We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel in Medellin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pitstop Guest House
Ranked #40 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent hostel in Medellin”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We got recommended this hostel as a good place for a party by some fellow travellers. It was a very good size, excellent facilities including a really nice outside area with swimming pool and basketball ring. Really good kitchen with supermarkets very close by. A lot of things to do around the hostel, and a lot of things to do in the hostel too! There were a lot of people here when we stayed over the weekend and it was very easy to meet people and go out all together.

Definitely coming back to Pitstop if I'm in Medellin again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jacob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    66
    33
    25
    16
See reviews for
3
32
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The pitstop is like a traveller paradise where I always want to go back, and is the reason why we overstayed in Medellin and actually went back when wasnt even planned! The place is big and nice, a good spot to meet cool people and have a great time... the pool is clean and so are the rooms (stay away from the ones close to the bar If you are looking for a quiet place to sleep).
The staff was nice and kind (A+ to Laura!) and is really close to the party places in Medellin (dont even think about a taxi, is close and safe for walking even at night) I would stay there over and over!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADRINABE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hostel was recommended to us by friends as a 'great' party hostel.
Me and my boyfriend arrived earlier in september 2013 late at night, we didnt make a reservation but they had spare beds in many of the dorms. The hostel was big, had a big garden area, tabler tennis courts, hammocks and bar outside.
The general feel of the hostel was good and it had great potential to be a good party hostel and place to meet other traverllers. However we did not get this experience there.
They were many older guys there that seemed to be staying long term. We over heard them talking about young colombian women and there plan to stay at the hostel till winter to try and peruse there plan in getting with the women. One older gentleman was seen on a dating website in the reception area and had called for a girl to come round to the hostel for the night in which we witnessed. He was also seen on a sordid porn site right in the middle of reception.
We were put oiff by these men staying there long term and did not get the young back packer feel beacuse of this.
However the main down fall was when i was sat watching a film in the tv lounge when i saw the cleaner enter my room, i noticed she was in there a while so i got up and went to check on my belongings when i found her in my handbag. My bag was under the bed, hid behind my rucksack so she had to get down on her knees to get it and i caught her red handed looking in it. Later that day my room mates had noticed that their phone was also missing. The staff did not do much about this after we reported it and we left the hostel after this incident.
The hostel its self has all potential to be a good way to soialise and have fun however it didnt have the people or the feel when we went. I was very disappointed in the safety and trust in staff at this hostel.

Room Tip: i stayed in the down stairs 6 bed dorm which is right next to the tv lounge and kitchen- it can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Pit Stop is the best hostel in town, the staff are very helpfull and allways there to show you the good you can see in the city.
The rooms are very clean and the beds are excellet. in this hostel you will find the best deal, wonderful hostel with low prices.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Pitstop for 3 nights over a weekend, 24000 pesos. First the good, big dorm was as spacious, dark and quiet as I've had. Very easy to sleep and attached bathroom was great.

The common areas are also pretty good, large kitchen, pool, movie room, WIFI, 4 computers, good lockers for valuables.

The hostel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the train, supermarket plus clubs/bars or a 5000 taxi.

The bad, the staff were inconsistent and not really helpful with organizing things to do in Medellin. Some were ok (the guy at night and the girl in the morning). Worst of all, one of the workers had company each night in our dorm. I understand it happens in hostels but wouldn't expect it from some one working there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilometres9345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There's definitely a great vibe to the hostel itself, where the common area (with a pool, hammock, billards and a bar) is set up to provoke socializing among guests. When I was there, there was a Sunday barbecue with terrific food and participated by a lot of people.

The metro is a pretty close walk from the hostel, which makes it easy to explore Medellin and come back for rest stops throughout the day. It's also close enough to a super market, so you can easily cook meals in the hotel's well-equipped kitchen.

It's a bit loud at night time, so if you don't want that, I suggest you stay somewhere else. If you can deal with the noise (it's just happy drunk chatter most of the time), then I'd definitely recommend it.

The working staff was a bit stand-offish and seemed less than enthused to answer basic questions. It's a good thing the other guests were there to help me out. Still, for what it was, it was a nice enough stay.

Also, the fitness center is like one machine and two weights. I wasn't going to use it or anything, but I just thought it was funny that they would even advertise that on their flyers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myrahassaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hostel has all you need, a nice pool, nice bar with a pool table, an outdoor area with picnic tables and hammocks and a tv room with nice couches. The rooms are a little large and the size of the hostel takes away from the close knit community vibe you feel at other hostels. Its good to party at but the location is quite a walk from local nightlife and other interesting spots to see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vryanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Conquistadores
Hotel Conquistadores
#53 of 107 in Medellin
48 reviews
3.6 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 107 in Medellin
267 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
Hotel San Pedro del Fuerte
#29 of 107 in Medellin
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#4 of 228 in Medellin
156 reviews
2.2 mi away
International House Medellin
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Ram
Hostal Casa Ram
#49 of 145 in Medellin
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitstop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitstop Guest House

Property: Pitstop Guest House
Address: Carrera 43e no 5 - 110 | Patio Bonito, Medellin 050014, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pitstop Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE Pitstop Guest HouseThe Pitstop welcomes short- and long-term guests who are seeking the perfect place to explore Colombia’s majestic second city, nestled in the lush Andes valley of Aburra. The Guesthouse provides all the convenience and amenities of a hotel in an intimate, relaxed, villa environment. Guests can enjoy the large outdoor area which includes an ample swimming pool, hammocks, steam room, pool/games room, and basketball court. There are also shared kitchen facilities, a spacious and comfortable TV room, speedy and efficient wifi, and private parking. Guests may also come and go as they please with 24-hour reception facilities, where friendly and English-speaking staff can also arrange for guests to go on a wide range of tours in and around the city. With over ten years of experience in tourism in Medellin, the Pitstop is an ideal base for anyone looking to combine work, relaxation and travel in the City of Eternal Spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Pitstop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing