We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
61
8
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
61
8
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh juice floor space huge shopping mall metro station felt like home other guests safe neighborhood minute walk poblado area comfortable beds hot water netflix couch dorm supermarket chill lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 75 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Staff are incredibly friendly. The email instructions to find the Hostel were so perfect from Aguacatala. I got a wonderful breakfast from the beautiful Pahola. Great advice on how to visit Guatape and Park Arvi. The only thing it needs is mosquito barriers in the front entrance. You can get bitten badly overnight even if you put on 50%DEET. There was a Californian traveller with zika virus illness there which was contracted from Cartagena and not accessing to healthcare for fear of not being able to communicate to doctors in Spanish and healthcare costs. Barriers like mosquito nets and window and door nets would be more effective and especially become more important in hostels where foreign visitors find accessing healthcare very difficult for language reasons. Otherwise Ivy hostel was a wonderful stay for me.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank thetigeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

I went to Medellín with 3 friends, two of them where coming from United Kingdom. We stayed in this hostal due to a recommendation of a friend and she was absolutely right ! Friendly host that gives you a lot of recommendations on what to do on Medellín. As well they’re super friendly, and they are always up for a fun night out.
If you are looking where to stay for a couple of nights in Medellin this is the place, as is not too far from many interesting places in Medellin and the metro for easy transportation.

Super recommended to stay in here

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank RicardoBeltranFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018 via mobile

We originally planned to stay at Ivy hostel for 3 nights, but ended up staying 2 weeks!
The dorm rooms have loads of floor space, and are quite roomy. I loved the fact that they had really soft and comfy blankets, as it can get slightly chilly at night. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are all fairly quite.
They also have powerful hot water which is great!
Breakfast is also included which is yummy and sets you up for the day!
The staff are phenomenal! All of them can speak fluent English, and can give recommendations of where to go, how to get there etc.
Mauricio is an absolute star! A super cool guy!
Daniela was always up for a chat and made sure we were comfortable!
I would highly highly recommend this hostel.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank ZoeRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff M, Owner at Ivy Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2019

Great to hear you guys had a fantatstic time. see you again soon hopefully!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

We started with 1 night booked and stayed 5. We loved Ivy hostel, as a couple who prefer chilled-sociable hostels but that aren't party places. The hostel was super clean, good wifi, comfortable beds. The best part is the showers - omg best showers we've had on our whole trip!! Super cosy couches and netflix room. Lots of bathrooms. Breakfast is great and filling, eggs toast and fruit (but big portions) with unlimited coffee, tea and fresh juice. The owners are also super cool and super helpful with recommendations. The reception and cleaning staff are also lovely. Our only complaint would be that laundry is a bit spenny given that its air dried, but mainly cause we had loads to do and it was based on kg rather than per load. 5ish mins walk to the metro which takes you everywhere you need to be in medellin, 5 mins to huge mall, supermarket and atms. Not in poblado (one metro stop away) but to be honest we went there and although nice, all restaurants etc were western based and expensive. Recommended!

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Ivy Hostel fir 3 nights.

The hostel is in a quiet and good area near a huge shopping mall where you also find a supermarket.

The next metro station (Aguacatala) is only a 5-10 minutes walk away and also at night, given that there are many people all the time and the area is generally good.

To the Poblado area you can easily walk in 20-25 minutes, just next to main road. So, you can also walk safely back from Poblado during the night.

The hostel itself is nice. The kitchen is well equipped and big enough.

Our bed was rather old and was creaking every time we moved, i.e., the other one always wakes up if you move during the sleep, which sucks!

The bathroom is usually clean but there is often no soap or paper, so you can‘t really clean your hands!

There is a laundry service but it is rather expensive and took two full days to do it (others usually do it the same day!).

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Janco_05092018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews