We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, great value but ....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Tree Hostal Medellin
Ranked #19 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Nice staff, great value but ....”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I had an OK private room. It was rather small room, just large enough for a bunk bed (yes, a bunk bed). The staff was very nice, knowledgeable and always happy to help. The hostel was basic but nice. It was clean and had a good atmosphere. I did like my stay there even for the following negatives. My bed was rather small. If you are over six feet (183cm) the bed will be too small for you. The mattress was firm but just fine for me. The biggest problem I had in this hostel was the cigarette smoke. There is a rule forbidding people from smoking inside the building, but it is a bit of a joke. People are allowed to smoke in the "outside" areas which are still under the building's second floor. There is nothing to prevent the smoke from going inside the building. At times the smoke was quite overwhelming as the building, including my room, was just filled with cigarette smoke. ( I suspect that some people were actually smoking inside their rooms.) I rated this hostel with low overall rating just because of this problem. Otherwise, I quite liked this place. I can only recommend this hostel for smokers and shorter people.

Room Tip: The private rooms are a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    84
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
57
92
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Have recently stayed at the Palm Tree and it is one of the better hostels I've stayed at in Colombia. It is in a fantastic location with a great tv room, courtyard and reasonable kitchen. The staff are very polite and attentive. the rooms are very comfortable though basic and very quiet. The only negatives are the lack of windows in the rooms and at times the staff can be overly strict in enforcing the rules and some of the kitchen equipment needs replacing. The court yard area is amazing and provides a tranquil oasis in which to read and relax. It is exceptional value for money. I higly recommend it and my only regret is that I didn't stay here on my first visit to Medellin.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bukanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

The hostel itself was great...the staff are great...the lady that cleans the place is probably the nicest, kindest person ever. She took me to the pharmacy to get medication for my back and really looked after me. However, three out of four people in my dorm had back problems and I am currently considering cutting my trip short because of one - either caused or aggravated by the horrendously hard beds (and I usually like beds on the hard side) They may as well just put people directly on the floor!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the prison cell 6 bed dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickytomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Medellin is a romantic older city. The staff are very alert to your needs. A hostel is not a hotel, yet most hotels in colombia would be considered motels in the usa.

The rooms are small but well kept. At $18 a night for 2 that's a great value. The super market exito is less then 1/2 a block away.

The bus are near, taxi's are inexpensieve and the metro is 8 blocks away. The atmosphere is friendly and warm. Unlike most hostels they provide with soap and a towel. Also 1 egg two slices of bread. You can cook there and everyone cleans the kitchen. Not to forget the free coffee

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ausaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Pretty good hostal.. Good kitchen and a nice little outside bar. Showers were only just warm which is the only negative. So close to supermarket and metro. Owners very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I have been here several times and it has been one of the most wonderful experiences. There is always nice people to guide you, explain the basic stuff and walk you to the metro if necessary. It is clean, well located and safe. You could have one of your best times in this lovely place

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yayita_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

I stayed here a while ago and was happpy with what I got for my money.

The hostel is in a great location , right by a metro station and a the biggest supermarket i have ever seen in my life! We bought and cooked our own food several times in the kitchen to economise.

The hostel has an outdoor patio area which is nice to sit back with a beer and chat to other travellers.

I stated in one of the dorms whcih was clean enough with comfy beds. My only niggle was that there are no lockers so I was a bit concerned about my passport/money, though nothing went missing I'm sure this was more down to luck than anything else.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vixx83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.4 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 105 in Medellin
265 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#4 of 216 in Medellin
154 reviews
1.4 mi away
International House Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Wandering Paisa
The Wandering Paisa
#15 of 216 in Medellin
158 reviews
3.4 mi away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
4.1 mi away
Waypoint Hostel
Waypoint Hostel
#5 of 216 in Medellin
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Tree Hostal Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Tree Hostal Medellin

Property: Palm Tree Hostal Medellin
Address: Carrera 67 No. 48D - 63 | Barrio Suramericana, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Palm Tree Hostel Backpackers Hostel Medellin Colombia The Palm Tree is Medellin's original Colombian owned hostel, since 2001, and remains a top travellers choice thanks to it's great facilities, helpful and friendly staff. We are located in a central area, just a few blocks from the downtown. There is a Metro station three blocks away and just in the corner of the Hostel, you will find access to bus routes which makes it easier, economical and more convenient to move within the city and/or outside the city if you are looking to explore the Medellin's surroundings. There is also the Stadium and sports Centre four blocks away if you are into sports and physical recreation, and also the local Zona Rosa is close by which offers a wide range of clubs and bars with a more Colombian vibe. "Our goal is to make of your stay in the hostel and the city of Medellin as memorable and comfortable as we possibly can. "A truly unforgettable experience" and being a Colombian owned hostel, we ensure you that you will experience authenticity in all its meanings" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Palm Tree Hostal Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing