decided to change hostel as they had dorm rooms that were available and Casa Kiwi did not but after having a terrible experience with that hostel too Casa Kiwi were our savoir once again and managed to reserve us some beds in a dorm for a night. Great hostel, very social, brilliant outside space, Clean big rooms some with balconies. Fantastic staff! Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you are a female traveller their female dorms are airy and comfortable with a balcony. All of the...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura-Ellice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 290 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great facilities, including pool table, great hammocks, bar, TV room and awesome deck. Very sociable hostel which is located in an central location in Medellin. The staff were ok and could be a bit friendlier at times. The TV room was awesome which had a large TV and great seats. The deck which looks onto the street was perfect for meeting people and pre-drinking before a night out. The Pablo Escabar Tour organised through the hostel was also very good and informative. The rooms were cleaned daily and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great location, it looks to be in a village sorrounded by green.......close to all the bars and nightlife, safe.......very nice "new part" from the 2 floor but.....the rooms in the first floor are poor, humid and not clean beside a lot of light, the kitchen should be bigger...anyway is a good hostel with an amazing location, staff is nice and the main terrace is very nice just a pity for the ground floor that maybe has been refurbished....

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabriele v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great leafy, safe location with loads of lovely restaurants and cafes nearby (Zona Rosa) and 15min walk to metro. Loads of nice, comfy common areas inside and outside (including roof top). Great wifi and loads of free computers. Well equipped kitchen. Clean. Friendly people, easy to make friends. The staff carried our luggage to our room on arrival, which was an unexpected, nice surprise! They have maps, Pablo Escobar tours and info if you are traveling more in Colombia, just ask at the desk. Also laundry.

Tips: If you are a couple, pay the extra for a double private WITH bathroom. It is like staying in a luxurious hotel, with balcony and huge hot shower, most beautiful hostel room I have ever seen and was quieter than the other side of the hostel. Otherwise you may end up in one of the less nice rooms (there is one without a window). The shared bathrooms are cleaned regularly but people in hostels tend to be a little on the gross side, so private bathroom makes a big difference! And have showers at night or early morning so the water doesn't go cold, like at all hostels in Colombia.

Room Tip: Double private WITH bathroom are far better rooms than the others. It is the difference between host...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talularose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a private room on the upper floor overlooking the park. Great room, helpful staff, good place to chill out or get a group together for a night out. Definitely recommend although there were issues with the water mains going off and on in the el poblado area at the time but this is out of the hostels control. Great area, really recommend the Paisa Road Pablo Escobar tour also.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I actually did nOt stay here as no private rooms were available. My friend stayed here and we spent
A great deal of time at the hostel due tO the great atmosphere and awesome staff. The location can't be beat. The atmosphere is one Of the best hostels I can remember. I would defInitely stay here if and when we return to Medellin.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I don't understand some reviews taking issue with the staff. Every single person, from the cleaning ladies to overnight watchman, to front desk exuded a friendly, welcoming attitude. I stayed three nights and hated to leave. Yes, there's noise, but if you want soundproofed windows, go to the Hilton. I found the party atmosphere enlivening, not distracting. I'm 63 and was the oldest guest by far, but felt completely comfortable the whole time. Special appreciation to helpful and lovely Sara at the front desk. This place will be your comfortable home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoWalther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.7 mi away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
3.2 mi away
Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
#47 of 235 in Medellin
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#1 of 235 in Medellin
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pitstop Guest House
Pitstop Guest House
#41 of 235 in Medellin
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maloka Hostel
Maloka Hostel
#6 of 235 in Medellin
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Garden of Blues Hostal
The Garden of Blues Hostal
#21 of 235 in Medellin
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin

Address: Carrera 36 7 10, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range: $13 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing