We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Area, reasonable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin
Ranked #23 of 112 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I was here for three weeks on business. The reviews I read about thin walls and noise were not a problem for me. I don't know if it was the rooms I stayed in or low guest count. The beds were very hard, but I like hard beds. The area is very nice. It's about two blocks from a couple of nice malls and places to eat. (it's called the "golden mile"). There were a couple of small irritations. You had to pay for Internet access and get an access code daily from the front desk which is an inconvenience for a business traveler. The elevators required a key card and whoever got on first determined which floor you went to (it wouldn't accept two key cards for two floors). The staff was very nice. The restaurant had decent food. The breakfast buffet, which was included with the room, was decent too. Service was excellent, except when I ordered room service in English. They transferred me to the front desk and the order got lost. When they finally delivered, it was free. I choose to go back there each week when I could have stayed elsewhere. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidi C, Ejecutiva de Marketing Digital at Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2015
Google Translation

Apreciado huésped!

Nos sentimos agradecidos por sus comentarios, es realmente satisfactorio saber que disfruto de la calidez de nuestro servicio y de nuestras instalaciones. Esperamos tener el gusto de recibirlo en su próxima visita a medellin.

Le invitamos a visitar nuestra página web y redes sociales donde podrá enterarse de los beneficios que tenemos para usted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 611 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2011

We had a lovely stay at this hotel in Medellin. Highlights include:

- Champagne, rose petals, and chocolate covered strawberries in our room with a welcome note
- Made us eggs when we arrived late to the complementary brunch
- When our party was too loud at night, the staff moved us to a suite so we could continue our festivities without disturbing other guests - that's service!

Only negative was that the pillows were stiff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAngela05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidi C, Ejecutiva de Marketing Digital at Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2015
Google Translation

Apreciado Huésped,

Nos llena de entusiasmo y satisfacción que haya disfrutado de nuestras instalaciones y la calidez de nuestro servicio, ya que nuestro principal objetivo es proporcionar experiencias memorables a nuestros huéspedes. Esperamos tener el gusto de recibirlo en su próxima visita a Medellín.

Le invitamos a visitar nuestra página web y redes sociales donde podrá enterarse de los beneficios que tenemos para usted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The hotel San Fernando Plaza was definitely one of the nicest places we stayed at during our trip in Colombia. Rooms were spacious, fully decorated and furnished, and the hotel amenities were great, from the breakfast to the swimming pool. The hotel is also conveniently located, and everything was a short cab ride away, amazing. Finally, the hotel management team was really at your service: fist time I was proposed a choice of areas where to party at the hotel because we were a little noisy in our room. Usually you are just asked to keep it quiet! Great place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dancing_D070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidi C, Ejecutiva de Marketing Digital at Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2015
Google Translation

Apreciado Huésped,

Reciba un cordial saludo. Gracias por sus comentarios sobre nuestra fantástica ubicación, buenas área de piscina , y buen estado de nuestras habitaciones. Esperamos atenderlo en un futuro próximo con la calidad y amabilidad que usted se merece y caracteriza a nuestro personal y a la gente de Medellín!.

Le invitamos a visitar nuestra página web y redes sociales donde podrá enterarse de los beneficios que tenemos para usted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

A great hotel in Medellin. The staff was really fantastic. We came with a large group, and they handled all of our needs perfectly. Rooms were clean, spacious and well decorated. Breakfast had lots of fresh fruit, a full buffet with eggs, etc and was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryG179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidi C, Ejecutiva de Marketing Digital at Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2015
Google Translation

Apreciado Huésped, reciba un cordial saludo.

Para nuestro equipo de trabajo es realmente satisfactorio saber que su experiencia fue placentera y que disfrutó de nuestro caluroso servicio e instalaciones.Le agradecemos mucho por sus valiosos comentarios, ya que son la mejor recompensa que podemos recibir por nuestra labor y esfuerzo.

Le invitamos a visitar nuestra página web y redes sociales donde podrá enterarse de los beneficios que tenemos para usted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

This was a great hotel with an amazing service. After a tiring trip, it was exactly what I needed and the hotel staff provided us with anything we needed. It was great!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidi C, Ejecutiva de Marketing Digital at Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2015
Google Translation

Apreciado Huésped,

Nos encanta recibir comentarios como los suyos que nos enorgullecen.
Nuestro equipo humano trabaja día a día para crear un ambiente acogedor donde nuestros huéspedes vivan experiencias inolvidables.Esperamos tenerlo pronto de visita.

Le invitamos a visitar nuestra página web y redes sociales donde podrá enterarse de los beneficios que tenemos para usted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel with friends. the staff was incredibly nice and the rooms very comfortable. the location is good to visit different parts of the city. great value for money

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesusnunezunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidi C, Ejecutiva de Marketing Digital at Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2015
Google Translation

Apreciado Huésped!

Gracias por sus comentarios, nos alegra saber que disfruto de nuestro servicio y nuestras instalaciones. Esperamos atenderlo en un futuro próximo con la calidad y amabilidad que usted merece.

Gracias por elegirnos!

Le invitamos a visitar nuestra página web y redes sociales donde podrá enterarse de los beneficios que tenemos para usted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Excellent location in El Poblado, Medellin. The service is responsive and courteous. Rooms are ample and well equipped. Everything all right but the beds: this seems to be the CHEAP standard across Colombia (as well as sound isolation in others), really bad mattresses and bad pillows too. Forget about a comfortable and repairing sleep.
Internet didn't work but I was refunded.
Shower is good and bathroom amenities are cheap. Small towels.
Air conditioning works very well.
Great typical breakfast: very "paisa" with "calentado, arepas, perico, etc" very good.
I'd recommend this hotel to a friend or colleague and I'll return.
Compared to Four Points, Dann Carlton, Intercontinental, etc
Intensive business traveler +240d/y

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarceloBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidi C, Ejecutiva de Marketing Digital at Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2015
Google Translation

Apreciado Huésped,

Reciba un cordial saludo y agradecimiento por sus comentarios sobre su estadía en nuestro hotel. Cada día trabajamos en la mejora continua para que nuestros huéspedes tengan una estadía inolvidable, esperamos tenerlo pronto de visita.

Gracias por Elegirnos!

Le invitamos a visitar nuestra página web y redes sociales donde podrá enterarse de los beneficios que tenemos para usted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#14 of 112 in Medellin
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#15 of 112 in Medellin
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medellin
0.5 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
0.4 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#10 of 112 in Medellin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin

Address: Carrera 42 A No.1-15, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Medellin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#8 Family Hotel in Medellin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
#10 Business Hotel in Medellin
#10 Spa Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: $83 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star luxury hotel located in the Financial District of Medellín that combines comfort and world-class service. Its privileged location allows our guests to visit shopping centers, bookstores, coffee shops and the most exclusive restaurants in town within walking distance. Enjoy spacious rooms with king size beds, comfortable mattresses and beautiful views to the city or our pool. Do not miss the GrandSuite rooms with a living room and a wonderful terrace with panoramic views of the city. In the restaurant Spezia (located on the 8th floor) our guests and visitors can delight their palates with an avant-garde gastronomic offer, accompanied by the most exquisite variety of wines and excellent service. The menu has been delicately prepared by our Chef Sebastián Ramírez who holds the title of Chef Revelación de Colombia. Relax in our pool area where you can find as well the sauna, Turkish bath, gym and a full-service spa. We pride ourselves on our international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Fernando Plaza Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing