We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with some drawbacks..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Collection Royal Medellin
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Conveniently located one block away from a giant mall, this hotel was one of my favorites in the City. Inconveniently the rooms are way too noisy. First night a group of drunks arrived late at night to after party on the corridors. Not the hotel's fault of course. Second day, air conditioning way too noisy and no auto mode, so it runs all night. Walls are thin, doors and windows not tight.

Location is very nice, but I would prefer a hotel near the Lleras Park so you can walk to dinner or drinks, the new neighborhood called Provenza and Via primavera are all walking distance. Malls are worldwide the same. From the Royal, taxi is required, even though it is cheap.

Breakfast is impressive. The best of the best.

Service was very friendly.

But on business or pleasure, a good night sleep is what I expect most of a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motocicleta78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest:

First at all we want to thanks for your comments in your recent visit to our Hotel. We know how important they are to improve our service.

Regarding your complaint about noises and air conditioning, I apologize for the inconvenience and I want to take the opportunity to tell you that we are currently working in sound isolation to provide a different experience during the night and making the corrections with maintenance department to fix the problems.

Your comments are valuable for us, especially about the breakfast and service we appreciate a lot.

Sincerely

Marilu Mora E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 804 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent two nights as part of a wedding party with several friends and family members. The whole process from making the reservations to accommodating everybody was an absolute joy. The hotel staff rose up to the occasion in great fashion and with superb professionalism. The hotel in very modern and has outstanding facilities. All services were excellent and every single staff member we had the pleasure to interact with we're impeccable both in attention and presentation. The hotel's location is great for both business or pleasure travelers. I will never stay at another hotel in Medellin again. Medellin Royal Hotel excellence in every way.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Andresf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for the great comments, we are pleased we had provided a nice experience to you, to your friends and family; It was a pleasure to be your host.

We hope you coming soon.

Best regards,

Marilú Mora E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

wow, nice people, very nice staff, unbelivable rooms, very central

I have simply nothing to comment. The alarmcolk radio even had an ipod connetion. The rooms were very trendy. and the tips as received atthe front desk where outstanding so yeah. great place

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aecur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Guest:

We really appreciate to let us know your comments about the Hotel, thanks for the recognition for what we are and do.

We hope to see you in the future.

Regards,

Marilú Mora E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed 2 nights while traveling for business. The hotel is very nice, service is great and I loved the decoration, very simple and modern. Having breakfast in the outside terrace was an unexpected plus and the food was good. The room was medium sized and had anything you needed. The only down bit was the fact that the walls are apparently a bit thin so you could hear people talking next door. I mentioned this in the check out survey and 2 days later I received an email from the hotel manager thanking me for the feedback and explaining that they were currently working to give the rooms more noise isolation. That was a nice detail. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msalgado73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Guest:

We greatly appreciate your comments and the time you took to did it, thank you for recognizing the work of leadership in customer relations , we work every day to be better.

Regarding the noise, in fact we are working to provide quieter rooms; we hope can offer you soon.

Best Regards,

Marilú Mora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is very good located and all people are very well educated, friendly and very helpful. We just stayed for a week but everybody working there treated us very very good it was hard to leave them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tella3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Tella3:

It´s wonderful read your comments, we are grateful about what you are saying, every day we work to be better and to leave a mark on our guest.

Thank you!

Marilú Mora E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Medellin Royal is a nice hotel with few downsides. However, in general, I find other reviews a bit too positive. I have stayed at 2 other hotels in the area and both were just as good. On the upside are excellent customer service, the fact that the hotel rooms are very quiet and the breakfast is good. A nice touch is the happy hour at the bar with 2 free beers or 2 free glasses of wine. On the downside I found that the rooms are not overly big, the rooms have a "post-modern" look and are clean and modern, but a bit less "cosy". I also disliked receiving a list at check-in stating that all visitors to our room should first be registered at the front desk and nobody was allowed to visit our room after 8 PM. In practice this was not enforced, but it gives a less welcoming impression. We have many friends in Medellin and it seems weird that I am not allowed to have any of them come up to the room when we choose to do so. Something plainly weird was the absence of a spare roll of toilet paper in the room. The toilet paper ran out twice and had to ask for new toilet paper at the front desk. That is very unusual for a hotel of this class. The location of hotel is good, but there are those which are even more centrally located on the Poblado Avenue. I would stay there again if the prices was right at the time of my visit but, again, there are many other options which are just as or even more centrally located and just as nice.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room higher up or away from the pool. Some noise from the pool might trickle in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonairetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest

First at all I want to thanks for your recent visit to our city and for your time to tell us about your experience in our Hotel. I love to know that we are a great option for our customers in this market.

Regarding about local regulation visitor's policy I want to apologize if this caused some inconvenience but we have to be on line with the local law. We are taking your comments to make all the corrections to improve our service.

We are also pleased knowing that you enjoyed “Tardes Royal” at the bar with 2 free beverages included; we love to pamper our guest.

Kind Regards,

Marilú Mora E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I spent four days there and I found myself at home. Nice service, great breakfast with all sorts of fruit, kind staff. Swimming pool is fantastic. i had to complain about nois early in the morning next to the pool but the second day the noise was gone and I receive apologies. It is not near the center but in a very nice neighborhood next to movie theatres ans shopping mall. They should redo noise insulation, window glass is too thin. After all a good experience.

Room Tip: Facing the street it could be noisy. Facing the pool is better but during weekends, some music (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServiceRoyal, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Royal Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thanks for your comments, we are pleasant to read this lines; we appreciate your words about the service, breakfast and location.

We are sorry about the noise, but currently we are working to give the rooms more noise insulation.

Thanks again,

Marilú Mora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#2 of 111 in Medellin
785 reviews
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#11 of 111 in Medellin
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#3 of 111 in Medellin
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#4 of 111 in Medellin
341 reviews
1 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Royal Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Royal Medellin

Address: Cra. 42 No.5 Sur-130 | (El Poblado), Medellin, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Medellin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#2 Spa Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: $77 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Royal Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxury Hotel with the ultimate expression of design and technology is an excellent choice for business and tourism travelers. Ideally located in the heart of El Poblado one of the most prestigious areas of the city at walking distance from Santa Fe and Oviedo Shopping malls. Our 125 rooms and 9 suites are equipped with all the ingredients to guarantee an enjoyable stay. In addition to our excellent facilities we offer a friendly atmosphere and a warm smile. Our clients benefit from the comforts and technology of our modern Business Center and our versatile Meeting Rooms. The Medellin Royal Hotel Service include a relaxing Spa and fitness center swimming pool free parking dry cleaning service and 24-hour room service. Enjoy in our restaurant the best Neo Latina cuisine that blends the delicate fusion flavors of Colombia and the International processes. The Bar with a panoramic magically green view creates an enjoyable mood for a meeting or a relaxing drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Collection Royal Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medellin Royal Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing