We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cartagena
Post
Inbox
Search

“A must go!”

El Arsenal: The Rum Box
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 2/19
8:00 PM
Ranked #1 of 1,061 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Description: El Arsenal: The Rum Box is a home for everyone who wishes to come through our doors, filled with free warm hugs and delicious food. Get ready to become a part of the rum box family, experience the largest Colombian rum collection with over 80 different varietals each paired with its perfect Colombian chocolate match, and enjoy an experience you will surely never forget! We’re waiting for you, what are you waiting for?
Restaurant details
Description: El Arsenal: The Rum Box is a home for everyone who wishes to come through our doors, filled with free warm hugs and delicious food. Get ready to become a part of the rum box family, experience the largest Colombian rum collection with over 80 different varietals each paired with its perfect Colombian chocolate match, and enjoy an experience you will surely never forget! We’re waiting for you, what are you waiting for?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the hotel next door, and every night we walked by, in our last night we went for late night drinks and regret so much we didn't go before!

Amazing customer service, they gave you a rum shot with chocolate and japaleño snack as cortesy while you order, food and cocktails were good!

A whole experience.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mibarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELARSENAL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Arsenal: The Rum Box, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Hi Mibarrie! aqui estamos !ABRAZOS GRATIS! lastima solo fue una visita, pero nos encargamos de darte una linda experiencia y las que faltan.
Regresa Pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After bar hopping for days we stopped in El Arsenal on our way back to our hotel one evening. Thank goodness we did! You can’t get a better drink in Cartagena and the prices are so reasonable!! I had no idea they were ranked number 1 on TA (at time of me writing this review) but I understand why.

We watched bartender after bartender at other places pour an ounce or less of liquor into drinks and top them with tons of sugary mixers. Then we found El Arsenal. Impressive, delicious drinks! Highly recommend. Sit at the bar and if your lucky Simir and Luis will be working. Luis’s signature cocktail (not on the menu) cannot be beat. But each drink we had was amazing. We went back the next night. This place is a class act. It’s in Getsemani but can get there by walking from the clock tower (old city main entrance) in less than 5 minutes. Located next door to Hotel Allure Chocolat.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Annie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELARSENAL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Arsenal: The Rum Box, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Hi Annie! que bien, tuviste una experiencia genial y pudiste disfrutar de la atención de los mejores bartender de la ciudad, nuestro equipo esta enfocado en hacer que tu visita sea una experiencia única, especial y en familia para que desees regresar!
Gracias por recomendarnos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing staff! Spoke amazing English! Food was very tasty and drinks were good! Would recommend was a 4 minute walk from our hostel so was a short trip for an amazing feed! They also give you complimentary snacks and a rose to the females was a nice experience :)

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank blaze1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELARSENAL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Arsenal: The Rum Box, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Hola Blaze. para nuestro equipo fue un placer y tremendo agrado lograr nuestra meta, la cual es crear una experiencia genial para ustedes nuestros amigos,
gracias por visitarnos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was recommended to my by a friend back home and it did not disappoint! Jesus was great, such good customer service, we immediately felt welcome. We were greeted with a great rum shot, were told what the flavours were and everything!

You should try the ceviche and do a vaporised rum shot. This place is more like an experience than a restaurant.

Massively recommend

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 888lexiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELARSENAL, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Arsenal: The Rum Box, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Hello Lexi. gracias por compartir un momento genial con nosotros, que bueno saber que te llevas una muy linda experiencia, saludos a tu amigo y gracias por recomendarnos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Solid service, good rum, good food, but nothing exceptional as I read in the reviews. And no way the top restaurant in Cartagena. You are also greeted with a seemingly required hug by the doorman and on the way out a hug by the server. I am not hug hater....but just seems a bit weird and not sincere anyway. If you like rum, I totally recommend this place...and again the food is good. Lots of Americans in the place, so if you want to feel local, this probably isn't the spot.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wadeg718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElArsenalTheRumBox, Owner at El Arsenal: The Rum Box, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Wadeg718
So happy to hear that you enjoyed the service, food, and rums. I'm having a bit of trouble answering your concerns about Americans I'm not sure if that's good or bad but if I could have a bit more insight it would help bring you a better experience.
Cheers
Abe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Arsenal: The Rum Box also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to El Arsenal: The Rum Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing