We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel in el poblado”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pitstop Guest House
Ranked #39 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hostel in el poblado”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Located in el poblado which is abit outside Medellin but where all the hostels are. Nice place with good common areas, pool and games table tennis, volleyball etc. Common areas could be cleaner.

This place is renowned for being a party hostel however we arrived on a saturday and it was dead quiet apparently a big group had just left.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonjaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    66
    33
    25
    16
See reviews for
3
32
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed in The Pit Stop Hostel in MEDELLIN, a place to avoid. Badly located and pricy accomodation -for youth hostal standards- this place is a noissy drunk dungeon where mostly Americans stop by.
People shouting untill 3 a.m. maded inpossible to sleep. Then the staff, by mistake, I hope, broke into our room in the middle of the night without even knocking on the door. On thr top of all, it's badly connected by public transport. In conclusion, avoid this [--] in MEDELLIN.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gusarapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We left after 8 hours of Pit Stop. Rooms are cramped, sweaty and smelly. No lockable areas for any belongings. If you want to party like absolutely crazy then this is your place. If you don't then you must go somewhere else. Honest review......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Awesome hostel. The staff was really cool except Alejandro. It has a Jacuzzi in the back patio. They have a full bar downstairs with all sorts of assorted beverages. The rooms are nice and clean. Lots of lovely colombians at the bar too. Yeah and Alejandro sucks. Its centrally located around the corner from the bars and discotecas and centro commercial.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We didn't have the greatest experience at pitstop. The maid snatched my headphones while cleaning the room, luckily I saw them in the maids station area and retrieved them. Asked the front desk if they had been turned in and they said no if they find anything they turn it in right away. It had been 2 days.
Definitely stayed in nier places for cheaper. But the location is pretty good. A Lon way from the airport not too far from the bus station and only a 10-15 minute walk to some great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burtski9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Two words: Gringo land. I guess its a great place to party, but definitely not for me. I left 6am, the morning after.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yousuf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed in this hostel for 6 nights, from mid-week to mid-week. I was afraid it would be too much of a party hostel, but after just one night I was no longer worried. We had to be quiet from 11 pm because of the neighbors and the bar closed at 1 am. People who went partying left long before that so there was no noice at the hostel. So if you wanted quiet time, no problem. If you wanted party there were lots of great people, and also, most nights, a game arranged by the hostel. No preassure to join, jus a kindly question from the one there doing this stuff each night.

Most of the people working here speak fluently English so communication is never a problem. They are also friendly and serviceminded. Beer is average price as everywhere else, an the fridge also has lots other drinks, for the morning after.

There is swimming pool, soccer court, pool table, table tennis and about a 1000 videos in the TV-room. If you have a bad day, or want to relax, they have what is needed.

There are some negative things to, though not many:
Wireless internet nas not available in my bed in the Tony Montana-room. Also, they say in the same room that they do not advertise sauna and jaccuzi, but at some of the hostel bookers networks they do. They have a steam room for the cold days, but you will have to pay extra to get them to start it up. Also, the pool is cold so not many uses it. On the other hand, it is a good way to chill down the body on the warmest days.

It is a perfect place for backpackers and if I ever go to Medellin again I would stay at the very same hostel again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Conquistadores
Hotel Conquistadores
#52 of 105 in Medellin
47 reviews
3.6 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 105 in Medellin
265 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel
Mediterraneo Hotel
#53 of 105 in Medellin
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#3 of 219 in Medellin
154 reviews
2.2 mi away
International House Medellin
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Ram
Hostal Casa Ram
#49 of 141 in Medellin
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitstop Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitstop Guest House

Property: Pitstop Guest House
Address: Carrera 43e no 5 - 110 | Patio Bonito, Medellin 050014, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pitstop Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE Pitstop Guest HouseThe Pitstop welcomes short- and long-term guests who are seeking the perfect place to explore Colombia’s majestic second city, nestled in the lush Andes valley of Aburra. The Guesthouse provides all the convenience and amenities of a hotel in an intimate, relaxed, villa environment. Guests can enjoy the large outdoor area which includes an ample swimming pool, hammocks, steam room, pool/games room, and basketball court. There are also shared kitchen facilities, a spacious and comfortable TV room, speedy and efficient wifi, and private parking. Guests may also come and go as they please with 24-hour reception facilities, where friendly and English-speaking staff can also arrange for guests to go on a wide range of tours in and around the city. With over ten years of experience in tourism in Medellin, the Pitstop is an ideal base for anyone looking to combine work, relaxation and travel in the City of Eternal Spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Pitstop Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing