We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IEA”
Review of San Carbon

San Carbon
Ranked #40 of 1,203 Restaurants in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Miami, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“IEA”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great food at a reasonable price. The menu is quite varied but the specialty is meats. They do have seafood and other fares.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAINPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    152
    47
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good quality meat”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

meat is very good, place is nice and clean.
Disliked the fact that salad bar is short on variety. Place is too dark for my taste

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CKinKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Not worth it. If you are thinking of going to eat at this place I recommend you steer away and go to a more traditional place. The service is very poor and it's definitely overpriced. I wanted to take my family someplace to eat a good stake so I was recommended to this place. It took the waiter about 15 minutes to greet us. After we ordered our drinks it took another 15 minutes to serve them. The wine glass serving was definitely too small considering they charge $10 for a glass of Merlot. We ordered two servings of Carpaccio which it turned out it was raw meat cut very thin. When we commented to the waiter that we could not eat the raw meat he responded that we did not know what Carpaccio was. We asked to perhaps bring us a different appetizer but he said he would have to charge for the other appetizer. We kindly asked him to take the raw meat appetizer away. Our entries came late and were left to cool down on a tray next to our table. The waiter came after 8-10 minutes and started serving us the meats which had cool down already. We had to ask for our dishes to be warmed again. We called the manager to complain and he had the same attitude as the waiter, very much in denial. Our dishes were Ok after they ware warmed up, but then I did not expect to pay $40 a person and eat a reheated stake. We tried the flan for desert...nothing special for the price. My advice is try to go to a more traditional place, you will get better service as good a quality of meat and definitely better value then San Carbon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I were in Medellin in March on a business trip and a friend and former client took us out to dinner at San Carbon. The food was wonderful; the steaks done to perfection and the juices were delicious. It was a Wednesday night so the restaurant was not packed. There was a trio playing traditional Colombian music but at just the right volume to be enjoyed but not to be intrusive. The restaurant is roofed but open to the outside air. It was only when we were leaving that I realized I had had lunch there two years previous (and enjoyed it at that time too).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMarketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Is ok”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Its ok but there are better places to go and eat. Depends if you go for happy hour or not also. Best time to visit is fridays as seems with all places in medellin

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carbon also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to San Carbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing