We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diverse hostel community!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pitstop Guest House
Ranked #40 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A diverse hostel community!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

At Pitstop hostel you will find an interesting combination of travelers from the North America, South America, Europe and Australia along with a some more long term expat residents who will show you a different side of Medellin. There is a constant events going on: salsa dancing classes, barbecues, futball games and language exchange events.

The staff run a clean hostel! The reception employees help with everything from nightclub recommendations, Spanish grammar and safely ordering taxi cabs, to relationship advice! Thanks Monique, Laura, Juan y Juan, Stephanie y Stephanie.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    65
    32
    25
    16
See reviews for
3
31
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted by a receptionist who seemed to want us to fall into a crack in the earth. We had to wear a wristband with our name and room on it as if we were escaped mental patients. The place is full of coke heads and I saw a rat out by the pool. Our dorm was over the bar where they play loud music from 5-12 making it impossible to sleep and you have to walk in the rain to get out there.

The one thing that stops this hostel being 1 star is the breakfast is actually decent.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viçosa, Minas Gerais, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

To sum up this hostel : muy bueno! Close to everything you want : bars / restaurants / casinos / mall / supermarket, but also everything you want is in the hostel : swiming-pool / bar / soccer & basket / pool & ping-pong table / good staff... I had a great time and I'm sure you will !

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Florent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

excellent hostel, friendly staffs, perfect location. all the good bars and restaurants are only 10mins walk away, if you don't like to party, you will find this hostel offer quiet and clean bed for all kind of travellers.

Room Tip: the staffs are very good to provide room options for you when check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djtonycheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had great time here. My name is Dan Shanahan Im from USA I stayed here for 4 months. The Staff guys and girls were always nice and helpful and speak english and spanish. Nice Bar area nice pool Owner Paul was really Cool too and the people that stay there are cool too. So nothing but good things to say.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capone423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Myself and 3 mates stayed here for 4 nights. A great hostel with great service. A big tv room, a refreshing pool and a fun bar!!!!

We had a dorm for 6 and it was clean and made up each day! I great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brindlej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great spot! Very helpful staff and super clean Hostel. Stayed in the dorm room "The Big Fella"! Staff was super chill, even helped me find a couple of places in town. Medallin is a great city to explore. The area around the hostel is nice and safe, tons of places to walk to and tons of enpanadas and arepas! Walk over to bars restaurants and great spots for a fun night of discoteca mayhem :) Even including the bar within the hostel, pool tables, darts, and lots of fairly priced alcohol and beer. The pool is a nice way to cool off in the afternoon, and then grab a couple or cervesas and chill out on the hammoks. FUN STUFF AMIGOS!!! Stop in and enjoy Colombia ;)

Room Tip: Bring some ear plugs if you plan on sleeping above the bar before 12:00am, But everywhere else is ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cervesaporfavor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Conquistadores
Hotel Conquistadores
#51 of 105 in Medellin
47 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel
Mediterraneo Hotel
#55 of 105 in Medellin
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hostel
Grand Hostel
#26 of 210 in Medellin
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#5 of 210 in Medellin
144 reviews
2.2 mi away
International House Medellin
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Ram
Hostal Casa Ram
#53 of 138 in Medellin
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitstop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitstop Guest House

Property: Pitstop Guest House
Address: Carrera 43e no 5 - 110 | Patio Bonito, Medellin 050014, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 210 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pitstop Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE Pitstop Guest HouseThe Pitstop welcomes short- and long-term guests who are seeking the perfect place to explore Colombia’s majestic second city, nestled in the lush Andes valley of Aburra. The Guesthouse provides all the convenience and amenities of a hotel in an intimate, relaxed, villa environment. Guests can enjoy the large outdoor area which includes an ample swimming pool, hammocks, steam room, pool/games room, and basketball court. There are also shared kitchen facilities, a spacious and comfortable TV room, speedy and efficient wifi, and private parking. Guests may also come and go as they please with 24-hour reception facilities, where friendly and English-speaking staff can also arrange for guests to go on a wide range of tours in and around the city. With over ten years of experience in tourism in Medellin, the Pitstop is an ideal base for anyone looking to combine work, relaxation and travel in the City of Eternal Spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Pitstop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing