We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin
Ranked #44 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great location and nice hostel”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a private room on the upper floor overlooking the park. Great room, helpful staff, good place to chill out or get a group together for a night out. Definitely recommend although there were issues with the water mains going off and on in the el poblado area at the time but this is out of the hostels control. Great area, really recommend the Paisa Road Pablo Escobar tour also.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanny86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    84
    50
    22
    37
See reviews for
Families
0
61
92
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I actually did nOt stay here as no private rooms were available. My friend stayed here and we spent
A great deal of time at the hostel due tO the great atmosphere and awesome staff. The location can't be beat. The atmosphere is one Of the best hostels I can remember. I would defInitely stay here if and when we return to Medellin.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanUTVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I don't understand some reviews taking issue with the staff. Every single person, from the cleaning ladies to overnight watchman, to front desk exuded a friendly, welcoming attitude. I stayed three nights and hated to leave. Yes, there's noise, but if you want soundproofed windows, go to the Hilton. I found the party atmosphere enlivening, not distracting. I'm 63 and was the oldest guest by far, but felt completely comfortable the whole time. Special appreciation to helpful and lovely Sara at the front desk. This place will be your comfortable home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoWalther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I really enjoyed this place. The location was the best in the city. They have a gorgeous patio area for hanging out, eating, buying a beer or two from the bar. (Try the kind they have on tap...very tasty and you can sample until you find your favorite).

The kitchen is great...big and clean (though it can get quite busy at certain times of the day). My only issue? On Friday and Saturday nights, they have a DJ in a common area. Good music but LOUD. We were placed on the first floor, by the computer area, in a triple room.

The music was loud but people were talking until 3am that night. Annoying. It is definitely a party atmopshere.

So...if you want quiet, try to get a room nearer the top floors or else, be ready to party.

Go on one of the tours...whether it's the Pablo Escobar tour (if that's your thing) or the Turibus one that leaves at 9am and 1am from the park just down the hill...you'll get a great overview of a GORGEOUS CITY.

Room Tip: Definitely on a high floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Recently renovated, very clean, modern hostel. HOT showers, modern kitchen, clean rooms and bathrooms. Cool rooftop area. Exito across the street which is very handy. Helpful staff (especially girl at the desk). Pablo Escobar tour and footy match was a great experience. All round good hostel. In a really nice area, very close to zona rosa

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hostel itself is pretty well presented, in a good location in Poblado. There is a large downstairs bar/social area (you can buy beers over the road in Exito and bring them in, no problems), a pool table, and a small but adequate kitchen. There are a few hammocks halfway up the building, and a rooftop area with a 'swimming pool' (more like a plunge pool, but I didn't really fancy the look of the water in it!).

The hostel is VERY sociable, so great from that perspective. But if you fancy a night off, or just want to sleep, it's going to be hard! The exceptionally loud music from the bar ends at about 1.30 am, then drunk people running through the hostel slamming doors, shouting etc ends at about 3.30am, then the cleaners start shouting at each other through the corridors at about 8am.

So if you bring earplugs, it would prob be fine.

Dorms were COP 20,000, Private doubles ranged from COP 50k - 70k.

Room Tip: The higher up the building you are, the quieter (and more expensive) it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLPKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hostel itself is great, in a perfect location (very peaceful yet super close to the bar district and decently close to the metro for going into town) and has everything you could want in a hostel- bar, tv, computers, kitchen, pool, roof top terrace... but the staff is incredibly unfriendly! Other than opening the door for you and taking your money, asking them anything seems to be irritating. After a couple days we started to feel a bit put off by the way the staff acted too cool to help guests with anything, and left feeling a bit like it was money poorly spent. Most of the rooms seem nice but we were in the "dungeon" room as we called it, at the back behind the computer room- if that is all that is available you should probably look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Not the back room on the first floor! It is like a dungeon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mggl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.7 mi away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
0.2 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#1 of 210 in Medellin
390 reviews
3.2 mi away
Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
Urban Buddha Hostel Medellin
#43 of 210 in Medellin
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maloka Hostel
Maloka Hostel
#6 of 210 in Medellin
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geo Hostel
Geo Hostel
#11 of 210 in Medellin
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Playa Hostel & Rooftop
La Playa Hostel & Rooftop
#15 of 210 in Medellin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin

Property: Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin
Address: Carrera 36 7 10, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Kiwi Hostel Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing