We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Does not disappoint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Royal Medellin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Collection Royal Medellin
Ranked #3 of 99 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Does not disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel lives up to its description and you get exactly what they've advertised. The service is easy and friendly and most of the employees speak some English if you don't speak Spanish. The rooms are clean, modern and spacious with views of the city or the pool. The bar and lounge area are relaxing, comfortable and quiet. They have a happy hour with beer and wine, but cocktails are expensive. They have a clean and pretty outdoor pool that's great to swim laps. The gym has a variety of machines and the door is open so it feels like you are outside. The breakfast buffet is plentiful, nutritious, and good. We used their car service several times and were overcharged for one of the trips. We told the girl in charge it's bad practice to overcharge tourists, unnecessary. You can easily walk over to the huge shopping center in about 6 minutes and shop or eat at one of the many restaurants. We were adventurous and walked to the Zona Rosa in about 25 minutes. (short cab ride) We also walked to the nearest metro stop in about 15 minutes to go into centro and to connect to the cable cars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view. You can hear some of the traffic below so ask for a room above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments about your recent visit, we are pleased to know that our installations and services are up to par with your expectations.

We sincerely apologize for the incident with the car service, we have addressed the matter with the respective department in order to avoid similar situations in the future, your comments help us grow and give us valuable information to improve our services.

We hope that you stay with us on your next visit to Medellín.

Regards,

Marilu Mora E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    192
    52
    12
    7
See reviews for
82
157
40
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale and Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our rooms: we changed after the internet connections wireless as well as with cable did go down every minute... After the change the situation was not better.
Other rooms on the 10th and 7th floor towards the city were extremely noisy. The windows don't close right and you see the curtains moving. We did not sleep very well... so ask for a room facing the pool area that may be quieter.
The rooms are ok... nothing special.

Breakfast was also only on the okay side, the breakfast service a little slow. The buffet lacked a little variety.
The breakfast area needs some change of decoration, style and just looks a little cheap.

I had thought the hotel would be better...

Room Tip: because of noise get a room on the pool side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fll63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. We assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Regarding the noise, we would like you to know we're currently working in sound isolation in order to provide quieter rooms.

Sincerely,

Marilu Mora E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretten
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is located in a very save area of Medellin. It is close to a big shopping mall and only a few steps away from the Hard Rock Cafe. Service is nearly world class. Everybody is very polite and helpfull and it is easy to find a person that can talk in English. The rooms are comfortable and clean.
One thing that makes the hotel signifikant is Achilles, the dog that is all around the hotel. It is very friendly and really something that you will not find in an other hotel.
Breakfeast ist ok but could have some more choices. Fruits and eggs are very good, but if you would like to eat some bread it would be great to have some more choices than only for example to kinds of cheese.
But overall the hotel is a recommendation in Medellin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much indeed for such a lovely comments. We feel really glad to know that our service reached your expectations. Our staff will be pleased to hear from you.

We really appreciate your opinion regarding our breakfast and giving us the opportunity to know what should be improve.

Sincerely,

Marilu Mora E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was clean, convenient, and in a great area! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They found us two great tickets for the Beyonce concert "day of". Wifi connection is strong, even at peak hours. The free buffet breakfast was delicious and offered a nice variety. Taxis were always available right outside. The hotel was a little noisy, but other than that it was great.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JetJonesy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments, It makes us feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We always do what we can to please our guest. It is good that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast, we recently added new items to it.

Regarding the noise in the rooms, we are happy to let you know that we are currently working is noise isolation in the rooms.

Regards,

Marilu Mora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. It is located across the screen from a Verizon's nice mall in which you can have some of your meals.
Staff are very helpful and friendly.
Excellent breakfast buffet with yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, bread. Omelette station and Colombian foods and meats.
Aquiles, the hotel pet, a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth780921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for your comments, it is very nice to know that when you visit our hotel you feel confortable, We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast; we recently added new options to make it more complete.

Aquiles our best worker, is always at the door, welcoming everyone and making new friends.


Sincerely,


Marilu Mora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Its location is great, you can go walking to Santafe mall and Hard Rock Cafe, rooms are modern, bed is spacious and confortable, breakfast is a great buffet, it has a beautiful pool, which not all Medellin hotels own, the staff is very good. I arrived at 11am and they allow me to ckeck in early.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdnaPinzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest;

It is good to know that our guest feel satisfy with their stay at our hotel. We are glad that you apreciated the fact the we let you check in early, this service is open to all our guest as long as it is avaliable.


Sincerely,


Marilu Mora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the moment my wife and I arrived at Medellin Royal we were impressed with the attentive and welcoming staff, most of whom were fluent in English. The price of the room was mid-range and a very good value for this level of service. Our room was spacious and bright. The bed was comfortable. The hotel's wifi system worked well. No long waits for the elevator. Buffet-style breakfast was very good.

If someone wants to be near El Poblado/Parque Lleras, this hotel is a bit of a distance. However, the longer we stayed in Medellin, the more we realized that it was better to get away from that tourist enclave and explore the rest of the city.

The hotel is very close to Santafe mall and some other upscale places, and it's a 15-minute downhill walk to the Metro. Taxis are easy to find and inexpensive.

My only complaint has been mentioned on TA several times already: the walls seem a bit thin. If there's noise in another room near the window wall, it's easy to hear in your room.

If I ever get back to Medellin I will look forward to staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobMyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear: Guest

We are glad that you felt good and welcome from the moment you got to our hotel and during your stay. As you mention in your comment we are strategicaly located in el Poblado yet a fair distance from el Parque Lleras that is a more of a party area.

Regarding the noise problem first of all we would like to apologize for this inconviniece however we are glad to let you know that we are currently working on noice isolation in the rooms.


See you soon!


Marilu Mora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#1 of 99 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.3 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#2 of 99 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#17 of 99 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 stars 515 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#6 of 99 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Royal Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Royal Medellin

Property: NH Collection Royal Medellin
Address: Cra. 42 No.5 Sur-130 | (El Poblado), Medellin, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#1 Spa Hotel in Medellin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
#1 Business Hotel in Medellin
#5 Family Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Royal Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxury Hotel with the ultimate expression of design and technology is an excellent choice for business and tourism travelers. Ideally located in the heart of El Poblado one of the most prestigious areas of the city at walking distance from Santa Fe and Oviedo Shopping malls. Our 125 rooms and 9 suites are equipped with all the ingredients to guarantee an enjoyable stay. In addition to our excellent facilities we offer a friendly atmosphere and a warm smile. Our clients benefit from the comforts and technology of our modern Business Center and our versatile Meeting Rooms. The Medellin Royal Hotel Service include a relaxing Spa and fitness center swimming pool free parking dry cleaning service and 24-hour room service. Enjoy in our restaurant the best Neo Latina cuisine that blends the delicate fusion flavors of Colombia and the International processes. The Bar with a panoramic magically green view creates an enjoyable mood for a meeting or a relaxing drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your NH Collection Royal Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medellin Royal Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing